
WISCONSIN DEPARTMENT OF TR ANSPORTATION

Law Enforcement Memorial License Plate
Information and Application
MV2590  7/2015  s.341.14(6r)(f)64 Wis. Stats.

Any Wisconsin resident may apply for Law 
Enforcement Memorial license plates. The plates 
recognize Wisconsin law enforcement officers 
killed in the line of duty. For more information, visit 
Wisconsin Law Enforcement Memorial and the 
National Law Enforcement Officers Memorial Fund.

Who is eligible?
►► Any Wisconsin resident.

Vehicles that qualify
►► An automobile.
►► A motor home (Annual registration only);
►► A private truck, dual purpose motor home 
or dual purpose farm truck that has a 
gross weight of 8,000 pounds or less.

►► A farm truck that has a gross weight 
of 12,000 pounds or less.

Fees needed
►► A $15 issuance fee or an annual  
$15 personalized plate fee.

►► The annual registration fee, if your current 
plates expire within 3 months

Plates required in 2 days
►► To legally operate your vehicle, you must  
display license plates within two business  
days of purchase. 

►► If you do not have current plates, apply to  
a DMV Customer Service Center or an agent 
authorized by DMV to obtain a temporary  
plate while your Law Enforcement Memorial  
plate order is processed. An agent may 
charge a plate fee and/or service fee.

Personalized plate information
►► A $15 personalized plate fee  
is required each year in addition  
to the regular registration fee.

►► WisDOT may refuse to issue or may recall 
after issuance a request that is misleading or 
may be offensive to good taste or decency.

►► No refund or adjustment will be made for 
a change of choice or spacing after the 
plate has been ordered or if the application 

is unclear or incorrectly completed.
►► Plates will be mailed 3– 4 weeks after you 
receive the new certificate of registration.

How to apply
1.	 To order non-personalized Law Enforcement 

Memorial plates, mark first option and go to step 6.
2.	 To order personalized Law Enforcement Memorial 

plates, mark second option and choose 1-6 characters.  
If you choose 6 characters, no spaces are allowed.

N V R 4 G T
If you choose 5 or fewer characters, you 
may request up to two spaces between 
any of the characters. Indicate a space 
with a diagonal line as shown here.

H N R 4 U
3.	 Use capital letters or numbers. The letter O  

and the number zero are the same. The following 
are not acceptable: small letters, symbols, signs, 
hyphens, apostrophes, etc. Carefully distinguish 
between: letters L or I and number 1, letter S and 
number 5, letter G and number 6, letter Z and 
number 2, letter B and number 8, letters U and V.

4.	 For personalized plate message availability, please 
visit: wisconsindmv.gov/personalizedplatelookup

5.	 Provide meaning of request,  
i.e., what does this represent?

6.	 If the vehicle that you wish to register 
with Law Enforcement Memorial plates  
is already titled in your name, send: 
»» A copy of your Certificate of 

Registration or complete the vehicle 
description on the application;

»» $15 issuance or personalized plate fee,  
plus the annual registration fee if the current 
plates expire within the next 3 months;

7.	 If the vehicle is not titled in your name, send:
»» A completed title application:  

MV1 (Private Sale) or MV11 (Dealer Sale);
»» The title assigned to you;
»» All required fees, including 

annual registration fee;
»» Additional $15 issuance or personalized plate fee;

8.	 Make check or money order payable to:  
Registration Fee Trust.

9.	 Mail all required items to: 
WisDOT 
Special Plates Unit 
P O Box 7911 
Madison, WI 53707-7911
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http://www.wlem.com
http://www.nleomf.com
http://wisconsindmv.gov/personalizedplatelookup
http://www.wisconsindot.gov/Documents/formdocs/mv1.pdf


	
Law Enforcement Memorial License Plate Application	
Wisconsin Department of Transportation
MV2590  s.341.14(6r)(f)64 Wis. Stats.

Release of non exempt information
Under Wisconsin open records law, the 
Wisconsin Department of Transportation must 
provide information from its records to requesters.
If you do not want your name and address 
included in requests we receive for ten or 
more records, you may ask the department 
to withhold your name and address from 
those lists by checking the box below:

 Opt Out

ADA – The Wisconsin Department 
of Transportation complies with the 
Americans with Disabilities Act.

Release of personalized plates

	I authorize the reissuance of my personalized 
plate number to the applicant listed above.

X
(Signature of Owner Releasing Plate)

New owner - please check one:
	Have plates in good condition in my possession.

	Need new plates issued.
Note: No credit of registration fees or personalized 
plate fee from former owner is allowed.

Check options
	I would like non-personalized Law 

Enforcement Memorial plates.

	I would like personalized Law 
Enforcement Memorial plates.

	 If personalized plate choices are not available:	

	I would like non-personalized Law	
Enforcement Memorial plates.

	 	 Call or Email 

�First Choice
Meaning (Required)

Second Choice
Meaning (Required)

Third Choice
Meaning (Required)

Vehicle you wish to register with Law Enforcement Memorial plates

X
(Applicant Signature) � (Date)

Year - Make		  	Body Type Current License Plate Number

	 1	 2	 3	 4	 5	 6	 7	 8

Vehicle Identification Number (standard VIN has 17 characters)	

	 1	 2	 3	 4	 5	 6	 7	 8	 9	 10	 11	 12	 13	 14	 15	 16	 17

Driver License Number

	 			                    OR
	 1	 2	 3	 4		  5	 6	 7	 8		  9	 1 0	 11	 12		  13	 14

FEIN (if company owned) 

	 1	 2		  3	 4	 5	 6	 7	 8	 9

Telephone Number where you may be 
reached 7 a.m. to 4:30 p.m.

Owner(s)/Lessee Name - Last, First, Middle Initial - Print Email Address

Address	 City	 State	 ZIP Code

If you have questions about this application:
 » Call: (608) 266-3041 
 » FAX: (608) 267-5106
 » Email: special-plates.dmv@dot.wi.gov
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