
Pre-delivery inspection sheet
This form is a report on a new vehicle’s pre-delivery tests 
and inspections required by the manufacturer. Give this 
form to the customer upon delivery of the vehicle.

Emission standards certificate
This certificate confirms that the vehicle’s emission control 
systems have been properly installed and inspected. It also 
provides information on what to do if the system fails. Give 
this certificate to the customer at the time of delivery.

Damage disclosure statement
When any new, demonstrator or executive-driven vehicle has 
corrected damage of more than 6 percent of the MSRP, a written 
disclosure must be presented to the purchaser before delivery of 
the vehicle. Damage to a vehicle’s glass, tires, or bumpers does not 
need to be counted in determining the 6 percent amount when 
the replacement parts are identical to the manufacturer’s original 
equipment. Any uncorrected damage, regardless of the extent, must 
also be disclosed to the purchaser before delivery of the vehicle.

Model year disclosure
Represent the model year as the manufacturer’s original designated 
model year. The only exception to this rule deals with vehicles 
manufactured by a second stage manufacturer. An example of this 
would be a motor home completed by a second stage manufacturer 
in 2008 on a 2007 incomplete vehicle chassis. In such a situation, 
advise the customer on the purchase contract that the vehicle 
chassis and the motor home have different model years.

Disclosure of used vehicles
Wisconsin Buyers Guide
Before a vehicle is offered for sale, it must be inspected for safety and 
mechanical defects. Standards for vehicle equipment are included in 
Trans 305 of the Wisconsin Administrative Code and Chapter 347 of the 
Wisconsin Statutes. Show the results of the inspection on the Wisconsin 
Buyers Guide. The guide must be attached to the window and readable 
from outside the vehicle. The purchaser keeps the window copy.

Display a Wisconsin Buyers Guide on all  
vehicles with the following exceptions:

Trucks over 16,000 pounds»»
Demonstrator or executive-driven vehicles still in service»»
Vehicles that are not offered for sale  »»
and are labeled “not inspected for sale”
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Vehicles operated from selling dealers to  »»
purchasing dealers with valid dealer plates
An unrepaired salvage vehicle»»
A vehicle sold to the lessee at the end of the lease»»

The Wisconsin Buyers Guide includes:
the vehicle’s prior use»»
title brands (see title and registration section for definitions)»»
any warranty offered or if the vehicle is offered “as-is”»»
the odometer reading at the time the vehicle was acquired»»
the price»»

Reasonable care standard
Required disclosure of vehicle history, prior use and title brands is 
limited to that which the dealer could find using reasonable care.

Dealerships are required to test drive the vehicle and to inspect the interior 
and exterior of the vehicle including under the hood and under the 
vehicle. They are not required to take the vehicle apart (except brakes) or 
run tests unless necessary to diagnose apparent symptoms. Standards for 
vehicle equipment are included in Chapter Trans 305 of the Wisconsin 
Administrative Code and Chapter 347 of the Wisconsin Statutes.

Dealerships are required to report information they get from manufacturer 
and auction notices, prior owner documents and disclosures, and their 
own vehicle inspection and repair records. Dealerships are not required 
to contact prior owners or get records of previous titles unless necessary 
to clear up inconsistent or questionable information that is apparent.

Material vehicle history
Dealerships are required to disclose any “material history” about a 
vehicle. Vehicle history is “material” if any of the following are true:

The buyer asks about it.»»
The dealership knows or has reason to know the »»
information would be important to the buyer.
The information would be important to any reasonable person.»»

Material history should be disclosed on the Wisconsin Buyers Guide 
under “other” in the “Vehicle History” section. If history information 
becomes material after the guide has been completed, for example, if the 
shopper asks if a vehicle has been in an accident, the information should be 
recorded on the Motor Vehicle Purchase Contract under “Other conditions 
of sale.” If the dealership is unsure whether history information would 
be material to a buyer, it is best to disclose it and avoid problems later.
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Not inspected for sale sticker
Display a “not inspected for sale” sticker on any used 
vehicle that has not been inspected for safety or mechanical 
defects. Do not offer an uninspected vehicle for sale.

Previous owner
You must provide the name and address of the vehicle’s previous 
owner to any prospective customer upon request.

Odometer disclosure
Show the prior owner’s odometer statement, usually on 
the title, to all prospective customers before sale.

Pending recalls
When selling a used vehicle make for which the dealer is franchised, 
disclose any unperformed manufacturer recalls in writing.

Odometer repair
Odometers may be repaired or replaced if they become defective or 
malfunction. If a vehicle is driven between the time the odometer 
malfunctions and the time the odometer is repaired or replaced, the 
seller may disclose that the odometer reading reflects the “actual” 
mileage only when all three of the following guidelines can be met:

Repair or replacement is made within 30 days »»
of the date the malfunction occurred.
A reasonably accurate determination can be made of the »»
miles traveled since the malfunction occurred.
The repaired or replaced odometer is calibrated to show the mileage »»
reading which was on the odometer at the time it malfunctioned plus 
the number of miles the vehicle was driven between the time of the 
odometer’s malfunction and the time of the repair or replacement.

When it is impossible to reset the reading on the 
repaired or replacement odometer:

Set the mileage reading to “zero.”»»
Place a sticker on the left door frame of the vehicle »»
specifying the mileage reading before the repairs and the 
date on which the odometer was repaired or replaced.
The odometer statement must say “not actual” mileage.»»

Test drives
Before any vehicle test drive, ask to see the customer’s driver license.  
The customer is responsible for providing proof of a valid operator license.
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