
―Nothing astonishes men so much as  

common sense and plain dealing.‖ 
    R.W. Emerson 

 
Plain Dealing is published quarterly by the Wisconsin        
Department of Transportation, Division of Motor   
Vehicles, Bureau of Vehicle Services, Dealer and 
Agent Section. 
Lynne Judd, Administrator 
Anna Biermeier, Director 
Chuck Supple, Section Chief 
We welcome your questions and comments.   

Contact Nancy Passehl, Editor, Plain Dealing, DOT 

Dealer and Agent Section, P.O. Box 7909, Madison, 
WI 53707-7909, (608) 266-1425, fax (608) 267-0323; 
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 WisDOT uses electronic mailing lists to pass 

along updates, newsletters , law changes and 

other useful information. If you haven’t       

already, sign up for the dealer listserv at: 
 

www.dot.wisconsin.gov/business/dealers/

listserv.htm 

 

A new listserv for  lenders and third party 

agents can be found at: 
 

www.dot.wisconsin.gov.business.dealers.financial

-inst.htm#lenderlistserv 

LISTSERV reminder  

 

E 
ffective January 1, 2010, Wisconsin’s lien fee will increase from $4 to $10, as 

part of the 2009-2011 Biennial Budget, Wisconsin Act 28. This fee increase   

affects all liens, whether submitted electronically or on paper, dealer sale or  

private party. For dealer sales, the date of delivery determines whether the new or old 

lien fee applies. 

 

In order to allow agents seven business days to complete these transactions                

electronically, the new fees apply to electronic title transactions started on or after    

January 15, 2010.  

 

If the lien transaction is started before January 15, 2010, the $4 lien fee will 

apply, even if the application is completed after that date. 

Any lien transaction started after January 15, 2010, will be subject to the 

$10 lien fee.   

based on the date the new transaction is started.  

  

Any application mailed in for manual processing must be accompanied by the            

appropriate lien fee based on date of delivery, and a completed Mail to DOT form,     

listing a valid reason for not processing the transaction electronically.  If the date of sale 

is prior to January 15, 2010, WisDOT will modify the fee as described above. 

LIEN FEE 

INCREASES 

Effective October 1, 2009, Wisconsin law, specifically Act 28; created language        
explicitly stating that DOT may maintain any title or other information in an automated 
format and regard this as the original and controlling record, not withstanding the 
printed version of the same record.  The electronic record maintained by DOT is the 
official vehicle title record. Stay tuned as this law opens the door for more electronic 
initiatives. 

WisDOT—DMV record trumps all 
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Arbitration program—Porsche Cars North America—certified 

. 

The arbitration program for Porsche Cars North America, Inc. has been certified by WisDOT as meeting the              

requirements of the Wisconsin Lemon Law.  The CAP—Motors Program, administered by DeMars& Associates, Ltd, 

of Waukesha, provides the informal dispute resolution service.  

 

Facts about arbitration: 
Arbitration is an informal way for consumers to resolve complaints without going to court. The consumer and        

manufacturer provide an arbitrator, often a volunteer from the community, with information about the ownership       

experience.  With a certified program available, Porsche consumers must use it before suing under the Lemon Law.      

Non-certified programs are voluntary for the consumer.  A consumer does not have to accept a decision made by the 

arbitrator, but it is binding upon the manufacturer. 

 

Facts about the Lemon Law: 
Wisconsin’s Lemon Law applies to vehicles purchased or leased new and still under warranty. If the vehicle has a     

serious defect that the dealer can’t fix in four attempts, or if it has one or more defects that prevent the consumer from 

using it for 30 or more days (does not have to be consecutive) within the first year, it may be found to be a lemon.    

Consumers may be eligible for a replacement vehicle or refund.  For more information, go to: 

www.dot.wisconsin.gov/safety/consumer/rights/lemonlaw.htm. 

From time to time dealers have sent gift baskets to a staff member as a token of appreciation for a 

job well done.   

 

Although we are honored to be recognized for outstanding customer service, the code of ethics    

prevents a state employee from accepting such a gift.  If you want to recognize someone for the job 

they did, a letter to the Dealer & Agent Section would be appreciated.  The employee will be recognized which can lead 

to a Performance Plus Award for the employee. 

No gifts please 

 

 

Priority service option eliminated 
WisDOT has eliminated the option for Priority Service issuance of title and registration products. Effective 

January 4, 2010, applications requiring manual processing should be mailed to the regular service address: 

 

Wisconsin Department of Transportation 

P.O. Box 7949 

Madison, WI 53707-7949 

 

 

 

The Dealer and Agent Section has named several new dealer investigators to replace outgoing investigative 

staff.  Joining the Milwaukee office of the Field Investigation unit are Investigators Grace Oby and Alicia Gilmore-

Bhatti.  Grace and Alicia both serve dealers in Milwaukee County, along with Inv. James Bartnik. Inv. Jan Keyser joins 

the staff in the Madison Hill Farms office.  She is currently working with dealers in Waukesha, Dodge, Jefferson, and 

Washington counties.  The unit is also joined by Inv. Jody Ullman, who is responsible for running Wisconsin’s odometer 

fraud program. For a listing of our field investigation offices and map, and contact information see: 

 

  http://www.dot.wisconsin.gov/safety/consumer/rights/dealeroffices.htm. 

http://www.dot.wisconsin.gov/safety/consumer/rights/dealeroffices.htm
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Wisconsin’s vehicle inspection & maintenance (I/M) program has been reduced to nine stations.  Burlington and 

Cedarburg stations closed October 1, 2009. All remaining stations are closed on Wednesdays.   

 

The new station hours are: 

 

 Monday, Tuesday, Thursday, Friday 8:30 a.m. – 5:30 p.m. 

 Wednesday CLOSED 

 Saturday 8:00 a.m. – 1:00 p.m. 

 Sunday CLOSED 

 

Also, the I/M program has begun issuing cost waivers for On-board Diagnostics (OBDII) vehicles.  This change is due 

to a reinterpretation of state law, and we currently are modifying our administrative rule to harmonize it with the law.  

By and large, the waiver process remains unchanged.   

 

 

 

Effective January 1, 2010, more vehicles will be subject to inspections.  Biennial inspections will be required for 

model year 2007 and newer vehicles that: 

are powered by diesel fuel; and/or 

have a  grossed vehicle weight rating (GVWR) between 8,501 pounds and 14,000 pounds 

These vehicles will be able to receive inspection at any of the nine remaining inspection stations. 

 

 

 

Help your customers meet their emissions inspection requirements conveniently   

 

The recent Burlington and Cedarburg inspection station closures leave the Wisconsin Vehicle Inspection Program with 

nine stations none of which are located in Ozaukee County or in western Kenosha and Racine counties. 

 

That’s why we’re informing motorists that they can drop by a remaining station on their schedule – even before they 

receive an inspection notice.  Please help us get the word out. 

 

 

 

From the WisDOT website: 

Vehicles subject to emissions inspection may fulfill the inspection requirement up to 180 days prior to their li-

cense plate renewal date.  You can determine whether your vehicle is due for inspection within the next 180 

days by entering your license plate on WisDOT’s plate inquiry page. If the inquiry result page includes the 

statement ―IM test is needed,‖ your vehicle’s plate renewal date falls within the next 180 days.  You do not 

need a renewal statement in order to receive your inspection – simply visit the station registration desk before 

entering an inspection lane. 

 

 

 

Questions on this article?  Please contact Steve Hirshfeld at 608-266-2267 or send an e-mail to 

Stephen.hirshfeld@dot.wi.gov. 

 

Emission changes  



Lien processing mandatory for lenders 

As of July 1, 2010, non-individual lienholders will be required to electronically process lien add and release         

transactions for their Wisconsin customers.  A financial institution may be exempt from this requirement if they 

added 48 or fewer liens in the previous calendar year. Newly established non-individual lienholders will have 30 days 

to comply with the processing requirement. 

 

If a financial institution is exempt and chooses not to electronically process, there will be a manual processing fee per 

application submitted to WisDOT.  A non-exempt financial institution will be assessed the processing fee, plus a   

surcharge for each application that could have been processed electronically.  The manual processing fee and        

surcharge amounts will be established by rule. 

 

Some transactions may be exempted, due to technology limitations.  Liens added as part 

of a title transaction, such as a repossession or transfer of ownership, are not subject to 

the requirement, but may be processed electronically if the lienholder’s processing system 

allows. 

 

 As motor vehicle dealers, retail sales transactions must still be processed for customers. 

  

Salvage inspection requires WI salvage title 

W 
isconsin dealers must apply for a Wisconsin salvage title when holding the vehicle for resale if: 

 

The current Wisconsin title does not have a salvage title brand or: 

 

The out of state title has a salvage title brand or: 

 

The reassignments on the Wisconsin salvage title are full. 

 

Wisconsin inspectors may only accept a valid Wisconsin salvage title when performing a salvage inspection.  

 

Wisconsin dealers cannot apply for a Wisconsin salvage title if the vehicle already has a Wisconsin salvage title 

unless the reassignments are full, or for another valid reason, such as a non-conforming title. 

 

Wisconsin dealers may apply for a Title Only in the name of the dealership if the vehicle is salvage but has not al-

ready been issued a Wisconsin title.  

 

Heavy vehicle registration reminders 

Heavy vehicle plates 10,000 lbs and over and the current registration stay with the vehicle upon transfer of          

ownership. 

 

Fees should be pro-rated for the first year of operation. 

 

If the customer is operating annually and applying in October, November or December you must include the   

following years registration fees with the pro-rated fee for the current year. This will allow the customer to have a 

valid registration from the date of sale through the following year. If the next year’s registration fees are not     

included WisDOT may need to contact you for additional fees which may delay your products. For heavy vehicle          

registration questions please contact 608-266-1466. 
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A & A Scooter Inc., Dallas, TX – License renewal      

denied due to failure to provide adequate records required 

for   renewal. 

 

Auto Haus on Velp, Green Bay – License suspended for 

two days and Special Order issued for failure to pay off 

the liens on seven vehicles received on trade within the 

required 14 days. 

  

Gibbons, Thomas, Junction City – Salesperson license            

application denied based on failure to disclose a prior 

criminal conviction. 

 

Hagedorn, Timothy, Wausau – Salesperson license       

application denied due to issuance of unsatisfied bad 

checks to DOT as  former owner of Tim’s Auto Sales. 

 

 

 

 

Rosen Nissan Inc, Milwaukee – Special Order issued       

enjoining dealership from employing unlicensed            

salespersons and engaging in bird-dogging. 

 

Sanchez Auto Sales, Madison – Application for retail 

dealer license denied for unfitness and for failing to disclose 

prior criminal convictions on the dealer license application. 

 

Sunshine Auto, Menasha – Special order and one-day      

license suspension for failure to inspect vehicles offered for 

sale and for violations of an existing special order.         

Conditional License issued. 

 

Tairi, Bajram, Milwaukee – Special Order issued enjoin-

ing Mr. Tairi from participating in referral selling or facili-

tating motor vehicle sales by an unlicensed salesperson. 

DOT Enforcement Actions 

DOT Citations 

 

 

 

 

Gilbertson, Terry, Holmen – Three counts of Operating 

as an Unlicensed Dealer. Pled guilty to one count and       

assessed a $438.00 forfeiture. Two counts were dismissed. 

Halimi, Danny, Oak Creek – Former F&I manager for 

Amato Cadillac (Milwaukee) indicted on six counts of 

bank fraud. Mr. Halimi was extradited from Florida and  

convicted in Federal Court of two counts of Mail/Wire 

Fraud and sentenced to 15 months in federal prison, four 

years probation and $347,495.53 in restitution. 

Herman, Chad, Francis Creek – Citations issued for     

Failure to Obtain Title, and Failure to Junk with Intent to 

Defraud.  Default judgment entered and Mr. Herman    

ordered to pay $160.80 on count 1 and $249.00 on charge 

2 as well as $86.10 restitution to WisDOT . 

 

 

 

 

Ochowicz, Tanner, Oshkosh – Former owner of Tanner’s 

Custom Auto charged with five counts of counterfeiting  

certificates of title.  Mr. Ochowicz pled no contest to one 

count and remaining four counts were reduced to Criminal 

Damage to Property, to which he also pled no contest.     

Ordered to pay $1,986.65. 

Wallace, William, Ontario – Cited on four counts of        

Operating as an Unlicensed Dealer and four counts of     

Failure to Transfer Title. Pled No Contest to one count of 

Operating as an Unlicensed Dealer and ordered to pay 

$753.00 and two counts of Failure to Transfer Title and   

ordered to pay $160.80 per count; five counts were          

dismissed. 
 

Wilke, Daniel, Shawano – Charged with three counts of  

Acting as an Unlicensed Dealer; convicted of one count and 

ordered to pay $750.00 forfeiture; remaining two counts 

were dismissed. 


