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 Under Wisconsin Statute 348.27 (18) the department may issue annual or consecutive month permits for 
the Transportation of Certain Agricultural Products in vehicles or vehicle combinations that have 6 or more 
axles. Vehicles or vehicle combinations may exceed the maximum gross weight limitations under s. 348.15 
(3) (c) if the vehicle or vehicle combination does not exceed the maximum gross weight limitations under s. 
348.29. Notwithstanding s. 348.15 (8), any axle of a vehicle or vehicle combination that does not impose on 
the highway at least 8 percent of the gross weight of the vehicle or vehicle combination may not be counted 
as an axle for the purposes of 348.15 (3)(c).  

 A permit issued under this subsection does not authorize the operation of any vehicle or vehicle 
combination at a maximum gross weight in excess of 90,000 pounds. 

 “Agricultural product" means any of the following or any combination of the following: fruit, vegetables, 
grain, including distillers' grain, live livestock, as defined in s. 95.51 (1), and feed or nutritional supplements 
for livestock. 

 "Agricultural product" does not include liquid milk or liquid milk by-products, manure or animal waste, 
or raw forest products. 

     

SIZE 
LIMITATIONS 

    Vehicles & Loads 

 Single Vehicle Length        45'00” (legal) 

 Truck & Trailer Length                           70'00“ (legal) 

 Truck-Tractor & Semi Trailer Length        75’00” (legal) 

 Overall Width            8'06" (legal) 

 Overall Height                           13’06” (legal)   

 

WEIGHT 
LIMITATIONS 

 

 Vehicle or vehicle combination cannot exceed the maximum gross weight 

limitations under Wis. Stats. 348 (15) (3) and 348 (29). 

 Maximum weight cannot exceed 90,000 pounds. 

INSURANCE 
REQUIRED 

 

 Bodily injury, each person  $200,000 

 Bodily injury, each accident  $650,000 

 Property damage, each accident $400,000 

 Or combined single limit                  $1,000,000 
 

VEHICLE 
REGISTRATION                          

 

 Vehicle or vehicles must be registered for not less than the maximum registration 

weight available or the permit weight, whichever is less. 
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ROUTE 
LIMITATIONS 

 

 Valid only for the transportation of agricultural products to a farm or from a field 
or farm to a storage facility on the grower's owned or leased land, a facility for 
initial storage that is not on the grower's owned or leased land, or a facility for 
initial processing. 

 This permit is not valid for operation on any Interstate, except for that portion of 

USH 41 between I 94 at the Zoo Interchange in Milwaukee and I 43 in Green Bay 

which has been designated as I 41. 

 Applicant must submit the complete route(s) of transport, from origin in 
Wisconsin to destination, which will be used during the time the permit is valid.  
Applicant may submit no more than three routes. 

 The application shall be accompanied by a written statement of route approval 
by the officer in charge of maintenance of the other highway if the route desired 
to be used by an applicant for a permit under this subsection will involve 
municipal, township or county roads. 

 

PERMIT 
CONDITIONS 

 

 Vehicles may be operated at the posted speed limit. 

 Vehicles that are overweight only may operate 24 hours a day, including 
weekends and holidays. 

 Permit is suspended during the spring thaw, usually mid-March through mid-
May. 

 

PERMIT 
APPLICATION 

 

 Apply Online only at: http://www.dot.wisconsin.gov/business/carriers/osow-

autosys.htm 

 Permits may be issued for 3 to 12 months. 

 

FEE 
INFORMATION 

 

Fees calculated from the effective DAY of the permit, not the calendar months. 

(Example: 9/5 to 11/20--greater than 2 months to the day, but less than 3 months--

would be 3 months.) 

Months  12  11  10  9  8  7  6  5  4  3 

  300.00 290.00 265.00 240.00 215.00 190.00 165.00 140.00 115.00 90.00 
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