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Background

The Buyer’s License
protects consumers
and dealers by
bringing all wholesale
vehicle buyers under
WisDOT regulation.
The Motor Vehicle
Buyer’s License offers
the vehicle industry
these benefits:
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Consumer benefits

v Protection from unlicensed auction buyers
who resell un-inspected, un-repaired and

un-disclosed vehicles at the curb and vanish.

+ Relief from rising used car prices that result
from unauthorized buyers bidding high
and driving up wholesale vehicle costs.

Buyer benefits

+ Protection from unauthorized
bidders posing as dealer agents.

v Protection from unscrupulous
buyers who defraud dealers in
wholesale vehicle transactions.

+ Relief from wholesale vehicle prices
being inflated by unauthorized buyers
unburdened by the cost of complying
with laws licensed dealers must follow.
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Auction benefits

v WisDOT scrutiny of applicants to keep
curbstoners out of the auctions.

v Bidders compete for inventory
on a level playing field.

+ Online listing of Buyer’s Licenses issued by the
WisDOT at wisconsindot.gov/Pages/dmv/

v WisDOT enforcement to bar unauthorized
buyers from the auction lanes.

= J4d 4 »r

CONTENTS FIRST PREVIOUS NEXT LAST


http://wisconsindot.gov/Pages/dmv/dlr-agents/tips-tls-dlr/buyerslicissued.aspx
http://wisconsindot.gov/Pages/dmv/dlr-agents/tips-tls-dlr/buyerslicissued.aspx
http://wisconsindot.gov
http://wisconsindot.gov

Wisconsin DOT Consumer Guide

Licensing requirements

Only licensed motor vehicle dealers, wholesalers
or licensed vehicle buyers are allowed to
buy vehicles at wholesale auctions.

A vehicle buyer is “an individual who is employed
by or who has contracted with one or more
vehicle dealers to bid on or purchase a motor
vehicle being held and offered for sale by a
motor vehicle dealer or motor vehicle auction.”

v Motor vehicle buyers who buy vehicles on
behalf of more than one dealership must
have a Buyer’s License for each employing

dealership—including out-of-state dealerships.

However, only one Buyer’s License is
required if the buyer is employed by multiple
dealerships that share majority ownership.
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v Buyers employed by more than one
dealer may only bid on a specific
vehicle for one dealer at a time.

v Buyers must be at least 18 years of age.

v Vehicle buyers must carry their license
when engaged in business and
display the license upon request.

+ The Buyer’s License is for wholesale
buyers of non-salvage vehicles. Salvage
vehicle buyers and bidders at salvage
pools are still required to have a WisDOT
Salvage Buyer Identification (BID) Card.

Fees
Wisconsin dealers

v $6 if the dealer license expires
in less than 12 months

Vv $12 if the dealer license expires
in 12 months or more

Out of state dealers

v $12 for a two-year license

v Expires the second July 31st after issuance

For more information
Wisconsin Department of Transportation
(WisDOT) Dealer and Agent Section
4802 Sheboygan Ave, Room 201

PO Box 7909

Madison, WI 53707-7909
Phone: (608) 266-1425

Email: dealers.dmv@dot.wi.gov

Apply now for your
Buyer’s License

Apply today for your Buyer’s License
by completing a Motor Vehicle

Buyer’s License Application
(DMV form MV2941) and mailing

it to the address above.

3 ways to get the application form
1. Download the application
form at the WisDOT website:
wisconsindot.gov/Pages/dmv/dlr-
agents/dir-frms-pbs/dealer-forms.aspx
2. Get the form at your auction.
3. Call WisDOT Dealer and Agent
Section at (608) 266-1425.
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