

Tony Evers, Governor Craig Thompson, Secretary Internet: <a href="www.dot.wisconsin.gov">www.dot.wisconsin.gov</a>

Telephone: 608-266-7320 Facsimile (FAX): 608-264-7751

E-mail: oversize-permits.dmv@dot.wi.gov

## **Weight Restriction Programs Seasonal Weight Zones**

12/17/2019

The state is divided into zones so that the law can be implemented consistently. The five zones represent different and distinct climatological regions and correlate with historical declaration boundaries. A frozen road declaration will be issued for one or more of the zones once all the highways in the zone is determined to be frozen at a depth of at least 18". The map at the end of this section shows graphically the area included in each zone. A narrative description of the limits of each zone follows:

Zone 1: Extends from the Minnesota border, Lake Superior, and the Michigan border south to and including US Highway 8.

Zone 2: Extends from the southern limit of Zone 1 to and including a line defined by US Highway 10, east on State Highway 73, east on State Highway 54, north on State Highway 22/110, east on State Highway 22 east to Lake Michigan east of Oconto (including Highways 10, 22, 54, 73, and 110).

Zone 3: Extends from the southern limit of Zone 2 to and including a line defined by US Highway 151, east on US Highway 10 to Lake Michigan (including Highways 10 and 151).

Zone 4: Extends from the southern limit of Zone 3 to and including a line defined by I-39/90 starting at the Illinois border, east on I-43, north on State Highway 164, east on State Highway 167 east to Lake Michigan (including Highways 39/90, 43, 164, and 167).

Zone 5: Extends from the southern limit of Zone 4 to the Illinois border and Lake Michigan.

WisDOT Bureau of Highway Maintenance OSOW Permit Unit (608) 266-7320