Title and Registration

DMYV 1ssuks a CerTIFICATE OF Title to show ownership and
record a financial interest in a motor vehicle. Your dealership must
have proof of ownership at the dealership to offer the vehicle for sale.

Vehicles must be registered to operate legally on Wisconsin
highways. DMV issues license plates as evidence that

an owner has paid the appropriate registration fee. Fees
vary with the type and intended use of the vehicle.

Wisconsin laws require motor vehicle dealers to prepare and
submit customer applications for title and registration to DMV.
Your dealership must furnish customers with temporary or
permanent registration plates before they can operate the vehicle
legally. Motorcycles are exempt from this requirement.
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Effective July 1, 2007 Wisconsin motor vehicle dealers are required to
process their title applications electronically for Wisconsin customers.

Transfer of ownership

Manufacturers transfer ownership of new vehicles to dealers

by signing over the Manufacturer Certificate of Origin (MCO).
The MCO is the “birth certificate” of the vehicle. It lists the
manufacturer, vehicle make, the vehicle identification number
(VIN), the place of assembly, and vehicle delivery point.

Individuals transfer vehicle ownership to the dealer by signing

over the vehicle’s title to the dealer. Failure to show a change of
ownership is considered “title jumping” and is illegal in Wisconsin.
Trade-in vehicles must be titled in the name of the purchaser.

To transfer ownership to a retail customer, the dealer
must process electronically or use a “Wisconsin Title and
License Plate Application” (MV11) for manual (paper)
submissions not able to be processed electronically.

A manual application for Title and Registration will include:
» Completed and signed MV11
» Title or Manufacturer Certificate of Origin

» Appropriate fees

An electronic application for Title and Registration will include:
» Signed copy of e-receipt
» Title or Manufacturers Certificate of Origin

Dealers must electronically send, deliver or mail completed applications
for title and registration to DMV within 7 business days after delivery
of the vehicle. Customers are not allowed to take these materials to

a DMV Customer Service Center unless accompanied by a dealer
representative. Dealers who sell a vehicle to a nonresident are required
to apply for a Wisconsin title only when it is necessary to secure a lien.

Note: If processing electronically, the required documents
need to be mailed the following business day.

And/or

When more than one person owns a vehicle, the owners” names

on the title may be joined by the conjunction “and” or “or.”

When “and” is used, all titled owners must sign the title to transfer
ownership. When “or” is used, only one signature is required.

Replacement Titles

Ownership cannot be transferred without a title. When a customer
attempts to sell or trade a vehicle and does not have a valid

title, the customer must get a replacement title from DMV.
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Title Brands

Dealers must disclose to a prospective purchaser any title
brands that appear on the vehicle title or that will appear

on the next title. Brands become a permanent part of the title.
The following brands may appear on a Wisconsin title:

»

»

»

»

»

»

»

»

»

SALVAGE VEHICLE: vehicle less than 7 years old which is damaged
by collision or other occurrence to the extent that the estimated

or actual cost, whichever is greater, of repairing the vehicle exceeds
70% of its fair market value. You can figure which vehicles are
exempt from the salvage brand by using the following formula:

—— minus7equals ——
current this model
calendar year year or older
no salvage title

THIS VEHICLE TRANSFERRED TO INSURER UPON PAYMENT OF CLAIM:
vehicle is less than 7 model years old, damaged more than

30% but not more than 70% of its fair market value, and,

after payment of claim, transferred to the insurance company.

THIS VEHICLE IS A MANUFACTUER'S BUYBACK: vehicle was repurchased
by the manufacturer under Wisconsin’s or another state’s Lemon Law.

MODIFIED TO MEET FEDERAL SAFETY AND EMISSION STANDARDS:
vehicle that was not manufactured with all federal emission
and safety standards applicable (gray market vehicle.)

THIS VEHICLE WAS PREVIOUSLY USED AS A POLICE VEHICLE: vehicle
used or registered as a police vehicle by a law enforcement agency.

REBUILT SALVAGE: vehicle that was declared salvage and has now
been rebuilt and has passed a Wisconsin salvage inspection.

PREVIOUS TAXICAB OR PUBLIC TRANSPORT: vehicle used
or registered as a taxicab or for public transportation.

THIS VEHICLE HAS BEEN FLOOD DAMAGED: vehicle damaged
by flood to the extent that the estimated or actual cost
of repairs exceed 70 percent of its fair market value.

HAIL DAMAGED: vehicle less than 7 years old damaged solely

by hail to the extent that the estimated or actual cost, whichever
is greater, to repair the vehicle exceeds 70% of its fair market
value, and repaired without replacing any exterior parts.
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Odometer Disclosures
Odometer disclosures signed by the seller must accompany
all motor vehicle ownership transfers. You must:

Have the seller complete the odometer disclosure
statement on the title or MCO

» Show the prior owner’s odometer disclosure statement
on the title to any prospective customer

» Give the retail purchaser a new odometer statement on the
MV11 or, if processing electronically, on the original title.

Mopeds, vehicles 10 years old and older, and vehicles with a gross
weight rating of more than 16,000 pounds are exempt from the
odometer disclosure requirements. You can figure which vehicles are
exempt from odometer disclosure by using the following formula:

minus 10 equals ——
current this model
calendar year year or older

no odometer disclosure

Liens

When a vehicle is used as collateral to obtain a loan, a lien

is recorded by DMV on the vehicle’s title. A recorded lien notifies

all interested parties that the vehicle is encumbered to another party.
DMYV assesses a processing fee to record a lien, but not to remove a lien.
Dealers list lienholders on the M V11 form or electronic application.

A dealer may offer a vehicle for sale with a lien on the title only if
funds to pay the lien off have been mailed or electronically transferred
by the dealer to the lienholder. You do not need to wait for the actual
lien release. You may sell the vehicle to the new purchaser if funds have
been mailed or transferred, and you complete the certification on the
MV11 or electronic application that the lien on the title has been paid.

Customer with plates to transfer

Under Wisconsin law, when a resident sells or trades in an
automobile, whether owned or leased, he or she retains the license
plates. Therefore, your customer may have license plates to transfer
to the vehicle purchased. Show the plate to transfer on the MV11.

Customer without plates to transfer

When your customer purchases a vehicle and does not have
license plates to transfer, you must submit a completed MV11 with
proper fees to DMV. Your dealership must furnish customers with
temporary or permanent registration to legally operate the vehicle.
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Dealer license plates

DMV issues dealer license plates to motor vehicle dealers. The plates
identify each dealer by its dealer number. Dealers may use these plates
for business or private purposes. They may use them only on vehicles
the dealer owns and offers for sale or service loaner vehicles. Lending
or displaying dealer plates on rental vehicles or vehicles not for sale
(not displaying a buyer’s guide or Monroney label) is prohibited.

16



	Untitled

