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Selling your vehicle
can be simple, but
to avoid problems
between you and
the buyer, you
should know what
the law requires.

Wisconsin law says
you can sell up to
five vehicles (titled
in your name) within
a 12 month period.

If you sell more than
five, or if you buy
even one vehicle

for the purpose of
reselling it, you must
have a dealer license.
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Avoid problems

by selling it right

» Provide a vehicle title.

» Complete the odometer statement.
> Get a title brand if needed.

» Take your plates off your car.

» Junk it right.

Provide a vehicle title

» Have a vehicle titled in your name.
Wisconsin law says a vehicle must be
titled every time owners change, even if
the vehicle is never driven. You can't sell a
vehicle that isn’t titled to you, unless you
have the power of attorney to do so.

» Pay what you owe before
you sell the car.
If you owe money for the car you're selling
and purchased it prior to July 30, 2012, your
title will show a lien (a secured party). You
must pay the balance of the loan and get
a lien release before selling the vehicle.

Note: If you financed the vehicle after July 30, 2012
your title is held by the financial institution and
will be sent to you after the lien is paid off.
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SELL IT RIGHT

Give the title and lien release to the buyer.
The buyer will need both documents to get
a title. As the seller, you're guaranteeing you
own the car and do not owe money for it.

» Keep the title until you

have been paid in full.

A dealer doesn't need your title to sell your
car on consignment. Never sign your title
or give it to anyone until you're paid for
the car. Don't keep your title in the car.

» Give the most recent title to the buyer.

If you lost the original title and got a
replacement, sign the replacement and give
it to the buyer—even if you find the original.

» Have all owners sign the title.

All owners whose names are joined by “and”
on the title must sign the title. Only one owner
needs to sign when names are joined by “or.”

» Be honest.

Record the sale price accurately on the title.
The Department of Revenue checks titles and
investigates suspiciously low sale prices.
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Complete the
odometer statement

When you sell your car, the title becomes the bill
of sale and odometer statement. If your car is less
than 10 model years old, write in the odometer
reading—even if you sell to a family member. The
current calendar year minus your car’s model year
equals your car’s age. If you wish to document
the sale further, you can obtain a bill of sale

on the DOT's website at wisconsindot.gov

The odometer reading is the number of miles
on the vehicle, not on the engine (even if the
engine is newer than the rest of the vehicle.)
Write the miles in the space provided on the
title and show whether the miles are:

+ Actual: The odometer has always
worked properly and recorded all
miles the vehicle has traveled.

SELL IT RIGHT

v Not Actual: The odometer was replaced
and set at zero because of a repair; the
odometer stopped working and the car was
driven more than 30 days before repair; or,
the odometer numbers were turned back.

+ In Excess of Mechanical Limits:
The odometer showed 99,999 miles and
turned to zero, instead of turning to 100,000.

Note: Only 6-digit odometers can record more than
100,000 miles. Don't record tenths of miles on the title.

Get a title brand
if needed

A “brand” is a permanent note on a title
that gives a prospective buyer important
information about the history of a vehicle.

Note: There are penalties up to $5000 for failing
to disclose title brand information.

Your title must be branded if, during the time
you owned the vehicle, you could answer
“yes” to any of the following questions:

+/ Was your vehicle used as taxi or
for public transportation?
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Tips for
selling it right

» Have a vehicle title
in your name.

» Pay what you owe
before you sell the car.

» Keep the title until
the buyer pays you.

» Give the most recent
title to the buyer.

» Have all owners
sign the title.

» Complete the odometer
statement.

» Get a title brand
if needed.

» Take your plates off the
car to avoid tickets.

» Photocopy and save
the signed title
or bill of sale.

» Transfer plates to
your next car.

» Junk the title if
you junk the car.

» Get a dealer license
to sell more than 5
privately titled vehicles
within a 12 month period.
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+ Was it salvaged? A salvage brand is
needed if your car is less than 7 model
years old and was damaged 70% or more
of your vehicle’s fair market value.

+/ Was it flood damaged? A flood damaged

brand is needed if water damage equals 70%

or more of your vehicle’s fair market value.
+ Was it used as a police vehicle?

+/ Was it imported without U.S. emission
and safely certification?

If your vehicle was salvaged, repaired and
passed inspection, your title should have
the brand “rebuilt salvage.” The brand
“manufacturer buyback” on your title means
the car was bought back under a lemon law.

To get your title branded, fill out the title brand
information on the title or the Application for
Title and Registration Form (Form MV1).
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SELL IT RIGHT

Take your plates off your car

» Transfer plates to your next car.
If your plates are not expired, you can transfer them
to a car titled to you or your spouse. You can't transfer
your plates to the buyer—even if it's another family
member. If you don’t use the plates, you can’t get
a refund for the remaining registration time.

» Avoid getting tickets.
Plates stay in your name. When you sell, take
your plates off the car. If you don't, you might
get the buyer’s tickets if the buyer doesn’t
get a title and new plates right away.
Note: Always keep proof you sold your car. Keep a copy of

the signed title, or write a bill of sale for both parties to sign.
Remember to include the vehicle identification number.

Junk it right

If you sell your car as junk and you don't want the car
to be driven again, write the work “junk” across the
title before you give it to the buyer or salvage dealer.

If you lost your title, you don’t need a
replacement title to junk the car. You can show
the certificate of vehicle registration as proof
you own the car, and sign a junk bill of sale.

Note: Once a vehicle is junked it can never be titled or
licensed again, even if someone repairs or restores it.

For more information
Wisconsin Department of Transportation
(WisDOT) Dealer and Agent Section
4802 Sheboygan Ave, Room 201

PO Box 7909

Madison, WI 53707-7909

Phone: (608) 266-1425

Email: dealers.dmv@dot.wi.gov

About getting a dealer license
WisDOT Dealer and Agent Section
Phone: (608) 266-1425

About branding your vehicle title
WisDOT Research and Information
Phone: (608) 266-1466

About selling your vehicle
WisDOT Research and Information
Phone: (608) 266-1466
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