
Penalties for not paying full wage 

Any employer found guilty of violating the wage laws 
may be fined and convicted of a felony for each 
offense.  Each day is a separate offense.  If an 
employer requires an employee to give back 
(“kick-back”) any part of the wage, the employer 
can be fined and convicted of a felony. 

 

Penalties for accepting less than  
your full wage 

State law requires that all workers working on the 
project site be paid the prevailing wage.  If a worker 
agrees to accept less than the prevailing wage, 
they can be fined and convicted of a 
misdemeanor for each offense; each day is a 
separate offense. 

 

Records every worker should keep 

Fill out your time sheet to accurately show the work 
you did and the hours you worked; employers can’t 
pay you correctly without this information.  In 
addition, keep your own written record of this 
information.  Each day, write down: the hours you 
worked at each job classification; project information 
(highway, county, WisDOT project number, 
construction zone limits); and prime contractor.  Keep 
copies of any other records that could be used to 
determine any wage claim, such as check stubs, trip 
tickets, and time sheets. 

 

What to do if you are not being paid  
the prevailing wage 

First, ask your employer for an explanation.  If you 
can’t resolve it with your employer, contact the Labor 
Compliance Specialist for the region where the work 
was performed.  Action can be taken only for work on 
WisDOT projects. 
 
 

 
 

 

 

Claims can be kept confidential 

The initial contact regarding wage complaints is 
confidential. Every effort is made to not divulge 
your name to your employer without your 
permission.  Maintaining this confidentiality may 
limit the ability to completely resolve your claim or 
to do so in a timely manner.  The Labor 
Compliance Specialist will discuss your situation 
and options with you. 

 

How to file a wage claim 

All claims must be in writing, therefore a “Wages 
Claim” form will be sent to you by the Labor 
Compliance Specialist.  The completed form must 
be returned with copies of any records that support 
your claim.  If you have no proof for your claim, it 
may be impossible to resolve it. 

 

Employer retaliation is against the law 

Workers who feel they have been fired or retaliated 
against for filing or assisting in a wage investigation 
can file a discrimination complaint within 30 days 
of the act or within 30 days of learning about the 
act.  Claims are filed with the Wisconsin 
Department of Workforce Development, Equal 
Rights Division. State and federal personnel are 
authorized to interview contractor employees on 
projects. Workers who are interviewed should not 
fear retaliation for participating in wage and EEO 
interviews. 

 

Have I 

received my 

full wage  

and 

benefits? 

 

WisDOT Regional Labor Compliance Specialists 
 

Southwest Region 
Madison office (Dane, Dodge, Green, Jefferson,  
Lafayette, Rock counties) 
2101 Wright St., Madison, WI  53704   

(608) 242-8040 Fax:  (608) 243-3380   
 
La Crosse office (Columbia, Crawford, Grant, Iowa,  
Juneau, La Crosse, Monroe, Richland, Sauk, Vernon counties) 
3550 Mormon Coulee Road, La Crosse, WI  54601 
(608) 785-9051 Fax:  (608) 789-6306 
 
I-39/90 and Verona Road Mega Project 
111 Interstate Blvd., Edgerton, WI 53534 
(608) 884-1178 Fax: (608) 221-6627 
 

Southeast Region (Kenosha, Milwaukee, Ozaukee,  
Racine, Walworth, Washington, and Waukesha counties) 
141 N.W. Barstow, P.O. Box 798                  
Waukesha, WI 53187-0798            
(262) 521-5358 Fax: (262) 548-6891 
 
North/South Mega Project 
(262) 521-5337 Fax: (262) 548-6891 
 
Zoo Interchange Mega Project 
(262) 548-5923 or (262) 521-5337      Fax: (262) 548-6891 

 

Northwest Region (Ashland, Barron, Bayfield, Buffalo, 
Burnett, Chippewa, Clark, Douglas, Dunn, Eau Claire,  
Jackson, Pepin, Pierce, Polk, Rusk, Sawyer, St. Croix,  
Taylor, Trempealeau, and Washburn counties) 
1701 N. 4th Street, Superior, WI 54880 
(715) 392-7977 Fax: (715) 394-2340 
 

Northeast Region (Brown, Calumet, Door, Fond du Lac, 
Kewaunee, Manitowoc, Marinette, Oconto, Outagamie,  
Sheboygan, and Winnebago counties) 
944 Vanderperren Way, Green Bay, WI  54304  
(920) 492-5728 Fax: (920) 492-0144  
 
US 41 Mega Project 
WIS 441 Mega Project 
(920) 492-5657               Fax: (920) 492-0144 
        

North Central Region (Adams, Florence, Forest, Green 
Lake, Iron, Langlade, Lincoln, Marathon, Marquette, Me-
nominee, Oneida, Portage, Price, Shawano, Vilas, Waupaca,  
Waushara, and Wood counties)    

510 N. Hanson Lake Road, Rhinelander, WI 54501  
(715) 365-5732 Fax: (608) 226-5542   

 
Aeronautics 
4802 Sheboygan Ave., Room 701 
P.O. Box 7914 
Madison, WI 53707-7914 
(608) 264-7607 
Fax: (608) 267-6748                        
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Benefits your employer can provide as  
part of your wage 

The prevailing wage includes rates for benefits, such 
as health insurance, pension, vacation, and holidays.  
The actual benefits you receive can include other 
legitimate benefits such as life insurance, disability, 
accident insurance, etc.  Not included as benefits are 
payments to the Transportation Education Fund 
(TEF), payments for food, lodging, or mileage; 
unemployment compensation; workers’ 
compensation; or similar benefits.  When providing 
benefits, your employer must inform you in writing 
when you are eligible and should tell you how you can 
obtain more information on how to use the benefits. 

 

Effect of benefits on your “take-home” pay 

The benefit rate is added to the contract base hourly 
rate to determine the “straight-time total package” for 
the classification.  The “overtime total package” is 
one and a half times the contract base rate or your 
base hourly rate if higher, plus the hourly fringe 
benefit rate. 

Your employer has the choice to pay the total 
package rates entirely on your paycheck as a cash 
benefit or they can pay part to union benefit 
funds or other legitimate benefit funds.  Your base 
hourly rate of pay or your benefit package may vary; 
however, your “total package” should at least equal 
prevailing wage. Bona fide fund benefits must be 
deposited no less than quarterly to the employee’s 
account. 

 

Overtime on WisDOT contracts 

State law requires that all workers on public work 
projects receive overtime pay at the rate of one and a 
half times the base rate and one times the fringes after 
working 10 hours in a weekday, after working 40 
hours in a week, and all Saturdays, Sundays, or any of 
the six major holidays.  WisDOT enforces overtime 
on a contract-by-contract basis. 

Personal deductions need your written 
permission 

Any deduction, other than those required by law, 
requires your written permission.  Any deduction that 
benefits your employer, rather than you, is unlawful. 
 

All wages and cash benefits for workers 

must be paid weekly 

All workers on WisDOT let construction projects 
performing covered work must be paid weekly.    
The driving portion of a truck driver’s payment must 
be computed at the hourly rate for truck driving. 
 

How to determine when prevailing wage 

applies to truckers 

The following items need to be considered: 

Commercial Source – a fixed place of business from 
which the establishment supplies processed or 
manufactured materials or products. 
 
Dedicated Source - a facility dedicated exclusively or 
nearly so to the contract or project and which is on 
the site of work or adjacent or virtually adjacent to the 
site of work. 
 
Site of Work – the area defined in the contract and 
dedicated areas. 
 
Next, check to see if prevailing wage applies: 
 

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

Wisconsin Department of Transportation 
(WisDOT) let projects contain prevailing 
wage rates 

State and federal laws require that the wage rates 
certified as prevailing in the geographic area of a 
WisDOT let construction project be paid to all 
workers doing labor on the site of the project.  
These wages, contained in each construction 
contract, are known as the “prevailing wage” or 
“white sheet” wages.  If both state and federal 
rates are in the contract, the higher straight-time 
“total package” must be paid. 

 

Most workers entitled to receive 
prevailing wage 

Workers who work in classifications covered 
under the contract must be paid the prevailing 
wage.  The types of classifications include truck 
drivers, landscapers, traffic control, laborers, 
operating engineers, consultant engineering staff 
who perform manual labor, etc.  Work that is 
administrative, clerical, technical, or supervisory is 
NOT covered by prevailing wages, although, 
supervisors and others must be paid the prevailing 
wage for any time spent working in a covered 
classification and be included in the weekly 
submitted payrolls.  There are also situations 
where truck drivers who deliver “by or for” 
commercial sources are not covered. 

 

Wage rates posted on project site 

Wages can vary depending on the type of work, 
the county where the work is performed, and the 
date the contract was let.  According to state 
and federal law, all wages must be posted on 
the project site.  They are often found near the 
project’s field office.  If you’re not sure of the 
location, the prime contractor’s superintendent or 
WisDOT staff should be able to direct you to the 
wage board. 

Non-Mineral Aggregate 

Mineral Aggregate 

Manufactured or Processed Material 

such as Concrete or Asphalt 

Spoil or Excavated Material 

Questions about whether a source is dedicated or 
commercial can be directed to WisDOT project staff or 
the WisDOT Labor Compliance Specialist for the 
geographic area. 

Source Prevailing Wage? 

All sources  

in final place 

Yes - Entire Haul  

All sources 

 not in final place 

No  

Source Prevailing Wage? 

Commercial No 

Dedicated Yes - Entire Haul 

Source Prevailing Wage? 

Site of work Yes 

Source Prevailing Wage? 

Commercial No 

Dedicated  Yes - Entire Haul 


