page 1 of 2



School Bus and Fed Med (Federal Medical Certificate) — Frequently Asked Questions

BDS362 8/2018

1. How can I check the status of a license?

You have the ability to check the status of a license anytime by using a new online application: wisconsindmy.gov/status. This simple app allows you to check driver license status in real time at your convenience.

2. How frequent must school bus drivers submit proof of physical fitness and do their DMV testing?

- Drivers under 70 must file these updates every two years. They also must retake the signs, knowledge, pre-trip and skills tests at renewal.
- Drivers 70 and older must file these updates annually. They also must retake the signs, knowledge, pre-trip and skills tests every two years.

Please note:

- 1. A letter reminding the driver to get their next physical is sent 60 days before their deadline, but it is acceptable to submit proof of physical fitness ahead of the deadline.
- 2. Reminder letters sent to drivers 70 years and older include the deadline for the physical and the deadline for DMV school bus testing. It is acceptable to complete these earlier if it is more convenient.

3. What proof of physical fitness form (Physical Examination Report/MV3030B or Fed Med card) can I submit?

- **Tier 1 drivers** need to submit a Medical Examiner's Certificate (Fed Med card <u>form MCSA-5876</u>). This form is completed by a certified Fed Med healthcare provider. Note: If a driver 70 years or older is issued a 2-year Fed Med card, it will only be used to maintain his school bus endorsement for 1-year because of the annual physical requirement for bus drivers in this age bracket.
- **Tier 2, 3 or 4 drivers** can submit either a Fed Med card or a Physical Examination Report for S or P Endorsement (also called the school bus report <u>form MV3030B</u>). This form is completed by both the driver and the healthcare provider.

Note: a school bus driver must submit proof of physical fitness based on the schedule outlined above. The driver *will not* need to submit another physical at time of renewal. This requirement was changed in 2015.

4. How do I get my Fed Med card to the Wisconsin DMV?

- The driver is responsible for sending a copy of the Fed Med card to the Wisconsin DMV. The medical provider sends the Fed Med card information to FMCSA (Federal DOT), but this information is not shared with the Wisconsin DMV.
- We offer several options for submitting:
 - » A Tier 1 driver can upload the card at https://wisconsindot.gov/Pages/online-srvcs/other-servs/self-cert.aspx. Note: This is also accessible through PARS.
 - » Email: <u>fedmed@dot.wi.gov</u> (send only one Fed Med card per email and make the email subject line the driver's name and/or license number).
 - » Fax: (608) 261-8201 (only one Fed Med card per fax).

Wisconsin State Waiver Information for CDL Drivers (continued)

Once submitted, Fed Med cards need to be approved and updated to the driver's record. This process usually takes less than five days. However, statute allows up to 10 days. Please make sure your Fed Med card has been completed properly before you send to DMV. If it is illegible or there is information missing, the card will be rejected and you will get a letter of explanation from the Wisconsin DMV.

5. How do I get my school bus Physical Examination Report (MV3030B) to the Wisconsin DMV?

- You have several options for submitting:
 - » Email: dmvmedical@dot.wi.gov (only one school bus physical/MV3030B per email and make the email subject line the driver's name and/or license number)
 - » Fax: (608) 267-0518 (only one school bus physical/MV3030B per fax)

Once submitted, school bus physicals need to be reviewed and updated to the record. This process usually takes less than five days. However, statute allows up to 10 days. Please make sure your school bus physical has been completed properly and legibly before you send to DMV. If it is illegible or there is information missing, the form will be rejected and you will get a letter of explanation from the Wisconsin DMV.

6. How can I change my tier of operation?

- If you need to change your current tier of operation, you will need to go to your local <u>DMV Customer</u> <u>Service Center</u>, <u>select your tier</u> and provide your <u>Fed Med card</u> (if it is required for the tier level you select).
- If you would like to view your current tier of operation, go to: wisconsindmv.gov/status.

7. When and how do I take my school bus testing?

- Drivers who are under 70 years, take tests at the time of their license renewal.
- Drivers who are 70 years or older, take tests every 2 years. A letter will be sent 60 days prior to this deadline to remind you to complete the testing.
- School bus testing consists of 4 parts: a knowledge and signs test, an inspection and an abbreviated skills test.
- For the knowledge and signs testing, go to your local DMV service center and take the tests.
- For the inspection and the abbreviated skills test, you will need to schedule with a third party examiner. Please visit our <u>Commercial Driver License (CDL) Agents by County list</u> to locate an examiner near you.

8. How can I get a school bus physical (Fed Med card or MV3030B) on file quickly?

If the driver is cancelled or will be in less than 10 days, send a copy of the physical by email preferred) or fax. (See email and fax numbers in sections 3 and 4 above.) Please communicate this to us by adding: "Rush-driver canceled" or "Rush" so that we know this needs to be processed as soon as possible and not the normal turnaround of up to 10 days. To check the status of a license at any time, please see the first item on this form: 'How can I check the status of a license?'

9. Who do I contact if I have questions?

- For questions about tier level or Fed Med cards only, contact our Fed Med hotline:
 Email: fedmed@dot.wi.gov or call: (608)267-2290
- For question about *school bus requirements*, contact the Medical Review and Fitness Unit: Email: dmvmedical@dot.wi.gov or call: (608) 266-2327