





Vehicles that qualify

The vehicle must be a model year of 1945 or earlier and has not been altered or modified from the original manufacturer's specifications. The non-expiring fee is \$5.00 for an Antique license plate.

The vehicle can only be used for special occasions such as display and parade purposes or for necessary testing, maintenance and storage purposes.

A person who registers an antique motor vehicle may display a historical plate from or representing the model year of the vehicle, if the registration and plates issued by the Wisconsin Department of Transportation (WisDOT) are simultaneously carried in or, in the case of an antique motorcycle, carried with the vehicle and are available for inspection.

Antique license plates CANNOT be personalized.

Plates required in 2 days

To legally operate your vehicle, you must display license plates within two business days of purchase.

If you do not have current plates, apply to a DMV Customer Service Center or an agent authorized by DMV to obtain a temporary plate while your Antique plate order is processed. An agent may charge a plate fee and/or service fee.

How to apply

- 1. If the vehicle that you wish to register with Antique license plates is already titled in your name, and:
 - » Is currently registered, send a copy of your Certificate of Registration.
 - » Is NOT currently registered, send the actual Certificate of Title (not a photocopy).
- 2. If the vehicle is NOT titled in your name, send:
 - » A completed title application (MV1 or MV11);
 - » Title assigned to you;
 - » All required fees;
 - » \$5.00 Antique license registration fee.
- If you are transferring an Antique plate, you must pay the \$5.00 transfer fee.
- 4. Make check or money order payable to: Registration Fee Trust.
- Mail all required items with signed application to: WisDOT Special Plates PO Box 7911, Madison, WI 53707-7911

Antique license plates are not available or processed at DMV Customer Service Centers.

Current License Plate Number	rent License Plate Number 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 Year – Make Body Type		Vehicle Identification Number (standard VIN has 17 characters)		
Driver License Number	9 10 11 12	OR 0R	FEIN (if company owned)		Number where you may be .m. to 4:30 p.m.
Owner(s)/Lessee Name - Last, First	t, Middle Initial – Print		Email Address		
Address			City	State	ZIP Code

Applicant Signature)	(Date)	

Release of non exempt information

Under Wisconsin open records law, the Wisconsin Department of Transportation must provide information from its records to requestors.

If you do not want your name and address included in requests we receive for ten or more records, you may ask the department to withhold your name and address from those lists by checking the box below:

☐ Opt Out

ADA – This Wisconsin Department of Transportation complies with the Americans with Disabilities Act.

If you have questions about this application:

Call: (608) 266-3041Fax: (608) 267-5106

Email: special-plates.dmv@dot.wi.gov

Invisible disability notice to law enforcement form: wisconsindmv.gov/inv-dis or at DMV Service Centers.