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What is the Safety Responsibility Law? The Safety Responsibility Law was enacted in 1945 to protect 
persons who suffer damages in accidents caused by uninsured 
motorists. The program provides an incentive for motorists to carry 
liability insurance or otherwise satisfy accident damages. The law 
imposes driver licensing and motor vehicle registration sanctions 
against uninsured motorists who do not pay for the damages they 
cause.

Safety Responsibility Law

For more information contact:

What actions are taken against uninsured 
motorists?

How long is the suspension?

How are the Safety Responsibility sanc-
tions initiated?

To whom does the law apply?

The Safety Responsibility process is initiated by the receipt of an 
accident report in the Crash Records Unit. If all motorists in the 
accident are insured, no action is taken. When the Crash Records 
Unit determines that a motorist is uninsured, others involved in the 
accident are notified. They can invoke the sanctions of the law for 
damages or injuries

If damages or injuries are substantiated, the Uninsured Motorist Unit 
sends notices of suspension to the operator and registered owners 
of uninsured vehicles who appear to be at fault in the accident. 
The notice warns the uninsured motorist that the operator’s driv-
ing privilege and all registrations of the owner will be suspended 
unless they do one of the following:

•	 file proof that liability insurance was in effect at the time of 
the accident

•	 deposit security in the amount necessary to cover possible 
judgments arising out of the accident

•	 submit evidence that the parties involved have settled the 
damage claims directly

•	 request a hearing if they feel a judgment in the amount claimed 
could not be rendered

The law applies to all operators and owners of motor vehicles who 
are involved in reportable accidents in the State of Wisconsin.

Bureau of Driver Services
Citations and Withdrawals Section
(608) 266-1249
Email: Wisconsin DMV email service

A Safety Responsibility suspension remains in effect for one year 
or until the uninsured motorist complies with one of the Safety 
Responsibility requirements. The motorist may reinstate suspended 
privileges if the DMV is not notified of a pending lawsuit within 
one year of suspension. Reinstatement requires the filing of proof 
of insurance for three years and payment of a $60 fee for reinstate-
ment of operating privileges and $50 for reinstatement of registra-
tion privileges.
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2014 Safety Responsibility Program Results*

THE WISCONSIN SAFETY RESPONSIBILITY LAW requires all motorists involved in reportable accidents to submit 
evidence to the DMV of their financial ability to pay for damages they caused in the accident. An accident is report-
able if there is injury or death, if there is $200 or more damage to government property (except a government owned 
vehicle), or if there is $1,000 or more in damages to any one person’s property (including government owned vehicles). 
In 2014 there were 2,926 claims made again 4,327 uninsured drivers and/or owners exceeding $13.9 million in damages. 

2014 – Safety Responsibility (SR) Claims by Type of Claim and Amounts

Claim 	 Total	 Total
Type	 Claims	 Amount  

Fatalities	       5	 $89,570

Personal Injuries	     26	 $188,795

Property Damage	    306	 $1,100,049

Vehicle Damage	 2,589	 $12,582,931

Total	 2,926	 $13,961,345

A claim is verification of damages or injuries filed against an uninsured negligent driver and/or vehicle owner resulting 
from an accident. The claim amount includes estimated court costs.

2014 – Motorists Subject To SR Law
 	 4,327	 Notices of Suspension were sent to the drivers and owners of vehicles in 2014.  

In many crashes, the drivers and owners were different persons.

	 1,174	 (27%) Responded to the Notice of Suspension by settling the claims prior to suspension.

	 48	 Posted the required security deposit.

	 3,153	 Drivers and owners failed to comply with the requirements given on the Notice of Suspension and their 
operating and registration privileges were suspended.

	 1,155	 suspended motorists complied with the Safety Responsibility requirements after the Suspension Orders 
were entered.

	 1,073	 Motorists accepted the one year suspensionof privileges.

	  1,036	 Drivers and owners were still withdrawn as of January 21, 2015.

Out of 195,662 vehicles involved in reportable crashes in 2014, only 1.6% were uninsured, failed to pay for the dam-
ages, and accepted a one-year suspension of privileges.

*2014 is the latest year that SR program results are available.
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