
SECTION E  FEE COMPUTATION
Registration Fee: Registration is due on the date of purchase, entry into Wisconsin, construction completion or restoration. 
Registration fees may be prorated from the appropriate date by using the schedule below. After initial registration, annual/
biennial renewal fees are due on November 1. A renewal notice will be sent to the registered owner prior to that date.
Penalty Fee: Application for registration shall be filed within 30 days from the date of purchase, restoration, completed 
construction or entry of the aircraft into this state.  If filed after 30 days, an administrative fee of $5.00 will be charged.
An aircraft which is registered in this state and sold within this state shall be transferred to the name of the purchaser upon application by  
the purchaser and upon payment of a $5.00 fee to the department.  Application for transfer of registration shall be filed on the date purchase.  
An additional administrative fee of $10.00 shall be charged on all applications filed later than 30 days after the purchase date.  
* �Biennial Registration: Aircraft with a gross weight of 2000, 2500, and 3000 pounds will register every other 

year.  Registration will be valid for 2 years and expires October 31, of even numbered years.	
REGISTRATION GROSS WEIGHT FEE SCHEDULE (enter in section E line 1)

SECTION F
Tax Computation  Use full purchase price to determine sales tax due. Include proof of purchase price, bill of sale, invoice  
or other proof (originals will be returned). Include proof when tax paid to another State and pay difference if less than 5%.  
County Sales Tax: If county where aircraft is based requires a county sales tax, then enter 0.5% of line 8.   
Local Tax: A tax of 0.1% is applicable if aircraft is kept in one of the following counties:  Milwaukee, Ozaukee, Racine, Washington, Waukesha.  
Tax Exemption: If aircraft is on leaseback to an FBO that collects sales tax on rentals, indicate such. If amateur built from parts with tax paid, so indicate.   
Tax due on kit price if not previously paid.

BIENNIAL
Gross Weight Not Over * NOV    DEC JAN FEB MAR APR MAY JUN JUL AUG SEP OCT
	 2,000	 Even Year 60.00 57.50 25.00     22.50     20.00 17.50      15.00   12.50   10.00     7.50     5.00     2.50
		  Odd Year 30.00 27.50 55.00 52.50 50.00 47.50      45.00   42.50   40.00   37.50   35.00   32.50
	 2,500	 Even Year     78.00     74.75     32.50     29.25     26.00     22.75      19.50   16.25   13.00     9.75     6.50     3.25
		  Odd Year     39.00     35.75     71.50     69.25     65.00     61.75      58.50   55.25   52.00   48.75   45.50   42.25
	 3,000	 Even Year   100.00     95.83     41.68     37.51     33.34     29.17      25.00   20.84   16.67   12.50     8.33     4.16
		  Odd Year     50.00     45.85     91.70     87.53     83.37     79.02      75.00   70.86   66.69   62.53   58.36   54.19

ANNUAL
	 3,500     70.00     64.17     58.33     52.50     46.67     40.63      35.00   29.17   23.33   17.50   11.67     5.83
	 4,000     95.00     87.08     79.17     71.25     63.33     55.41      47.50   39.58   31.67   23.75   15.83     7.92
	 5,000   135.00   123.75   112.50   101.25     90.00     78.75      67.50   56.25   45.00   33.75   22.50   11.25
	 6,000    190.00   174.17   158.33   142.50   126.67   110.83      95.00   79.17   63.33   47.50   31.67   15.83
	 7,000   240.00   220.00   200.00   180.00   160.00   140.00    120.00 100.00   80.00   60.00   40.00   20.00
	 8,000   300.00   275.00   250.00   225.00   200.00   175.00    150.00 125.00 100.00   75.00   50.00   25.00
	 9,000   375.00   343.75   312.50   281.25   250.00   218.75    187.50 156.25 125.00   93.75   62.50   31.25
	 10,000   525.00   481.25   437.50   393.75   350.00   306.25    262.50 218.75 175.00 131.25   87.50   43.75
	 11,000   690.00   632.50   575.00   517.50   460.00   402.50    345.00 287.50 230.00 172.50 115.00   57.50
	 12,500   940.00   861.67   783.33   705.00   626.67   548.33 470.00 391.67 313.00 235.00 156.67   78.33
	 15,000 1,125.00 1,031.25   937.50   843.75   750.00   656.25 562.50 468.75 375.00 281.25 187.50   93.75
	 20,000 1,310.00 1,200.83 1,091.67   982.50   873.33   764.17 655.00 545.83 436.67 327.50 218.33 109.17
	 25,000 1,500.00 1,375.00 1,250.00 1,125.00 1,000.00   875.00 750.00 625.00 500.00 375.00 250.00 125.00
	 30,000 1,690.00 1,549.17 1,408.33 1,267.50 1,126.67   985.83 845.00 704.17 563.33 422.50 281.67 140.83
	 35,000 1,875.00 1,718.75 1,562.50 1,406.25 1,250.00 1,093.75 937.50 781.25 625.00 468.75 312.50 156.25
	 40,000 2,190.00 2,007.50 1,825.00 1,642.50 1,460.00 1,277.50 1,095.00 912.50 730.00 547.50 365.00 182.50
	 100,000 2,500.00 2,291.67 2,083.33 1,875.00 1,666.67 1,458.33 1,250.00 1,041.67 833.33 625.00 416.67 208.33
	over 100,000 3,125.00 2,864.58 2,604.17 2,343.17 2,083.33 1,822.92 1,562.50 1,302.08 1,041.67 781.25 520.83 260.42

INSTRUCTIONS� Tax questions, call (608) 261-7694; questions regarding registration, call (608) 266-9657

All aircraft based in Wisconsin must be registered with the Wisconsin Department of Transportation.  See exemptions below.
FAA “N” NUMBER: Write in the FAA assigned “N” number in the box labeled “FAA NUMBER”.
SECTION A
Owner(s): List the complete legal name and address of the purchasing owner, builder, etc.   
List daytime telephone number where you can be reached between 7:00 a.m. – 4:00 p.m.
SECTION B
Aircraft Make: Use designer or kit producer name for amateur builts.
Gross Weight: Show the gross weight of the aircraft. s. 114.002(14) Wis. Stats.  
“Gross weight” means the gross or maximum takeoff weight for an aircraft make and model as designated by the manufacturer.
Engines/Burners: Use number of burners for balloons. Also, include sustainer engines on sailplanes.
Power Type: Use “other” for balloons.
Date: The latest of the four dates determines when registration fee calculation starts.
SECTION C	 REGISTRATION		
Initial Wisconsin: A new or used aircraft not previously 
registered in Wisconsin. Fee = see Schedule below
Restored: If previously held on unairworthy exemption, fees 
prorated for remainder of registration period.  
Fee = see Schedule below
Transfer: Aircraft registered in Wisconsin.  Transfer Fee = $5.00
Amateur Built: To be registered at time of completion or purchase 
by new owner(s).  Amateur Built Fee = $50 one time per owner
Antique: Aircraft manufactured 1955 or earlier.  Used solely for 
recreation or display.  Antique Fee = $50 one time per owner 

	 EXEMPTION
Unairworthy: Aircraft severely damaged or in a state of major deterioration. 
Complete the application in full, including section H. Upon determination that the 
aircraft qualifies as unairworthy, an unairworthy aircraft certificate will be issued 
expiring upon sale of aircraft or restoration. If the aircraft is sold in an unrestored 
condition, the new owner must apply for exemption.  Exemption Fee = $10.00
Incomplete Amateur Built: If your home built is not complete and an FAA 
“N” has been issued, complete sections A, B, C, D, F and G. Registration 
Fee = None until aircraft is airworthy. All taxes are due. Contact the 
Department of Revenue with questions regarding tax at (608) 261-7694.
Municipal: State, county or local government aircraft and Civil Air Patrol  
Municipal Fee = $5.00
Museum Aircraft: Aircraft held by a museum qualified as tax exempt under  
section 501 of the IRS code. (Flown to and from displays only.) 

-OR-



AIRCRAFT REGISTRATION or EXEMPTION
Wisconsin Department of Transportation
DT1556    8/2013    s.114.20 Wis. Stats.	
Please print or type.

A OWNER(S)  Legal Name  (Last,  First,  Middle Initial)

1.

(Area Code) Telephone Number – Daytime

2.

(Area Code) Telephone Number – Daytime

Street Address (first owner name above)	 City	 State	 ZIP Code

Owner Type

  1.  Private      2.  Business      3.  Flying Club      4.  Municipal or CAP      5.  Museum      6.  Other

B AIRCRAFT      Make	 Model	 Year	 Serial Number	 Gross Weight

Aircraft Type 	 Hang Glider 
  1.  Airplane      2.  Sea Plane      3.  Sailplane      4.  Rotor Craft      5.  Lighter than Air      6.  or Ultralight      7.  Light Sport
Power Type 

  1.  Piston    2.  Turbo Prop.    3.  Turbojet/ Turbofan    4.  Other:                                                              5.  None
Number of Engines

Aircraft Based In County

of: 
Airport, Strip or Field Name

Date  (enter date below – m/yyyy)

                                Purchased, or;      Entry into Wisconsin      Restored (if exempt)      Completed (if home built)

C  APPLICATION TYPE (see instruction page)  E  FEE COMPUTATION

  Initial Wisconsin  � Municipal or CAP   Museum Aircraft 1.  Registration Fee
	 (see instruction page)

  Amateur Built  � Restored Aircraft 
Previously Exempted

 � Transfer of Currently 
Registered

2.  Exemption Fee  $10.00
	 (Unairworthy)

  Antique  � Incomplete  
Amateur Built

  Unairworthy Aircraft
    (complete Section H) 3.  Transfer Fee

D  SELLER INFORMATION
  Send a Copy of the FAA Bill of Sale or other Proof of Purchase. 4.  Penalty Fee

Seller Name (Area Code) Telephone Number
5.  SUB TOTAL $

Street Address F  TAX COMPUTATION
6.  Full Purchase Price

City	 State	 ZIP Code
7.  Less Trade-In Allowance

TAX EXEMPTION  (if tax exempt indicate reason)

Purchased from:    Spouse      Parent      Child
8. � Amount Subject to Tax 

(line 6 minus line 7)

 � Purchaser is Certified or Licensed Carrier.  
Authority Number:

 � Purchaser is Government Unit, Religious, Charitable, Educational, etc. 
Organization Exempt Status Number:

  Tax paid to another state (submit proof, i.e.; Bill of Sale)

  Other – Explain:

9.  State Sales Tax (line 8 × 5%)

10. �� County Sales Tax (if applicable) 
(line 8 × 0.5%)

11. � Local Tax (if applicable) 
(line 8 × 0.1%)

12. � Less Sales – Use Tax Paid 
(submit proof)

G  CERTIFICATION

I certify with my signature that to the best of my knowledge the 
information and statements on this application are true and correct.

X

13.  Tax Due

14.  TOTAL DUE (line 5 plus 13) $

MAKE CHECK PAYABLE TO: � Wisconsin Department of Transportation
MAIL TO: � Wisconsin Department of Transportation 

P.O. Box 7914, Madison, WI 53707-7914
    (Owner Signature)	 (Date – m/d/yy) 	 DATE		  FOR WisDOT USE ONLY	 AMOUNT

Registration

Sales Tax

County Tax

Local Tax

TOTAL PAID

X
    (Co-Owner Signature)	 (Date – m/d/yy)

ALL AIRCRAFT must be registered or exempted with the  
Wisconsin Department of Transportation, Bureau of Aeronautics

Aircraft Has a GPS Unit
  YES   NO

FAA NUMBER

N

Please make a copy of the completed and signed Aircraft Registration or Exemption form for your records.



AIRCRAFT REGISTRATION or EXEMPTION (continued)
Wisconsin Department of Transportation    DT1556

H  UNAIRWORTHY AIRCRAFT STATEMENT Will Aircraft be Repaired

  Yes        No
Estimated Date of Repair (m/yyyy)

Date Aircraft Last Flown (m/yyyy) Date of Last Annual Present Value

$
Value when Restored

$

COMPLETE IF IN ACCIDENT 
Date of Accident (m/yyyy) Accident Report was Filed with FAA

  Yes      No
County and State Accident Occurred

Describe the present condition of the aircraft. Include a photo if available.

A&P Mechanic Certification – Name License Number

FOR WisDOT USE ONLY 	 Remarks:

  Not Approved        Approved

    Initials ________________ 

    Date __________________

Please make a copy of the completed and signed Aircraft Registration or Exemption form for your records.


	GPS: Off
	Address: 
	City: 
	State: 
	Zip Code: 
	Owner Type: Off
	Make: 
	Model: 
	Year: 
	Serial Number: 
	Gross Weight: 
	Aircraft Type: Off
	PowerType: Off
	Other: 
	Number of engines: 
	County: 
	Airport: 
	Date: 
	Date of: Off
	Application type: Off
	Seller: 
	Seller phone: 
	Seller address: 
	Seller City: 
	Seller state: 
	Seller Zip: 
	Tax exempt: Off
	Authority number: 
	Exempt Status No: 
	Other explain: 
	Date2: 
	Registration fee: 
	Exemption fee: 
	Transfer fee: 
	Penalty fee: 
	Sub total: 
	Purchase price: 
	Amount subject to tax: 
	State Sales Tax: 
	County Sales Tax: 
	Tax Due: 
	Total due: 
	Repaired: Off
	Estimated date: 
	Date flown: 
	Date annual: 
	Present value: 
	Value when restored: 
	Date of Accident: 
	Accident report filed: Off
	County and State: 
	Describe condition: 
	A&P: 
	License number: 
	FAA #: 
	Purchased from: Off
	1: 
	 Name: 
	 Phone: 

	2: 
	 LastName: 
	 Phone: 

	Clear Form: 
	Print: 
	Date3: 
	Local sales tax: 
	Less Sales Use tax: 
	Trade in: 


