
Purchase contract
When a contract is required
When closing a sale, you will give the customer a written document called 
the “Motor Vehicle Purchase Contract.” The contract will show that the 
customer is offering to purchase a vehicle and that, when the offer is 
accepted by the dealer, it will become legally binding upon both parties.

Complete a contract whenever you accept a down payment, deposit or 
title for a trade-in vehicle. If the dealer does not accept the customer’s offer 
to purchase within 2 hours, the offer is automatically voided. Voiding of 
the purchase contract requires that you immediately return any down 
payment, deposit or title for a trade-in vehicle to the customer. Any vehicle 
that has a pending offer to purchase may not be sold to another customer.

You cannot write a purchase contract for a used vehicle unless the vehicle 
has been inspected and the Wisconsin Buyers Guide has been displayed.

Contract requirements
The following items must appear on a completed purchase contract:

Names and addresses of the dealer and purchaser»»
The salesperson’s full name and first 8 digits »»
of salesperson license number
The year, make, model, and vehicle identification number »»
(VIN) of all vehicles involved in the transaction
The chassis year and finished vehicle model year, if they are not identical»»
Any warranties, warranty disclaimers, service agreements »»
or insurance plans that are part of the offer
The price due upon delivery and all of the components of that price»»
A listing of any parts or accessories removed or installed by the dealer»»
Specific reference to any penalty the consumer will »»
pay for not accepting the vehicle (The penalty may 
not exceed 5 percent of the vehicle cash price.)
The anticipated delivery date»»
Whether the purchase is a cash or finance transaction »»
through the dealer or creditor of purchaser’s choice
Warning statement when any safety equipment fails to pass inspection»»
Any other specific negotiated items included in the offer»»
The date and time of each signature»»
A dealer may assess a purchaser or lessee an additional service »»
fee for completing any sales-related or lease-related vehicle 
inpection or forms which are required by law or rule if the dealer 
has made full disclosure of the service fee to the prospective 
retail customer. Dealers who are providing electronic title 
and registration service may also charge an additional fee.
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“As-is” vehicles
“As-is” sales are legal in Wisconsin. Any “as-is” sale must be 
clearly identified on the purchase contract since the dealership 
is not providing any warranty protection for the customer.

Price protection
Under certain conditions the law allows the dealer to adjust the 
contracted purchase price of an order-out new vehicle due to changes 
in the manufacturer’s price. Manufacturers do not have consistent 
practices on price protection. It is important that you are aware of each 
manufacturer’s pricing policies. The price protection section on the 
purchase contract must be completed in order to adjust the price.

Contract price increases
A dealer may also legally increase the purchase price  
of an order-out vehicle for the following reasons:

Any additional equipment required by state or federal law
For foreign vehicles, a revaluation of the »»
U.S. dollar by the U.S. government
Increase of state or federal taxes on vehicles»»
Raising the price of a vehicle after a purchase contract has been »»
signed by a customer and accepted by a dealer, for reasons 
other than those allowed, is illegal and known as “bushing.”

Trade-in reappraisal
The value of a trade-in may be reappraised only if the trade-in 
vehicle has been damaged, if parts have been removed or if the 
mileage exceeds the limits specified on the purchase contract.

Off-premise sales
When a vehicle purchase contract is offered and accepted away from 
the dealer’s licensed place of business, the customer is entitled to 
three days to rethink the purchase. The customer may cancel the 
contract during this “cooling off” period. Give the customer two 
copies of a notice of this right when the purchase contract is signed.

Sales to minors
Contracts signed by persons under 18 years of age are not binding  
and may be canceled by the minor without a penalty. Before you  
negotiate a contract with a minor, you must have the minor’s  
parent or guardian provide a notarized signature in the “Consent  
to Purchase” section of the Application for Title and Registration.
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Canceling a contract
When delivery of the vehicle cannot be made within 15 days after the 
anticipated delivery date stated on the contract, the customer can cancel 
without penalty, and does not have to accept delivery of the vehicle.

Prelease agreements
A prelease agreement is an agreement to enter into a 
consumer lease of a motor vehicle that will be available and 
ready to be delivered to a customer at a later time.

To make a prelease agreement binding, you must:
Provide the customer with the lease term disclosures required by law»»
Complete the prelease agreement including signatures »»
of both the dealer and the customer
Provide the customer with an exact copy of the prelease agreement»»
There can be no blank lines in the signed prelease  »»
agreement except for the identification number if  
the vehicle is not available at the time of signing.

The dealer may cancel the prelease agreement if the customer’s  
credit is not approved by the sales finance company that is loaning  
the money for the lease. The reason for denial must be based on  
the lease terms disclosed in the agreement. The dealer can cancel  
the agreement only when it contains a provision requiring the dealer  
to give the customer written notice of the cancellation within  
10 business days of signing and the notice is given to the customer.

Nonacceptance penalty
No prelease agreement can subject a customer to a penalty 
of more than 5 percent of the capitalized cost of the vehicle 
if the customer fails to take delivery of the vehicle. 

Consignment sales
Licensed dealers may sell a vehicle for a private party on 
consignment. Although the dealer does not own the vehicle, the 
dealer is authorized to sell it for the titled owner. Only licensed dealers 
may offer vehicles for sale on consignment. (Consignment sales are 
prohibited between dealers, and between dealers and wholesalers.)

The laws regulating consignment sales are the same as those for 
dealer-owned vehicle sales including inspection and display of the 
Wisconsin Buyers Guide. The only difference is that a consignment 
sale agreement must be completed and signed by both the dealer 
and seller before offering the vehicle for sale. The agreement must 
contain the name of the vehicle’s owner, a description of the vehicle, 
the terms of the agreement and the lien status of the vehicle.
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