Disaster Damage Aids (DDA)

Statutory Authority: § 86.34

Admin. Rule: N/A

Objective:

To provide financial assistance to local governments to repair any highway under its jurisdiction that has had significant damage caused by a disaster event that is not located on the State Trunk Highway system.

General Guidelines (For complete information see DDA Guidelines and Requirements)

Within 60 days of the date of the disaster event a county highway committee or the governing unit having jurisdiction over road maintenance may apply for Disaster Damage Aids by submitting a petition (DT 2067).

- Applicant submits for final costs payable at 75% for all repairs or replacement to standards similar to those previously existing (replacement) plus 50% of the increased cost of the construction to a higher type (improvement).
- On claims <u>\$15,000 or less</u>, applicant has the option to accept a cost estimate for repairs. If this occurs, payment is equal to 75% of WisDOT's calculated estimate for replacement and improvement.
- On claims submitted for damages caused by any governmental unit, whether it be final costs or estimated costs on a claim of \$15,000 or less, applicant receive 70% for repair or replacement to standards similar to those existing immediately before the damage or destruction.
- An applicant must submit final costs within two years of the disaster event.
- If it appears that federal disaster aid may be forthcoming, the Department may extend the 60 day petition deadline.
- If federal aid is granted for damage to a particular facility, the federal aid shall be in lieu of aid otherwise available for such damage under the state DDA Program.

Annual Amount Appropriated: \$1,000,000

Program Manager: Patrick Vander Sanden, (608) 266-0775; patrick.vandersanden@dot.wi.gov

Department of Transportation Regional Disaster Representatives by County:

Dane, Dodge, Jefferson	John Marchewka (608) 246-7915
	johnr.marchewka@dot.wi.gov
Columbia, Iowa, Lafayette, Green, Rock	Brian Rice (608) 246-3857
	brian.rice@dot.wi.gov
Kenosha, Milwaukee, Ozaukee, Racine, Walworth, Washington,	Paul Ambrose (262) 548-6730
Waukesha	paul.ambrose@dot.wi.gov
Brown, Calumet, Door, Fond du Lac, Kewaunee, Manitowoc,	Chris Blazek (920) 492-5645
Marinette, Oconto, Outagamie, Sheboygan, Winnebago	christian.blazek@dot.wi.gov
Adams, Green Lake, Marquette, Menominee, Portage, Shawano,	Kevin Garrigan (715) 421-8386
Waupaca, Waushara, Wood	kevin.garrigan@dot.wi.gov
Florence, Forest, Iron, Langlade, Lincoln, Marathon Oneida, Price,	Jack Kieffer (715)365-5771
Vilas	john.keiffer@dot.wi.gov
Crawford, Grant, Juneau, La Crosse, Monroe, Richland, Sauk, Vernon	Robert Hanifl (608) 792-1361
	robert.hanifl@dot.wi.gov
Buffalo, Chippewa, Clark, Dunn, Eau Claire, Jackson, Pepin, Pierce, St.	Paul Gingras (715) 836-3038
Croix, Taylor, Trempealeau	paul.gingras@dot.wi.gov
Ashland, Barron, Bayfield, Burnett, Douglas, Polk, Rusk, Sawyer,	Dave Deblaey (715) 392-7886
Washburn	david.deblaey@dot.wi.gov