CHARTER WISCONSIN NON-DRIVER ADVISORY COMMITTEE Version 11/10/2020

PURPOSE

Create an advisory forum to discuss Wisconsin's transportation system to facilitate mobility, safety and access for Wisconsin's <u>non-driving populations</u>¹.

WORK

The Committee and its members will:

- Assess current transportation needs and barriers for Wisconsin's non-driving populations
- Develop recommendations that facilitate affordable and equal access to public transportation that aid economic and workforce development
- Identify public policy changes that will accommodate innovation and new technologies
- Review state agency and local transportation programs to understand their focus, purpose, and use
- Identify funding needs and priorities for non-driving populations
- Assess opportunities to coordinate and maximize existing funding

ROLES AND RESPONSIBILITIES

The committee will be comprised of state agencies, stakeholder organizations and private sector partners. This committee will directly support WisDOT's focus on providing a safe and efficient multimodal transportation system including:

- Addressing rural transportation challenges
- Addressing urban transportation challenges
- Improving travel options that cross jurisdictional boundaries
- Improving mobility management and transportation coordination
- Increasing transportation capacity for non-drivers—including expansion or creation of public transit systems, shared-ride systems, specialized or human services transportation, and

¹ Non-driving populations are defined as aging adults, students, low-income individuals, those with physical, mental or intellectual/developmental disabilities, or those who prefer not to drive

leveraging other public or private options that can strengthen the overall transportation network.

• Supporting bicycle and pedestrian facilities and plans

Committee members are expected to:

- Attend meetings or send a delegate
- Provide the member organization's perspective on non-driver issues
- Support a facilitated open forum for rich and collaborative discussion and policy recommendations
- Spend time outside of Committee meetings developing analyses as needed

The Department of Transportation Division of Budget and Strategic Initiatives Administrator, Aileen Switzer, along with Tami Jackson, and Denise Jess will chair the Committee meetings.

ANNUAL ASSESEMENT

In support of continued excellence, the Committee will annually assess its value and effectiveness by answering the following questions:

- Does this governance structure effectively address its purpose and expected outcomes?
- Are the right stakeholders included in the governance process?
- Are Subcommittees functioning effectively to support the needs of the Committee?
- What communications and feedback mechanisms are in place? How are they supporting our work and how could they do so more effectively?

After this assessment, Committee members will be able to recommend changes to the Committee's structure and functioning – including frequency and structure of meetings – to improve and update the Committee's effectiveness.

MEETINGS

This committee will meet biannually for two years, and then re-evaluate for frequency. Agendas will consist of information-gathering and decision-making in support of member priority topics, relevant projects, and subcommittee work. Ad hoc Subcommittees may set their own schedules but are expected to be available to report to the Advisory Committee. All meetings will be inclusive and accessible. To request an accommodation or for inquiries about accessibility please contact the lead identified below.

Co-Chair: Aileen Switzer, Tami Jackson, and Denise Jess Lead: Andrew McFadden

EXTERNAL MEMBERSHIP

36 Stakeholder Agencies: 1000 Friends of Wisconsin ADRC of Barron, Rusk, and Washburn County Department of Workforce Development **Disability Rights Wisconsin** FHWA - Wisconsin Division Great Lakes Inter-Tribal Council Greater Wisconsin Agency on Aging Resources (GWAAR) League of Wisconsin Municipalities Milwaukee County Transit System Namekagon Transit Safe Kids Wisconsin Southeastern Wisconsin Regional Planning Commission The Arc Wisconsin University of Wisconsin Milwaukee Dept. of Urban Planning WCS - Community and Reintegration Services West Central Wisconsin Regional Planning Commission Wisconsin Association of Mobility Managers Wisconsin Bike Fed Wisconsin Board for People with Developmental Disabilities Wisconsin Council of the Blind & Visually Impaired Wisconsin Council on Physical Disabilities Wisconsin Counties Association Wisconsin County Human Service Association Wisconsin Department of Children and Family Wisconsin Department of Health Services Wisconsin Department of Public Instruction Wisconsin Department of Veterans Affairs Wisconsin Economic Development Association Wisconsin Office of the Commissioner of Insurance Wisconsin Professional Police Association Wisconsin Public Transportation Association (WIPTA) Wisconsin Regional Training Partnership (WRTP/BIGSTEP) Wisconsin State Legislature Wisconsin Technology Council Wisconsin Towns Associations Wisconsin Transit Riders Alliance

APPOINTMENT

Membership will be recommended by WisDOT Division Administrators and DBSI. The WisDOT Secretary's Office reserves the right to add or remove members of the Committee to maintain or

enhance the functioning of the Committee in consultation with the co-chairs and participating state agencies.

SUBCOMMITTEES

Subcommittees may be formed, as needed, to conduct Committee business and to help inform the Committee on specific areas of concern. Subcommittee membership will be determined by subject matter expertise, as well as recommendation by the Secretary's Office, Division Administrators and the DBSI Administrator. Each subcommittee will have an identified lead and point-of-contact.

AMENDING THE COMMITTEE CHARTER

The Secretary retains the right to change this Charter. The Committee can submit requests to the Secretary and or the DBSI Administrator to amend this Charter. The Secretary will consult with the Committee prior to making any changes to the Charter.