
 

 

 
  

 

 
 
All licenses expire December 31 of each year. Application for                         license year. 
 Legal Name Area Code - Telephone Number 

Trade Name(s) or DBAs Federal Employer Identification Number (FEIN) 

Street Address or RFD    Post Office Box Number    City   State ZIP Code     County where business located 

E-mail Address 

Type of Business 
 Sole Proprietorship  
 Partnership   
 Corporation 
 LLC 

If Corporation or LLC, Give Date 
Licensed in Wisconsin   

State of Incorporation or 
Organization  

Name 

 City           Village           Town 

If Licensed Before, Give Year and License 
Number 

Name, Date of Birth, Social Security Number, Title, and Residence Address of Owner, Partners, Corporation Officers, LLC Members or LLC 
Managers 

Makes and Types of Vehicles Transported    Names of Parties between whom Vehicles shall be Transported 

Authority Numbers 
LC MC USDOT 

  I do not operate “for hire” and have called the numbers below to verify that I am not required to obtain an LC and/or MC number. 

Transporter License Plates (First 2 plates $75.00, each additional plate $5.00) ....................................  $75.00  

List letters of all missing plates    

Replacement License Plates for lost, damaged or illegible plates ............................................ each plate $2.00  

 FEES PAYABLE TO: REGISTRATION FEE TRUST    $ 
 

I hereby certify under penalty of 345.17 Wis. Stats., that the answers and statements on this application are true and correct to the 
best of my knowledge.  I further understand that a misstatement on this application may result in the revocation or suspension of the 
plates under 341.51 Wis. Stats. 

 X 
  (Authorized Dealership Agent, Title)  (Date) 

General Information 

Usage  Basically, a transporter is defined as someone engaged in the business of transporting and delivering motor 
vehicles, trailers, semi-trailers or mobile homes in tow on their own wheels or under their own power between 
manufacturers, distributors and dealers. A transporter can also be a final stage manufacturer or someone who 
modifies or converts complete motor vehicles, but doesn’t own the vehicles, if transporting the vehicles between 
the person’s place of business and manufacturers, distributors, dealers or purchasers is incidental to 
manufacturing operations. 

 
LC Number  This is required for hauling for hire on an intrastate basis (within Wisconsin). For more information, call 608-266-

9900 or complete the application online at: http://wisconsindot.gov/Documents/formdocs/mv2843.doc 
 
MC Number  This number is required for hauling regulated commodities and is Federally assigned. To obtain Federal forms, 

call 608-662-2010 or write: U.S. Department of Transportation, Federal Motor Carrier Safety Administration, 1 
Point Place # 101, Madison, WI 53719-2809.  

Wisconsin Department of Transportation 
Dealer & Agent Section, Rm 201 
4802 Sheboygan Avenue 
P. O. Box 7909 
Madison, WI 53707-7909 

MOTOR VEHICLE TRANSPORTER 
LICENSE PLATES APPLICATION 
MV2286     8/2009     Ch. 218 Wis. Stats. 

http://wisconsindot.gov/Documents/formdocs/mv2843.doc


 

 

 
US DOT Number All motor carriers, private or for hire, must have a US DOT number. To apply for one, call 1-800-832-5660 or 

apply online at: http://www.usdotnumberregistration.com 

http://www.usdotnumberregistration.com/
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