

July 2023 V. 34, no. 3

Article Index

- Voluntary dealer training July 18 2023
- Vehicle availability in advertising
- Emissions waiver fee increase July 1 2023
- Quarterly report
- FIU enforcement actions

Voluntary dealer training event Tuesday, July 18, 2023,



The department is offering a voluntary dealer training program on Tuesday, July 18, 2023, at 10:00am, online via Microsoft Teams. This voluntary training is intended for salespersons, general managers, financing specialists, or anyone who is involved in selling motor vehicles or completing motor vehicle purchase contracts and title applications. The class is approximately four hours long, with a break for lunch.

The training will cover the following topics:

- Title transfers and odometer statements
- Vehicle inspections and the Wisconsin Buyer's Guide
- The use of dealer plates
- Advertising best practices
- Completing the Motor Vehicle Purchase Contract and MV11
- Mandatory display laws and electronic processing requirements*

If you are interested in attending this training, please email <u>dealertraining@dot.wi.gov</u> and provide your name, the name of your dealership/organization, and contact information.

Questions? Email <u>dealertraining@dot.wi.gov</u>.

. . .

^{*} This training **does not** cover electronic processing or using the eMV PARTNER system. You can learn more about <u>electronic processing and eMV PARTNER</u> on our website.

Vehicle availability in advertising



Advertising vehicles not yet ready for sale can leave a negative impression with consumers and has led to dealer complaints. So, when should a vehicle be advertised for sale by a dealer? The answer depends upon the vehicle in question.

When the vehicle is used, before a vehicle is offered for sale it must be inspected and have a Wisconsin Buyer's Guide displayed (Wis. Admin. Code. ch. Trans 139.04(6)). If the vehicle does not yet have a Buyer's Guide, it cannot be advertised.

New vehicles do not require a buyer's guide, but they must be available within a reasonable amount of time, which the department considers to be within 7 business days of the ad being posted. If the new vehicle will not be available within a reasonable amount of time, the ad must clearly disclose the earliest date that vehicle would be available (Wis Admin. Code ch. Trans 139.03(10)).

Emissions waiver repair cost limit increased to \$1,053 – effective July 1, 2023

The repair cost limit for all model year vehicles subject to emissions testing increased to \$1,053, effective July 1, 2023. This figure is adjusted annually by the DNR per Ch. NR 485.045.

Vehicles subject to emissions testing that continue to fail may be eligible for a cost waiver if actual costs of emissions related repairs exceed the repair cost limit. Only repairs that are related to the vehicle's cause of failure can be used to apply for a cost waiver. Costs covered by any warranty or costs to repair/replace emissions control equipment that has been removed, modified, or disconnected are excluded.

The owner must have emissions related repairs performed on the vehicle at a recognized repair facility to qualify for waiver consideration. A list of recognized repair facilities may be found at wisconsinvip.org.



The application form to apply for Recognized Repair Shop status may also be found at the above link. Wis Admin. Code ch. Trans 131.02(39) includes franchised NEW car dealerships as recognized repair facilities.

Quarterly Report

The following numbers have been generated from the Dealer and Agent Section (DAS) Quarterly Report. This data is from the **fourth quarter** for the fiscal year beginning June 2022 (April through June 2023).

Field Investigation Unit (FIU)

The following statistics represent the Field Investigation Unit's compliance efforts, community outreach and enforcement actions.

Fourth Quarter Activity

Complaints closed 460 Dealer inspections 274 Educational presentations 0

APU/DLU

The Agent Partnership Unit (APU) answers phone calls from dealers, government agencies, financial institutions, gas stations, grocery stores and various other types of agents throughout the state. These agents electronically process either title and registration, or renewal registration applications on behalf of the DMV.

The Dealer Licensing Unit (DLU) issues and renews multiple business license types. Individual licenses are issued to individuals who are selling or purchasing vehicles on behalf of dealerships. DLU answers dealer licensing questions as well as provides information about consumer harm and how to file a dealer complaint to the general public.

Fourth Quarter Activity

APU phone calls 10,197 DLU phone calls 5,254 Business licenses issued 989 Individual licenses issued 4,676

Lemon Law

DMV receives telephone and email inquiries from consumers, dealers, lawyers, manufacturers, and law makers. The inquiries range from questions about the specifics of the Lemon Law, to assisting all facets of pursuing a claim.

Activity Fourth Quarter

Lemon Law inquiries 75

FIU Enforcement Actions

Connect with us on social media for breaking news





Published by the

Wisconsin Department of Transportation.

Division of Motor Vehicles, Bureau of Vehicle Services, Dealer and Agent Section.

Kristina Boardman, Administrator Reginald Paradowski, Deputy Administrator Ann Perry, Bureau Director (BVS) Mark Rather, Section Chief (DAS)

Bryon Gerick, Vehicle Emissions Program, Supervisor Maura Schifalacqua, Field Investigation Unit, Supervisor Shin Lin Tung, Business and Consumer Services Unit, Supervisor Tristan Kloss, Editor

> Wisconsin Department of Transportation Dealer & Agent Section PO Box 7909 Madison WI 53707

dealers.dmv@dot.wi.gov Phone: (608) 266-1425

