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Effective with February 2017 Letting 
 
 

WISCONSIN DEPARTMENT OF TRANSPORTATION DIVISION OF 
TRANSPORTATION AND SYSTEM DEVELOPMENT 

 
SUPPLEMENTAL REQUIRED CONTRACT PROVISIONS 

 
I. Prevailing Wage Rates, Hours of Labor, and Payment of Wages 

II. Payroll Requirements 
III. Postings at the Site of the Work 
IV. Wage Rate Distribution 
V. Additional Classifications 

 
 

I. PREVAILING WAGE RATES, HOURS OF LABOR AND PAYMENT OF 
WAGES 

 
The U.S. Department of Labor (Davis-Bacon Minimum Wage Rates) attached hereto 
and made a part hereof furnishes the prevailing wage rates pursuant to Section 84.062 
of the Wisconsin Statutes. These wage rates are the minimum required to be paid to 
the laborers, workers, mechanics and truck drivers employed by contractors and 
subcontractors on the construction work embraced by the contract and subject to 
prevailing hours and wages under Section 84.062, Stats. Apprentices shall be paid at 
rates not less than those prescribed in their apprenticeship contract. 
 
While the wage rates shown are the minimum rates required by the contract to be paid 
during its life, this is not a representation that labor can be obtained at these rates. It is 
the responsibility of bidders to inform themselves as to the local labor conditions and 
prospective changes or adjustments of wage rates. No increase in the contract price 
shall be allowed or authorized on account of the payment of wage rates in excess of 
those listed herein. 

 
Pursuant to Section 16.856 of the Wisconsin Statutes, the prevailing hours of labor have 
been determined to be up to 10 hours per day and 40 hours per calendar week Monday 
through Friday. If any laborer, worker, mechanic or truck driver is permitted or 
required to work more than the prevailing number of hours per day or per calendar 
week on this contract, they shall be paid for all hours in excess of the prevailing hours 
at a rate of at least one and one-half (1 1/2) times their hourly base rate of pay. All 
work on Saturday, Sunday and the following holidays is to be paid at time and a half: 

 
January 1 
Last Monday in May 
July 4 
First Monday in September 
Fourth Thursday in November 
December 25 
The day before if January 1, July 4 or December 25 falls on a Saturday, and 



Page 2 of 3  

The day following if January 1, July 4 or December 25 falls on a Sunday. 
 

All laborers, workers, mechanics and truck drivers shall be paid unconditionally not 
less often than once a week. Persons who own and operate their own trucks must 
receive the prevailing truck driver rate for the applicable type of truck (i.e. 2 axle, 3 or 
more axle, articulated, euclid or dumptor) he or she operates, plus an agreed upon 
amount for the use of his or her truck. Every owner-operator MUST be paid separately 
for their driving and for the use of their truck. 

 
 

II. PAYROLL REQUIREMENTS 
 

All contractors and subcontractors must submit weekly Certified Payrolls and 
Compliance Statement verifying that all laborers, workers, mechanics and truck drivers 
working on the project have been paid the prevailing wage rates for all work performed 
under the contract required by Section 84.062 of the Wisconsin Statutes. 

 
 

III. POSTINGS AT THE SITE OF THE WORK 
 

In addition to the required postings furnished by the Department, the contractor shall 
post the following in at least one conspicuous and accessible place at the site of work: 

 
a. "NOTICE TO EMPLOYEES," which provides information required to be 

posted by the provisions of Section 84.062 of the Wisconsin Statutes. 
 
b. A copy of the U.S. Department of Labor (Davis-Bacon, Minimum Wage 

Rates). 
 
c. A copy of the contractor's Equal Employment Opportunity Policy. 

 
All required documents shall be posted by the first day of work and be accurate and 
complete. Postings must be readable, in an area where they will be noticed, and 
maintained until the last day of work.  

 
 

IV. WAGE RATE REDISTRIBUTION 
 
 A contractor or subcontractor performing work subject to a Davis-Bacon wage 

determination may discharge its minimum wage obligations for the payment of both 
straight time wages and fringe benefits by (1) paying both in cash, (2) making 
payments or incurring costs for bona fide fringe benefits, or (3) by a combination 
thereof. Thus, under the Davis-Bacon a contractor may offset an amount of monetary 
wages paid in excess of the minimum wage required under the determination to satisfy 
its fringe benefit obligations. See 40 USC 3142(d) and 29 CFR 5.31. 

 
 

V. ADDITIONAL CLASSIFICATIONS 
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Unlisted classifications needed for work not included within the scope of the 
classifications listed may be added after award only as provided in the labor standards 
contract clauses (29CFR 5.5(a)(1)(ii)). The contracting officer shall require that any 
class of laborers or mechanics, including helpers, which is not listed in the wage 
determination and which is to be employed under the contract shall be classified in 
conformance with the wage determination.  

 
The contracting officer shall approve an additional classification and wage rate and 
fringe benefits therefore only when the following criteria have been met: 

 
a. The work to be performed by the classification requested is not performed by a 

classification in the wage determination; and 
 

b. The classification is utilized in the area by the construction industry; and  
 

c. The proposed wage rate, including any bona fide fringe benefits, bears a 
reasonable relationship to the wage rates contained in the wage determination. 
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