Graduated driver license (GDL) points and convictions

​(en español)

​Demerit points double​​

Demerit points double on 2nd and subsequent convictions for moving violations when the driver, regardless of age, has an instruction permit, probationary license or no license at all. Points do not double for equipment violations under Wisconsin Statute 347​.

​Accumulation of 12 to 30 points within 12 months results in suspension for 6 months. If total point accumulation is more than 30 points within 12 months, suspension is for one year.

General GDL provisions​​​

The Graduated Driv​er License (GDL) law took effect September 1, 2000. GDL provisions apply to all drivers under age 18 who obtain an original driver license. New drivers under age 18 must complete driver education, pass the driving skills test and provide sponsorship. Additionally, GDL requires the driver to meet the following criteria:

  • Be conviction free for 6 months prior to GDL issuance.
  • Hold the instruction permit for at least 6 months.
  • Certify 30 hours of supervised behind-the-wheel experience (minimum), of which at least 10 hours must be at night.

A license will be canceled if the Division of Motor Vehicles (DMV) receives a conviction for a violation committed by a driver under age 18 who obtained a GDL and who was not 6 months violation free at the time of the GDL issuance. The driver must be 6 months violation free to reapply for the license.

​The GDL Violations Prohibiting Issuance of Original Probationary License chart defines those violations/convictions which will prevent license issuance or extend the hours and passenger restriction period for a driver under 18 years of age.​

Driver Information Section
P.O. Box 7983
Madison, WI 53707-7983

Email Wisconsin DMV email service​​​
Phone (608) 264-7447
Fax (608) 267-3812