
  

Effective October 1, 2005, title fees will increase to $45 and replacement title 
fees will increase to $20. This was a provision of the 2005-2007 Biennial 
Budget, Wisconsin Act 25.  Dealers should use the date of delivery of a vehicle 
to determine whether to charge the current title 
fee or new fee and the date of request for      
replacement title applications (see the table for 
details.) Application for Title/Registration forms 
should be available from your present suppliers 
by October 1st.  You may continue to use older 
versions of the form if you write in the corrected 
amounts.  Automated Processing Partnerships 
System (APPS) dealers should watch for an insert in the upcoming APPS   
newsletter explaining specific processing information.     

“Nothing astonishes men so much as  
common sense and plain dealing.” 
 
                                 Ralph Waldo Emerson 

Plain Dealing is published quarterly by the  
Wisconsin Department of Transportation,  
Division of Motor Vehicles, Bureau of Vehicle    
Services, Dealer and Agent Section. 
 
Lynne Judd, Administrator 
Jane Zarada, Director 
Chuck Supple, Section Chief 
 
We welcome your questions and comments.   
Contact Nancy Passehl, Editor, Plain Dealing, 
DOT Dealer and Agent  Section, P.O. Box 7909,  
Madison, WI 53707-7909, (608) 266-1425; fax 
(608) 267-0323; dealers.dmv@dot.state.wi.us. 
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Title Fees Increase 

The new state budget is 
in place, and that means 
changes to fees and  
policies. This special   
issue is devoted to      
letting you know the 
changes. 

Title Fee 
increase

 Current Fee New Fee 
Title Fee $35.00 $45.00 delivered on or after  

10/01/05 

Replacement Title Fee $ 8.00 $20.00 requested on or   
after 10/01/05 

e– MV11 update 
The e-MV11 system is continuing to be developed, and the pilot program  is set 
to begin September 15, 2005. Initially, three dealerships will participate        
electronically processing applications for Wisconsin titled automobiles and 
trucks.  As the pilot progresses we will increase the degree of complexity and 
add more dealers to the program. There will be more information in the next   
issue of Plain Dealing.  Read more about updates to e-MV11 at:                                         
www.dot.wisconsin.gov/business/dealers/emv11 or e-mail us at:                     
DOTDealersemv11@dot.state.wi.us. Questions may also be directed to Nancy 
Passehl at 608-264-9538 or Reggie Paradowski at (608)266-8949. 



Dealer Section becomes Dealer and Agent Section 
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 Social Security Numbers (SSN) are a must 
Please be sure to include the customer’s social security number when completing the MV11 title application.  
If this information is omitted, the application will be returned and the customer may experience delays in   
receiving their title and registration. 

Join WisDOT Dealer and Agent Section’s e-mail distribution list (Dealer Listserv) today and keep your dealership     
up-to-date regarding law changes, Plain Dealing newsletter and other important dealer license information.  Register 
your e-mail address today with the DOT e-mail listserv at: www.dot.wisconsin.gov/business/dealers/listserv.htm 

The new Dealer and Agent Section in the Bureau of Vehicle Services was formed in July to support and 
oversee the  growth in dealer and other agent partnerships.   
 
Chuck Supple continues as the Section Chief.  The section is comprised of the Customer Service Unit, 
which licenses salespeople and dealers, and provides consumer protection information; the Field            
Investigation Unit, comprised of investigators based around the state who do inspections, audits and       
investigate complaints; the Inspection Maintenance Unit, based in Milwaukee, which works with Envirotest, 
the emissions testing contractor; and the Agent Partnership Unit, which works with 900 third party agents 
who do electronic registration and title processing, and over 300 mandatory display agents, who accept 
DMV applications and issue temporary license plates to customers.   
 

Wisconsin law requires WisDOT, on behalf of the Department of Workforce and 
Development (DWD), to have consumers provide their SSN for vehicle title               
applications for the purpose of administering delinquent child support payments.  
Under this law, WisDOT is prohibited from disclosing the SSN to anyone except 
the DWD for the purposes of enforcing the child support delinquency law.  WisDOT 
also requests the driver license number to ensure we have the correct customer in 
our single driver license/vehicle registration database.  Our goal is to provide better 
service to our customers 

Emission technician course offered for counties where testing is required 
Instructors from area technical colleges have developed and launched an updated emission repair        
technician training and certification course, known as WISETECH. Wisconsin law requires shops to       
employ at least one technician possessing WISETECH, ASE L1, or equivalent certification if they wish to 
perform waiver-qualifying repairs. For more information contact Steve Hirshfeld at 608-266-2267. 


