LEGAL

SANCTIONS

HISTORICAL OVERVIEW OF WISCONSIN DRINKING DRIVING LAW

1849 Chapter 33, section 3, Laws of 1849,
prohibited the employment of any person to drive
a coach or vehicle who is addicted to drunkenness,
or to the excessive use of intoxicating liquors. A
similar statute, sec. 364.64, Stats., still exists in
Wisconsin law.

1911 Chapter 600, Laws of 1911, published July
15, 1911, prohibits operating, riding or driving a
motor vehicle while intoxicated. This appears to be
the first reference in Wisconsin Statutes to the actual
offense of drunk driving. Also note that riding was
included as a part of the offense in 1911. The penalty
for first offense was a fine of not less than $10 nor
more than $50. The penalty for second and subse-
quent offenses was a fine of not less than $25 nor
more than $100, or imprisonment for 60 days, or
both. See Chapter 73a, s.1636-49 and 54, 1911
Wisconsin Statutes pp. 1092-93.

1921 Chapter 761 section 1636-49, 1921 Wiscon-
sin Statutes, p.1254, used the same language, “no
intoxicated person shall operate, ride, or drive any
automobile...”. The penalty section in 1921, section
1636-54, p. 1259, had been changed to read: “Any
person who shall operate, ride, or drive any
automobile...upon or along any public highway of
this state, while intoxicated, shall be punished by a
fine of not more than $100 or by imprisonment in
the county jail for not more than six months, or by
such fine and imprisonment.” There was no statu-
tory reference to second and subsequent offenses.

1923 By 1923, the drunk driving provisions were
included in the “Law of the Road,” which had been
recodified in Chapter 85, Wisconsin Statutes. The
provision making riding while intoxicated illegal had
been eliminated. Section 85.08, 1923 Wisconsin
Statutes read as follows: “[A]nd no intoxicated person
shall operate any automobile...”. Section 85.22, 1923
Wisconsin Statutes provided for the following pen-
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alty: “Any person who violates...85.08 shall be fined
not less than $10 nor more than $100, and for a
second or subsequent violation thereof in any year
shall be fined not less than $50 nor more than $500
or imprisoned not exceeding sixty days, or both.”

1933 Wisconsin Statutes, Sec. 85.13, read as
follows: “It shall be unlawtful for any person who is a
habitual user of narcotic drugs, or who is subject to
epilepsy, or any person under the influence of an
intoxicating liquor or narcotic drug, to operate any
vehicle upon any highway.” Note that the prohibition
was once again any vehicle. Section 85.91(3), 1933
Wisconsin Statutes, provided for the following
penalty. Any person violating s. 85.13 “...shall be
deemed guilty of a misdemeanor, and upon convic-
tion thereof shall be punished in addition to any
other penalty provided by law, by a fine not to exceed
$100 or by imprisonment...for not more than six
months, or by both such fine and imprisonment. The
operator’s license of such person may also be revoked
or suspended for a period not to exceed one year; and
for the second or each subsequent conviction within
one year thereafter the person shall be punished by a
fine not to exceed $200, or by such imprisonment not
to exceed one year, or both...and in addition thereto
by suspension or revocation of the operator’s license
for not to exceed one year.” This is the first refer-
ence in the law to suspension/trevocation of the
drivers license as a penalty for drunk driving.

1949 On July 28, 1949, Chapter 534, Laws of
1948-49 amended sec. 85.13 and introduced into
Wisconsin law the concept of chemical analysis of
breath, blood, urine and saliva as evidence of drunk
driving. This new law indicated that blood taken
within two hours of arrest which contained (.15)
fifteen-hundredths of one percent or more by weight
of alcohol in blood could be admitted as prima facie
evidence of intoxication, but there also needed to be
corroborating evidence.



1957 Chapter 260, Laws of 1957, recodified the
Motor Vehicle statutes. This law changed the statu-
tory cite for drunk driving from s. 85.13 to s.
346.63(1), Stats. This statutory cite is where the
drunk driving offense is still located. By 1957, the
chemical test sections had moved to s. 325.235.

Penalties in 1957 remained the same as they were in
1953. See s. 346.65(2), 1957 Wisconsin Statutes.

1969 Chapter 383, Laws of 1969, created
Wisconsin’s Implied Consent Law. Under the law,
persons who operate motor vehicles on highways are
deemed to have given their consent to submit to a
chemical test upon request by a police officer.

1973 Chapter 102, Laws of 1973, changed the
prima facie blood alcohol concentration from .15 to
.10, but continued the requitement for the need of
corroborating evidence. By 1973, the penalty for first
offense no longer included the option of jail.

1981 Chapter 20, Laws of 1981, restructured
Wisconsin’s OWI law. This law created the offense
of intoxication as a matter of law if the person has
an alcohol concentration in excess of .1 or more;
corroborating evidence is no longer required. It
eliminated the ability of prosecutors to plea bargain
OWI offenses to lesser offenses. It required alcohol
assessment as a condition of sentence for every
person convicted of OWI, and it established a
surcharge fund for the purpose of helping to under-
write assessment and treatment.

1983 Chapter 74, Laws of 1983, raised the legal
drinking age to 19 and created an Absolute Sobriety
provision for persons under the legal drinking age .

1985 Wisconsin Act 337 raised the drinking age
to 21 effective September 1, 1986 but left the abso-
lute sobtiety provision from Chapter 74, Laws of
1983, tage 19. Other changes in statutory rules
associated with underage drinking were also made.

1987 Chapter 3, Laws of 1987, created immedi-
ate (30 days after the violation) license suspension for
six months (Administrative Suspension) for any
person with an alcohol concentration of .1 or greater.
This law became effective on January 1, 1988.

1989 Chapter 105, Laws of 1989, created new
OWI statutory provisions for commercial vehicle
operators. This law created an absolute sobriety
provision for commercial motor vehicle operators,

and reduced the alcohol concentration level to .04 for
persons operating commercial motor vehicles. These
provisions became effective on January 1, 1991.

1992 Chapter 277, Laws of 1991, created new
penalties and treatment opportunities for OWI repeat
offenders. This law included possible seizure of
vehicles, increased penalty for Homicide by Intoxi-
cated Use, an alcohol concentration of .08 for per-
sons with two or more offenses, and easier access to
treatment. The provisions of this law became effec-
tive on January 1, 1993.

1996 Act 127 amended and expanded the OWI
laws to include offenses taking place on rental prop-
erty and in employee parking lots. The law does not
pertain to private parking areas on farms or single-
tamily residences.

1999 Wisconsin Act 109 increased penalties for
repeat offenders, lowered prohibited alcohol concen-
trations in some instances and expanded the ability
for courts to use ignition interlock devices along with
other substantive changes.

2001 Wisconsin Act 16 created a new set of
repeat OWI penalties for 2 or more convictions in
any five year period: a minimum one year revocation
with no occupational licensing during that period;
immobilization or IID required on all vehicles;
seizure may be ordered on third or subsequent
conviction. For the 2nd conviction, the court shall
order five days in jail or at least 30 days of commu-
nity service (this doubled community service time for
2nd offense). Increased the OWI surcharge by $10
(from $345 to $355).

2003 Wisconsin Act 30 lowered prohibited
alcohol content to .08 for all drivers not already held
to a lower AC but removed the OWI surcharge and the
assessment of drug and alcohol use for first offenses
when AC > .08 and <.10. Wisconsin Act 97 made it
illegal to operate a motor vehicle with any detectable
amount of a controlled substance in one’s blood-
stream, regardless of whether one is impaired. This
proscription extends to the operation of all-terrain
vehicles, snowmobiles, firearms and motor boats.

2004 Act 251 further conformed laws governing
the operation of ATVs to those for operating MVs,
enhancing penalties for OWI when there is a minor
passenger under 16 and when the AC is “high”.

Note: Wisconsin has the distinction of being the only state that does not provide for criminal sanctions or any jail time for first offense OWI convic-
tions. In comparison, first offense shoplifting is a Class A Misdemeanor punishable by a fine of up to $10,000 and/or up to nine months in jail.

SOURCE: DOT-Burean of Transportation Safety; DOT-Office of General Counsel
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OWI AND RELATED ALCOHOL PENALTIES (AS OF FEBRUARY 2005)

Suspension or Occupational
Conviction Fine or Forfeiture’ Jail Revocation License"” Assessment® Points"”
OWI, First®® $150-$300° No 6-9 month revocation® Immediately Yes!* 6
346.63(1)(a),(am), (b)] [346.65(2) ()] [343.30(1q)(b)2] 1343.30(1q)(b)2]
(Per se AC > .08) (plus $355 OWT surcharge)™
[340.01(46m)(a)] [346.655]
Restricted controlled
substance [340.01(50m)]"¢
OWI, Second"!*® $350-$1,100° 5 days to 6 months® 12-18 month revocation® After 60 days™ Yes 6
(Per se AC > .08) [346.65(2)(b)] [346.65(2)(b)] [343.30(1q)(b)3] After 12 months if 2 or more
[340.01(46m)(a)] (plus $355 OWT surcharge) Vehicle immobilized or offenses within 5 years
equipped with 11D? [343.30(1q) (b)3],[343.307(1)]
OWT, Third"*** $600-$2,000% 30 days to 1 year® 2-3 year revocation® After 90 days™”’ Yes 6
(Per se AC > .08) [346.65(2)(0)] [346.65(2)(0)] [343.30(1q) (b)4] After 12 months if 2 or more
[340.01(46m)(a)] (plus $355 OWTI surcharge) Vehicle immobilized or offenses within 5 years
equipped with ITD or may be seized — [343.30(1q)(b)4]
[346.65(6)(2)1]°
OWI, Fourth"1%1¢ $600-$2,000%" 60 days to 1 year® 2-3 year revocation® After 90 days™ Yes 6
(Per se AC > .02) [346.65(2)(d)] [346.65(2)(d)] [343.30(1q)(b)4] After 12 months if 2 or more
[340.01(46m)(c)] (plus $355 OWT surcharge) Vehicle immobilized or offenses within 5 years
equipped with IID or may be seized®  [343.30(1q)(b)4]
OWI, Fifth or more!'®! $600-$10,000" 6 months to 6 years® 2-3 year revocation® After 90 days*? Yes 6
(Per se AC > .02) [346.65(2)(e)] imprisonment [343.30(1q)(b)4] After 12 months if 2 or more
[340.01(46m)(c)] [939.50(3)(h)] [346.65(2)(e)] Vehicle immobilized or offenses within 5 years
(plus $355 OWT surcharge) [939.50(3)(h)] equipped with IID or may be seized®  [343.30(1q)(b)4]
Causing Injury'®' $300-$2,000% 30 days to 1 year® 1-2 year revocation®® After 60 days Yes 6
While OWT [346.65(3m)] [346.65(3m)] [343.31(3)(e)] After 12 months if 2 or more
[346.63(2)(a)] (plus $355 OWT surcharge) offenses within 5 years
[343.31(3m)(b)]
Causing Great*!*! Up to $25,0006.710:1 Up to 12.5 years®"!* 2 year revocation*®’® After 120 days Yes 6
Bodily Harm by OWT [939.50(3)(f)] imprisonment [343.31(3)(f)] After 12 months if 2 or more
[940.25(1)] (plus $355 OWTI surcharge) [939.50(3)(f)] offenses within 5 years
[343.31(3m) (a)]
Homicide While OWT*!*1¢ Up to $100,000%7101 Up to 25 years or,!° 5 year revocation®®’ After 120 days Yes 6
[940.09(1)] [939.50(3)(c),(d)] if one or more prior [343.31(3)(c)] After 12 months if 2 or more
(plus $355 OWT surcharge) OWI-related offense, offenses within 5 years
up to 40 years [343.31(3m)(a)]
1930.50(3)(c), ()]
Chemical Test Refusal' 1 year revocation® After 30 days Yes 0
(First) [(343.305(10)(b)2] [(343.305(10) (b)2]
[343.305(9)]
Chemical Test Refusal™! 2 year revocation® After 90 days® Yes 0
(Second) 343.305(10)(b)3] After 12 months if 2 or more
[343.305(9)] Vehicle immobilized or offenses within 5 years
equipped with 11D* 343.305(10)(b)3]
[343.305(10m)]
Chemical Test Refusal* 3 year revocation® After 120 days’ Yes 0
(Third or greater) [343.305(10)(b)4] After 12 months if 2 or more
[343.305(9)] Vehicle immobilized or equipped offenses within 5 years
with IID or may be seized® [343.305(10)(b)4]
[343.305(10m)]
Administrative Suspension 6 month suspension Immediately 0
for Prohibited Alcohol 343.305(7)()] [343.305(8){d)]
Concentration [343.305(7)]
Open Container $100 0

(Driver or passenger)®

[346.935]

[346.95(2m)]

! Generally, second offenses are counted within a 10-year period. Third and subsequent are counted within an individual’s lifetime dating back to 1/1/89. [346.65(2)(b)-(e), 343.305(10)(b)3-4, 1997 Wis. Act 237-s.

9348(2f)] The 10-year and lifetime periods are measured from the date of refusal or violation that resulted in conviction. [346.65(2¢)]
? Absolute sobriety 1s mandatory for an occupational license for persons with two or more suspensions, revocations or convictions. [343.10(5)(a)(2)]

*Persons with two or more suspensions, revocations or convictions counted under 343.307(1), must complete assessment and be in compliance with a driver safety plan to be eligible for an occupational license.

[343.10(2)(¢), 343.30(1¢)(0)]

“Tf repeat offender, court may immobilize, equip with an ignition interlock device (ITD) or seize vehicle. [940.09(1d), 940.25(1d)]
® Assessment of the offender's use of alcohol or controlled substances is required except for first offenses where alcohol concentration (AC) >.08 and <.10. [343.30 (1q)(c)]

‘Fines, forfeitures, jail and revocation/suspension penalties are doubled for a person convicted of OWT if a person under 16 years of age was in the vehicle at the time of the offense. [343.30 (1q)(b)4m., 343.305
(10)(b)4m, (em), 343.31 (3)(bm)4m.,(c),(e),(f) and 346.65 (2)(f),(3m).] For third and subsequent OWT offenses, fines are increased according to AC. [346.65(2)]

7 Fines, forfeitures, jail, and revocations or suspensions are doubled if a pregnant woman is in the vehicle at the time the driver committed the offense. [343.31(3)(c),(f)]

*The vehicle owned by the offender and used in the offense may be immobilized or equipped with TID or the offender's operating privileges may be restricted to vehicles equipped with TID. [343.301(1)(a) and (2)(a)]
For second or subsequent offenses, if there are 2 or more enumerated offenses committed within any 5 years such operating privilege restrictions are mandatory and all vehicles titled or registered in the offenders’
name must be immobilized or equipped with ITD. [343.301(1)(a) and (2)(a), 343.305(10m)] For third or subsesequent the vehicle may be seized and forfeited. [346.65(6)(a)1]

? Additional fees, assessments and surcharges will also apply except for first OWT offense where AC > 08 and < .10 [165.755(1), 302.46, 346.655(1), 757.05(1), 814.63(1), 814.65(1), 814.85(1), 814.86(1)]

1°If offense is committed while operating a commercial motor vehicle, then penalties will include a 1 year CDL disqualification (3 year disqualification if transporting hazardous materials, or lifetime disqualification for
2nd offense since July 1, 1987.). [343.315(2)(a)(b)(c)]

" For third or subsequent OWT offenses, fines are increased according to AC. [346.65(2)(g)]

2 For the scale of demerit points for all traffic violations, see Trans 101.02, Wisconsin Administrative Code, and 343.32(2); newly licensed and unlicensed drivers may be subject to increased demerit points.

[343.32(2) (be)]

P Persons whose operating privileges have been suspended or revoked may apply for an occupational license to drive between home and work or school. [343.10]

"*No OWT surcharge and no assessment of offender's alcohol or controlled substance use for first offense prohibited alcohol content [346.63(1)(b)] if AC > .08 and <.10. An OWT surcharge and an assessment are
required for all first prohibited alcohol convictions where AC > .10 and for all first OWT convictions. [346.655(1), 343.30(1q)(c)1]

*Both drivers and passengers can be ticketed for the presence of an unsealed container of an intoxicating beverage in the passenger compartment of a vehicle. [346.935]

192003 Wisconsin Act 97 prohibits a person from operating a motor vehicle with any detectable presence of a restricted controlled substance in his or her bloodstream. Violations are treated as OWT, and are subject to
the same penalties as OWI.

SOURCE: DOT-Burean of Transportation Safety; DOT-Office of General Counsel
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UNDERAGE ALCOHOL OFFENSES AND RELATED PENALTIES
(As OF FEBRUARY 2005)

Driver License Supervised Court

Conviction Fine or forfeiture® Suspension or Revocation Work Program _ Ordered Stay'  Assessment!
Absolute Sobriety “Not a Drop” Law $10° 90 day license suspension’
(If under age 21) [346.65(2q) | [343.30(1p)]
[346.63 (2m)] Occupational- immediately
Underage Alcohol (Procure or 1st: $250-$500 1st: 30-90 day* suspension Yes-Court Yes-Court Optional
Misrepresent Age) (age 17-20) 2nd 1n a year: $300-$500 2nd: up to 1 yr. suspension? option as an option as an [125.07(4)(c)2a]
[125.07(4)(a)] or local ordinance 3rd in a year: $500-$750 3rd & subsequent: up to alternative alternative

4th & subsequent in a year: 2 yr. suspension® [125.07(4) (bs)] [125.07(4)(e)2]

$750-$1,000 [343.30(6) (b)]

[125.07(4)(bs)]
Juvenile Alcohol (Procure or 1st: $250-$500 1st: 30-90 day* suspension Yes-Court Yes-Court Optional
Misrepresent Age) (under 17) 2nd in a year: $300-$500 2nd: up to 1 yr. suspension® option as an option as an [938.344(2g)(a)1]
[125.07(4)(a)] or local ordinance 3rd & subsequent in a year: 3rd & subsequent: up to alternative alternative

2 yr. suspension”

[938.344(2b)]

[938.344(2g) (a)]

[938.344(2b)(a)-(0)] [343.30(6)(b)]
Underage Alcohol (Possess or 1st: $100-$200 1st: 30-90 day* suspension Yes-Court Yes-Court Optional
Consume) (age 17-20) 2nd 1n a year: $200-$300 2nd: up to 1 yr. suspension? option as an option as an [125.07(4)(c)2a]
[125.07(4)(b)| or local ordinance 3rd in a year: $300-$500 3rd & subsequent: up to alternative alternative
4th & subsequent in a year: 2 yr. suspension? [125.07(4)(c)] [125.07(4)(e)2]
$500-$1,000 [343.30(6) (b)]
[125.07(4)(0)]
Juvenile Alcohol (Possess or 1st: Up to $50 1st: 30-90 day* suspension Yes-Court Yes-Court Optional
Consume) (under 17) 2nd in a year: Up to $100 2nd: up to 1 yr. suspension® option as an option as an [938.344(2g)(a)1]
[125.07(4)(b)] or local ordinance 3rd & subsequent in a year: 3rd & subsequent: up to alternative alternative
up to $500 2 yr. suspension? [938.344(2)] [938.344(2g) ()]
[938.344(2)(2)-(0)] [343.30(6) (b)]
Underage False ID (Use or Possess)  $300-$1250 30-90 days* Yes-Court
(age 17-20) [125.085 (3)(bd)] [343.30(6)(bm)] option as an
[125.085(3)(b)] alternative
[125.085(3)(bd)]
Juvenile False ID (Use or Possess) 1st: $100-$500 1st: 30-90 day* suspension Yes-Court Yes-Court Optional
(under 17) 2nd in a year: $300-$500 2nd: up to 1 yr. suspension option as an option as an [938.344(2g)(a)1]
[125.085(3)(b)] 3rd & subsequent in a year: 3rd & subsequent: up to alternative alternative
$500 2 yr. suspension [938.344(2d)] [938.344(2g)(a)]

[938.344(2d) (2)-(<)]

[343.30(6) (b))

Intoxicants In Vehicle
(Underage Persons)

[346.93]

$20-5400
[346.93(22)]

1st: 30 day - 1 yr. suspension
2nd: up to 1 yr. suspension?
3rd & subsequent: up to

2 yr. suspension’

[34330(2m), (6)(b)]

'Court may stay enforcement of the sentence if the defendant agrees, and in turn, the court must condition the stay on voluntary assessment and participation in a court-approved alcohol abuse

education program or enrollment in a treatment program; however, the court may not stay, suspend or modify a mandatory drivers license suspension.

?Suspension is permissive for 1st offense, but mandatory for 2nd and subsequent offenses that involve a motor vehicle.
? Forfeiture, costs and period of suspension are doubled if a passenger under 16 years of age was in the vehicle at the time of the offense. [343.30(1p), 346.65(2q)]
*If a person does not hold a valid license at the time of disposition, the suspension period begins when they first apply for a license or two years from the disposition. [343.30(6)(d)]
* Additional fees, assessment and surcharges will apply.

COMMENTS ON PENALTIES FOR UNDERAGE ALCOHOL OFFENSES

Persons whose licenses are suspended or revoked for underage alcohol violations other than Abso/ute
Sobriety are eligible for occupational licenses 15 days after the suspension or revocation begins. [343.10(2)(a)4]
Those whose licenses are suspended for violating the Absolute Sobriety or “Not a Drop” law are eligible for

occupational licenses immediately. [346.63(2m)]

Like persons aged 21 or older, underage persons are subject to the provisions of Wisconsin laws prohibit-
ing operating/dtiving motor vehicles while intoxicated. These laws include impairment/intoxication resulting
from the use of 1illegal, over the counter or prescription drugs or combinations of drugs or alcohol. It is illegal
in Wisconsin to operate snowmobiles, all-terrain vehicles, motor boats, aircraft and other motor vehicles with a
detectable presence of restricted controlled substances in the bloodstream orwhile under the influence of
alcohol or drugs or a combination of alcohol and drugs.

Underage Alcohol conviction records are largely confidential. The Department of Transportation may not
disclose information concerning a suspension, revocation or restriction as a result of an underage alcohol
conviction to any person other than a court, district attorney, municipal prosecuting attorney, law enforcement

agency, the underage individual or his/her parents or legal guardian. [343.30(5), 343.24(3)]
SOURCE: DOT-Burean of Transportation Safety; DOT-Office of General Counsel
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COMMERCIAL DRIVER LICENSE ALCOHOL AND OTHER DRUG OFFENSES
AND RELATED PENALTIES (AS OF FEBRUARY 2005)

Violation in CMV

Fine/Forfeiture/Jail ?

Effect on CDL

Effect on Class
D/M License

Occupational
License (class D/M) ¢

Any measurable alcohol

concentration (AC > 0.0 and < .04),
possession of alcohol, operation

within 4 hours after
consuming [346.63(1)(am)(7)]

$10 [346.65(2u)(a)]

24 Hr Out-of-Service
[346.65(2u) (b)]
[343.315(2)(g)]

AC > .04 and < .08**
1st Offense
[346.63(5)]

$150-$300 forfeiture'®
[346.65(2)(a)]

1 Yr Disq
3 Yr Disq if “H”
[343.315(2)(a),(b)]

Subject to 24-hour
license seizure®

[343.305(7)(b)]

After 15 days
[343.10(2)(a)]

AC > .04 and < .08**
2nd Offense

$300-$1,000 fine"®
5 days-6 mo jail

[346.65(2) (b)]

Lifetime Disq
[343.315(2)(c)]

Subject to 24-hour
license seizure®

[343.305(7)(b)]

After 15 days
[343.10(2)(a))

AC > .04 and < .08
3rd or Subsequent Offense

$600-$2000 fine'®
30 days-1 yr jail
[346.65(21)(c)]

Lifetime Dis
[343.315(2)(¢)]

Subject to 24-hour
license seizure®

[343.305(7)(b)]

After 15 days
[343.10(2)(a)]

AC > .04 and < .08
Causing Injury

[346.63(6)]

$300-$2,0008
30 days-1 yr jail
[346.65(3m)]

1 Yr Disq/3 yr if “H”
(life for 2nd offense)
[343.315(2) (), (b), ()]

1 year revocation'

[343.31(1) (ar),(3) (a)]

After 15 days
[343.10(2)(a)]

AC > .04 and < .08
Causing Great Bodily Harm
[940.25(1) (bm)]

Up to $25,000°7%
up to 12.5 yrs jail
1939.5003) )

1 Yr Disq/3 yr if “H”
(life for 2nd offense)
[343.315(2)(a),(b),(c)]

2 year revocation'’

[343.313)(D)]

After 120 days or, if 2
or more offenses within
5 years, after 1 year

[343.31(3m) (a)]

AC > .04 and < .08
Causing Death
[940.09(1) (bm)]

Up to $100,000 *7*
up to 40 yrs jail
[939.50(3)(c),(d)]

1 Yr Disq/3 yr if “H”
(life for 2nd offense)
[343.315(2) (a),(b),(c)]

5 year revocation!
[343.31(3)(0)]

After 120 days or, if 2
or more offenses within
5 years, after 1 year
[343.31(3m)(a)]

Chemical Test Refusal*
1st Offense
[343.305(9) (am)]

1 Yr Disq
3 Yr Disq if “H”
[343.315(2)(a),(b)]

1 year revocation'?

[343.305(10)(b)2]

After 30 days
[343.305(10)(b)2]

Chemical Test Refusal*

2nd Offense (Within 10 years)

[343.305(9) (am))

Lifetime Disq
[343.315(2)(¢)]

2 year revocation™?

[343.305(10) (b)3]

After 90 days or, if 2
or more offenses within
5 years, 1 year)

[343.305(10) (b)3]

Chemical Test Refusal*

3rd Offense (Within lifetime)

[343.305(9) (am)]

Lifetime Dis
[343.315(2)(c)]

3 year revocation?

[343.305(10) (b)4]

After 120 days or, if 2
or more offenses within
5 years, after 1 year
[343.305(10)(b)4]

Using a CMV to make, dispense,
or distribute drugs feloniously

Varies depending
upon drug crime

Lifetime Disq
[343.315(2)(e)]

1 year revocation

[343.31(1)(),(3) (@]

After 15 days
[343.10(2)(a)4]

! Fines, forfeitures, jail and revocation/suspension penalties are doubled for a person convicted of OWT when a person under 16 years of age was in the vehicle at the time of the offense.
[343.30(1q)(b)4m and (3)(e), 343.305(10)(b)4m, 343.31(3)(c), 346.65(2j)(d),(2q)and(3m)] For third and subsequent regular OWT offenses, fines are also increased according to blood alcohol level.

[346.65(2)(9)]

21f AC meets or exceeds .08 or the prohibited alcohol concentration as defined in 340.01(46m), or involves the detectable presence of restricted controlled substances, the offense is punishable
under 346.63(1) or 346.63(2)(b), with CDL disqualification under 343.315.
* Additional fees, assessments and surcharges will apply.

! Prior offenses counted include injury or homicide by intoxicated motor vehicle use, and other OWT-related offenses committed after January 1, 1989, or the date specified in the relevant statute.
*License subject to 24-hour seizure if AC > 0.0 or if driver refuses to take an AC test. [343.305(9)(a),(am)].

“No occupational license can authorize the operation of a commercial motor vehicle during the time of CDL disqualification. [343.10(2)(c)]

7 Fines, jail penalties and revocation periods are doubled if a pregnant woman is present in the vehicle at the time of the offense. [343.31(3)(f), 940.09(1b), 940.25(1)(b)]

5 Plus OWT $355 surcharge [346.655].

?The vehicle owned by the offender and used in the offense may be immobilized or equipped with an ignition interlock device (IID), or the offender’s operating privilege for class D vehicles may
be restricted to operating only Class D vehicles equipped with an IID. [343.301(1)(a), 343.301(2)(a), 343.305(10m)].

1 Only offenses committed on or after July 1, 1987, are counted [343.315(2)(c)].

Note: Similar convictions in other jurisdictions may cause a driver to lose her or his Commercial Driver License.

CMV = Commercial motor vehicle
OWTI = Operating while intoxicated

Disq = Disqualified (cannot drive CMV or get CDL-OCC)

OCC = Occupational license

CDL = Commercial driver license

AC = Alcohol concentration

"H" = Hauling hazardous materials requiring placarding [343.125] at time of offense

SOURCE: DOT-Burean of Transportation Safety; DOT-Office of General Counsel
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CASE LAW UPDATE

IMPLIED CONSENT LAW

State v. Verkler, 2003 WI App 37, 260 Wis. 2d 391,
659 N.W.2d 137. This decision reaffirms the well-
established rule that an individual does not have a right to
counsel in the implied consent setting. The court of
appeals concluded that at no time did the officer in this
case expressly assure or implicitly suggest that the defen-
dant had a right to consult with his attorney before
deciding whether to submit to a chemical test. The fact
that the officer allowed the defendant to talk with his law
partner (who was a passenger in defendant’s car) at the
scene of his OWI arrest did not translate into a sugges-
tion that he could then talk to his law partner at the
station about whether to take the chemical test.

SEARCH AND SEIZURE

State v. Larson, 2003 WI App 150, 266 Wis.2d 236,
668 N.W.2d 338. The court of appeals concluded that an
officer’s act of placing his foot across the threshold of
an individual’s doorway, thus preventing the individual
from closing the door, constituted an illegal entry under
the Fourth Amendment. Here, an officer received a
dispatch to look for a possible intoxicated driver. After
learning the license plate number and obtaining the
address of the vehicle’s registered owner, the officer
responded to the defendant’s home. While the State
argued that the entry was justified based on the exigent
circumstances exception to the warrant requirement, the
court reaffirmed established case law that held a warrant-
less home entry cannot be justified simply because
evidence of the defendant’s blood alcohol level might
dissipate while the officer obtains a warrant.

State v. Colstad, 2003 WI App 25, 260 Wis. 2d 406,
659 N.W.2d 394. The court of appeals reaffirms the rule
set forth in State v. Griffin, 183 Wis.2d 327, 515 N.W.2d
535 (Ct. App. 1994); namely, that an officer may perform
an investigatory stop of a vehicle based on a reasonable
suspicion of a non-criminal traffic violation. In so
holding, the court rejected the defendant’s argument that
police must possess probable cause before conducting a
stop based on suspicion of a civil infraction.

SENTENCING ISSUES

State v. Jorgensen, 2003 W1 105, 264 Wis. 2d 157,
667 N.W.2d 318. The Wisconsin Supreme Court held
that district-by-district judicial sentencing guidelines are
constitutional. At the defendant’s sentencing hearing,
both the prosecutor and defense counsel based their
arguments on the guidelines established pursuant to
statute for their judicial district. After hearing the argu-
ments, the circuit court sentenced the defendant, explicitly
referencing the guidelines. On appeal, the defendant
argued that the guidelines violated her rights to due
process and equal protection because they increase
sentencing disparity on the basis of the geographic
location of the offense. The supreme court rejected this

argument, concluding that the guidelines serve to reduce
disparity among judicial districts. As such, the circuit
court’s reliance on the guidelines reflected a proper
exercise of its sentencing discretion.

State v. Kuechler, 2003 WI App 245, 268 Wis. 2d
192, 673 N.W.2d 335. Upon conviction for his seventh
OWI offense, the defendant was sentenced to a period
of confinement and ordered to pay a fine of $8,852.
The defendant claimed that the sentencing court errone-
ously exercised its discretion and violated his constitu-
tional rights by arbitrarily imposing a fine according to
district sentencing guidelines and by failing to consider his
ability to pay the fine imposed. Relying on Jorgenson, the
court of appeals reiterated that it was not error for the
sentencing court to make reference to the guidelines
when it sentenced the defendant. It was, however, error
for the sentencing court to impose the fine without first
ascertaining the defendant’s ability to pay. Thus, the case
was remanded to the trial court to determine whether the
defendant was able to pay the fine imposed.

State v. VanRiper, 2003 WI App 237, 267 Wis.2d
759, 672 N.W.2d 156. The court of appeals held that a
Department of Transportation (DOT) certified driving
transcript is admissible evidence and sufficient to establish
a defendant’s repeater status as an element of the offense
beyond a reasonable doubt in an OWI/PAC prosecution.
The court of appeals concluded that if a teletype is
admissible and sufficient evidence of prior offenses in a
sentencing proceeding, it logically follows that the proof
requirements in both settings should be the same. A
defendant’s driving record is a public record and is
admissible as an exception to the hearsay rule as a record
which DOT is required to maintain for each motor
vehicle licensee pursuant to statute.

BLOOD TEST ISSUES

State v. Erickson, 2003 WI App 43, 260 Wis. 2d
279, 659 N.W. 2d 407. The court of appeals concluded
that the warrantless blood draw in this case satisfied the
factors enumerated in State v. Bobling, 173 Wis. 2d 529,
494 N.W.2d 399 (1993). Specifically, the court held that
in the absence of an atrest, probable cause to believe a
suspect’s blood contains evidence of a drunk-driving
violation or crime satisfies the first prong of Bobling.
Here, the officer knew there had been a serious crash that
killed one individual. The defendant admitted to the
officer that she had been on her way home from a party
where she had been drinking when she crashed her
vehicle into the other vehicle. Further, the officer and
emergency personnel detected an odor of intoxicants on
the defendant. The court concluded that based upon the
totality of the circumstances, there was probable cause to
believe that the defendant’s blood contained evidence of
a drunk-driving crime, which justified a warrantless
blood draw prior to arrest.

SOURCE: University of Wisconsin Law School Resource Center on Impaired Driving
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