page 1 of 2



Wisconsin State Waiver Information for CDL Drivers

BDS353 4/2018

What is a State Waiver?

Wisconsin Division of Motor Vehicles (DMV) offers waivers to drivers who are insulindependent or who do not meet federal vision standards. Please be aware that a Wisconsin State Waiver (Intrastate) is not the same as a Federal exemption/waiver (Interstate) and cannot be used for operating your Commercial Motor Vehicle (CMV) across state lines.

When would you need a Wisconsin State Waiver?

For diabetes, if you:

- » Are insulin-dependent.
- » Are not in an excepted industry.
- » Are not grandfathered.

For **vision**, if you:

- » Have less than 20/40 vision in either eye or less than 70-degree field of vision in either eye.
- » Are not in an excepted industry.
- » Are not grandfathered.

How to apply for a State Diabetes or Vision Waiver

- 1. Check your driving record:
 - » If you are applying for a **diabetes waiver**, your driving record will need to be free of any moving violations or at-fault accidents *due to the diabetes* in the past 3 years to qualify for the waiver.
 - » If you are applying for a **vision waiver**, your driving record will need to be free of any moving violations or at-fault accidents in the past 3 years to qualify for the waiver.
- 2. Submit a driving description with your name, date and driver license noted which includes the following information:
 - » Type of vehicle you intend to drive (i.e. straight truck, tractor/trailer combination, tank, etc.).
 - » Type of driving you intend to do (i.e. long-distance transport, local transport, etc.).
 - » Type of cargo you will transport.
 - » Number of hours and miles you will drive, listed by daytime and nighttime operation.
 - » Modifications made to the vehicle you intend to drive.
- 3. Submit your medical or vision report(s):
 - » If you are applying for a **diabetes waiver**. Submit two separate <u>Medical Examination Reports MV3644</u>, Sections A, D and G completed by two different health care professionals (MD, DO, APNP or PA-C). Examinations must be conducted within 90 days of its receipt at the DMV.
 - » If you are applying for a **vision waiver**. Submit a <u>Certificate of Vision Examination</u> <u>by Competent Authority MV3030V</u> based on an examination conducted within 90 days immediately prior to applying for the waiver.
- 4. Email, fax or mail your driving description and medical reports or vision report to the Medical Review and Fitness Unit for review. All addresses are listed at the end of this document.

Reminder: If you are grandfathered, you do not need this waiver for CMV operation. However, if you operate a school or passenger bus, you will need to get board approval which is an exception to the state statutes.

Wisconsin State Waiver Information for CDL Drivers (continued)

What happens after your waiver material is reviewed?

If approved for a State Waiver:

- » You will receive a letter approving the waiver. The expiration date will appear on the letter which you must carry with you when operating a commercial motor vehicle.
- » You will need to get a Medical Examiner's Certificate (Fed Med card) indicating a need for a waiver and marked "Intrastate Only." You will also need to self-certify as a Tier 3 driver. Once you do this, your driver license will be reissued with the following restrictions: VALID WISCONSIN INTRASTATE WAIVER ON FILE. CDL INTRASTATE ONLY.
- » The appropriate renewal forms will be sent to you approximately 3 months before your waiver renewal is due.
- » A waiver can be cancelled due to non-compliance with applicable reporting requirements, a change in medical condition or driving history.

If denied:

» Information regarding your appeals options will be sent to you.

What if I am or want to be a school or passenger bus driver and I now have insulin-dependent diabetes or do not meet federal vision standards?

You will need to be approved by the Medical Review Board. It does not matter whether you have a Wisconsin state waiver, a federal exemption, an industry exception or are grandfathered—for **driving passenger and/or school bus**, you will need to get the special exception available only after consideration by the Medical Review Board.

If you have any questions, please feel free to contact us at any time.

Medical Review and Fitness Unit Email: dmvmedical@dot.wi.gov
P.O. Box 7918 Email: dmvmedical@dot.wi.gov
Telephone: (608) 266-2327

Madison WI 53707-7918 FAX: (608) 267-0518