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   As of July 30, 2012, Wisconsin takes its 

first giant step into the electronic title 

world. Since October 2009, Wisconsin 

law states DOT may maintain any title or 

other information in an automated format 

and consider this as the original and       

controlling record, notwithstanding the 

printed version of the same record.  DMV 

hopes that in the near future, most titles 

will be held electronically allowing   

transmission of electronic records while 

reducing our current reliance on paper. 

   In accordance with the recent       

amendments to Wisconsin statute 342.09

(1)(a), DOT will begin delivering the    

certificate of title to the lien holder as of 

July 30, 2012.  This means big changes 

for Wisconsin residents and  businesses 

alike, but it is the first step to meet the 

larger electronic title goal. 

   DMV‘s plan is to electronically deliver 

the majority of titles to financial           

institutions and receive electronic        

notification of release of liens. During    

the initial phase, DMV will use            

service providers to deliver these         

titles to participating lenders, eventually           

accounting for the majority of the titles 

issued in Wisconsin with a loan. 

   While DMV is still planning some   

details of how this process will work,    

dealers can look forward to this change 

and the positive impacts for business. 

Electronic titles and additional options for 

electronic lien release will expedite    

commerce and the speed that dealers   

receive clear titles, reduce fraud and   

provide real-time access to accurate and 

timely vehicle history.  

   The Dealer and Agent Section has    

developed forms and procedures for  

trade-in vehicles with outstanding liens.    

Electronic records and titles held by lien 

holders have greater protection against 

consumer fraud. 

   DMV will continue to release more  

details and  information to dealers,     

Wisconsin consumers and financial     

institutions as we approach July 30th. If 

you need more information, visit: 

liens.dot.wi.gov.  

    Please feel free to email your questions 

and suggestions to Allison Benton at:  

Allison.Benton@dot.wi.gov. 
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mailto:Allison.Benton@dot.wi.gov


  

 

 

 

Supple Retired as Chief 

    DMV congratulates  Chuck Supple who retired from 

the Department on May 19th after 32 years of state   

service. During his 23-year tenure as Chief of the 

Dealer & Agent Section, Chuck was a driving force in 

positioning Wisconsin as the leader in used car         

disclosure laws, new car lemon laws, dealer             

franchise laws, title branding, electronic titling,         

and vehicle emissions inspections.   

    Chuck‘s goal has been, ―Keeping    

dealers and agents in business doing   

business right.‖ By partnering with    

business, consumer advocates and     

regulators, he advanced motor vehicle 

consumer protection, while fostering a 

healthy business climate in Wisconsin.   

    Chuck is a true public servant who  

acted on a belief that all people with a 

stake in motor vehicle sales and safety are 

DMV customers entitled to excellent   

service. His customer service focus garnered him the 

first-ever American Association of Motor Vehicle    

Administrators‘ Customer Service Award for              

his part in creating "Wise Buys,‖ a consumer                 

education partnership with Wisconsin car dealers:                  

http://www.watda.org/wisebuys.   

    Forward-thinking in addressing the impacts of       

technology on vehicle sales, Chuck was instrumental   

in passage of a Wisconsin law to protect consumers 

who buy vehicles on the Internet. He also worked 

closely with online sellers, eBay and TrueCar, to bring 

their business plans in line with dealer licensing laws.  

Under Chuck's direction, DMV recently expanded its 

offering of online products and services, and             

successfully implemented a law requiring car dealers to 

process titles electronically.  

    Chuck advanced DMV‘s national presence by       

collaborating with other states in their efforts to emulate  

 

Wisconsin regulations and strengthened relationships 

among regulators nationwide. Chuck  served on      

committees for the American Association of Motor  

Vehicle Administrators and served as President and 

Vice-President of the National Association of Motor 

Vehicle Boards and Commissions.  

    Chuck spoke at several national conferences on    

motor vehicle Internet sales and title and 

odometer fraud.  He appeared on the   

programs "Inside Edition" (in a story 

about undisclosed vehicle recalls), and 

the "McNeil Lehrer Report" (regarding 

Wisconsin's exemption from the FTC's 

Used Car Rule). He also was quoted    

several times in "Automotive News."  

    As valuable as his contributions to 

dealer regulation was Chuck‘s           

commitment to building a strong       

team and helping employees grow. 

Chuck said, ―I am good at hiring people who are 

smarter than I am.‖ That faith in the capability of others 

allowed staff to be creative, take risks and build        

experience. 

    A former employee said, ―My time working for the 

Dealer and Agent Section was the most satisfying         

of my professional life, and has allowed me to         

move on to new positions with confidence and skill. 

Chuck understands how to motivate others by providing 

challenges, fostering independence, celebrating success, 

giving credit where it‘s due, and sharing responsibility 

when an employee‘s sincere efforts miss the mark. He 

is an excellent leader and mentor.‖ 

    Chuck hopes to stay active in the motor vehicle      

industry in some capacity.  We wish him the best in his          

retirement and thank him for his dedication to         

Wisconsin consumers and businesses and his colleagues 

in the DMV and nationwide. 
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“Emphasis will be placed on planning, prioritizing, customer service and quality                 
improvement. We will need to continually examine our programs. These are new and         
exciting times and I couldn’t be more thrilled to be the chief of this section.”                              
- Chuck Supple,  April 1989,  when asked about the future of the section. 

Did you know…. during the 23 years that Chuck was the DAS Section Chief,  there have been four DMV      

Administrators, six Bureau of Vehicle Services Directors, and 26 starting quarterbacks for the Chicago 
Bears. 



  

 

 What’s News….      Notes 

New DAS Chief Announced 

From the desk of  the Bureau of Vehicle Services Director, Mitchell Warren: ―I‘m pleased to announce the             

appointment of Ann Perry as the new Chief of the Dealer and Agent Section. Ann comes to us from the Missouri 

Department of Economic Development. For the last 16 years she has been the manager of the Development        

Finance unit. Prior to joining the Missouri DED, Ann was employed in the automotive manufacturing  industry as a 

Human Resources Manager. In addition to being a seasoned civil service manager, Ann has tremendous experience 

in working with stakeholders from private industry and the community. I‘m confident that Ann will be a great    

addition to the DAS team.‖ Ann joined us on April 30th. 
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WisDOT Hosted NOTFEA/MOTFEA Conference 

The Dealer and Agent Section hosted the combined National and Midwest Odometer and Title Fraud Enforcement 

Association‘s annual conference in Green Bay on June 3 – 7. The NOTFEA/MOTFEA sponsored conference was a 

gathering of civil investigators and sworn officers from around the country responsible for investigating motor   

vehicle odometer and title fraud. This year, the conference had an international flavor by including industry and 

enforcement representatives from Canada and Germany. Green Bay Packer President Mark Murphy and Green Bay 

Packer Director of Player Development Rob Davis joined us for special presentations. The conference allowed us 

to showcase the professionalism and progress of WisDOT to agencies around the country.   

New Janesville Wheel Tax 

Please be aware that the City of Janesville started collecting a $10 municipal wheel tax at the beginning of April for 

most autos and light trucks customarily kept in the city. The tax is effective 4/1/2012 for current registrations     

expiring on or after that date, and 4/2/2012 for base plate issue. Collect the wheel tax with first-time vehicle       

registrations and registration renewals only. Do not collect the wheel tax when plates are being transferred unless 

the registration is also being renewed.                

For more information, see: www.dot.wisconsin.gov/drivers/vehicles/title/wheeltax.htm.  

 

Service Fee Reminder for RV Dealers 

There has been some confusion lately regarding what type of unit a dealer can charge a service fee for.  Simply put, 

if you can drive it off the lot a service fee is authorized. If the unit needs to be pulled off the lot, a service fee is not 

authorized. A motor vehicle dealer license is required to sell or lease units with a motor, thus the dealer service fee 

is authorized like any other motor vehicle. An even easier way to remember:  No Motor = No Fee.   

Note on Dealer Plates 

Recently the question of what to do if a new dealer plate is stolen or lost has arisen.  The benefit of the new dealer 

plate is that law enforcement can check the owner of a dealer plate directly as opposed to contacting DMV and 

waiting for a response.  The limitation is this now means if one dealer plate is entered into their system as lost or 

stolen, they will all show up with the same status. DMV is aware of this concern and is working on developing a 

solution. In the mean time, one possible option is to notify your local law enforcement agency a dealer plate has 

been stolen and have them complete a report for documentation purposes only. It is important that law enforcement  

not enter the license plate into their TIME system. This will provide you with documentation the plate is missing in 

case it is misused while allowing you to use the rest of your dealer plate inventory without any problems. If you 

have any questions please contact Michael Domke: MichaelL.Domke@dot.wi.gov or Allison Benton:                 

Allison.Benton@dot.wi.gov in the Dealer and Agent  Section.   

http://www.dot.wisconsin.gov/drivers/vehicles/title/wheeltax.htm
mailto:Allison.Benton@dot.wi.gov


  

 

Some Tips for Dealer Plate Use 

    What is permissible use of a dealer license plate?  The answer not only affects your likelihood of being ticketed 

for improper use, but also the general public's perception of your plate use. According to Wisconsin statute         

section 341.47(1), vehicles of dealers, distributors, manufacturers and transporters are exempt from general             

registration requirements when a vehicle: 

   (a) is actually offered for sale by a dealer, distributor or manufacturer; or 

   (b) is in transit from the factory to a distributor or dealer or from the  

dealer to the purchaser; or 

   (c) is being used by a manufacturer primarily for trial tests; or 

   (d) is being repossessed, being reconditioned for resale or being  

foreclosed or resold. 

This means that dealer license plates may be used for personal or business purposes provided the vehicle is actually 

owned and offered for sale by the dealer. 

    Dealers should display dealer plates whenever a vehicle they own and are offering, or will be offering for sale is 

operated on the highway. Recently, some police departments have been seeing a high volume of dealer plate usage 

without Wisconsin Buyers‘ Guides displayed.  If a vehicle has been inspected for sale, be sure the Wisconsin     

Buyers‘ Guide is readable from the outside. Demonstrator and executive vehicles need not display a Wisconsin 

Buyers‘ Guide until they are removed from demonstrator or executive service.  

    If you bring vehicles to detailers or other businesses to have work done: 

Display a dealer plate while traveling to and from your dealership.  

Protect your plates by having your staff drop off and pick up vehicles and have them take the plates with 

them. 

 Avoid releasing a plate overnight or over a weekend. 

Ask the detailer to return the plate to you while the work is being done if the vehicle will be at the detailers 

shop for several days.   

    If a dealer's spouse, not employed at the dealership, is using one of the dealership's cars to run personal errands, 

is this proper use of a dealer plate on the car? The answer to this question is ―Yes‖ - if the car is owned and offered 

for sale by the dealership, and the spouse resides in the dealer's household, it is proper to use a dealer plate. 

    More guidelines for proper use of dealer plates: 

Display a Wisconsin Buyers‘ Guide or Monroney label on any vehicle using a dealer plate as proof that the 

vehicle is owned and offered for sale by the dealership. (Not required for wholesale transactions.)   

Make sure that vehicles used by employees for personal use are available for display at the dealership     

during business hours. 

Use dealer plates on consignment vehicles.  

Use dealer plates on loaner vehicles if the vehicle is actually offered for sale. Service customers are        

potential sales customers. 

Don't use dealer plates on a tow truck. (See gross weight plates.) 

Don't use dealer plates on a vehicle carrying a load. (See demonstrator plates.) 

Celebrity use of dealer plates at events such as the annual air show in Oshkosh or professional golf           

tournaments is permitted.  Be sure a Monroney label or a Wisconsin Buyers‘ Guide is displayed on each 

vehicle. 

    If you allow your spouse or children residing in your household to use dealer plates, do be certain that the          

vehicle is actually offered for sale and displays a Wisconsin Buyers‘ Guide or Monroney label. While this type of 

use is technically permitted, there has been adverse public reaction to it.  
 

These are some of the fundamentals of permissible dealer license plate use. Remember the key words:     

owned and actually offered for sale by the dealership.   
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What is Material History? 

  Wisconsin Administrative Code Trans 139.04(6) talks 

about disclosure on the Wisconsin Buyer‘s Guide.  The 

Code states that you need to disclose all material     

history, prior use and title brands. Dealers must       

disclose the vehicle‘s prior use (personal use, rental, 

lease, etc.) and if the vehicle has any title brands. But 

what about material history? This portion of disclosure 

is often overlooked.  

  Wisconsin Administrative Code Trans 139.02(10) 

defines something as ―Material" if a reasonable person 

would attach importance to its existence, or a seller 

knows, or had reason to know, that a buyer would   

regard it as important. If a buyer specifically requests 

information, that information is also deemed 

―material.‖   

  If you purchase a vehicle at auction that has some 

cosmetic damage to the bumper, it can   easily be fixed 

by having the 

bumper painted.  

This may be an 

item you don‘t   

disclose on the 

Buyer‘s Guide   

because it doesn‘t 

affect the structural 

integrity or is     

insignificant to the 

value of the vehicle.  

  If a prospective customer asks if you did any repairs 

to the vehicle, the fact that you painted the bumper 

now becomes ―material‖ because the customer        

specifically requests the information. On the flip    

side, if a vehicle has a blown head gasket,                    

a reasonable person would consider that important,     

and it would need to be disclosed without the person 

requesting the information. 

  In this electronic age, many dealers make use of      

information services such as Carfax and Autocheck.  

These reports may give information about issues that 

occurred many years before you acquired the vehicle. 

Often the vehicle may have been in another             

jurisdiction or in an accident.  Once you run the report 

and learn information about that vehicle, it too may 

become ―material.‖ Since you now have information a 

vehicle was in an accident, and a customer asks if it 

was in an accident, you would need to disclose that 

―material‖ information.  

  We have discussed how material history is disclosed 

for the retail dealer. What about wholesale             

transactions?  Wisconsin Administrative Code Trans 

139.04(8) talks about the Wholesale Disclosure       

Requirements.  It states that you need to disclose all 

material history, prior use and title brands just like a 

retail transaction.   

  Many wholesale dealers, or retail dealers wholesaling 

a vehicle, are under the misconception that they do not 

need to disclose any information except for the         

vehicle‘s history       

and title brands.    

In a wholesale      

transaction, you 

need to disclose   

any material history 

of which you have 

knowledge.   

  WisDOT recently 

had a case where a dealer purchased a damaged vehicle 

from a salvage pool auction with a clear title. The 

dealer made significant repairs to the vehicle‘s front 

end, resulting in the vehicle having evidence of repair 

to the structural portion of the unibody. The vehicle 

was taken to auction, and nothing about the repair was 

disclosed.  The buying dealer missed the damage on 

their safety inspection and retailed the vehicle. The 

customer who purchased it had some difficulty with 

the vehicle and filed a complaint with the Dealer and 

Agent Section. An inspection by a field investigator 

easily located the damage, and the dealer had to buy 

the vehicle back.  

(Continued on the next page.) 
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  Your next supply of the Application for Title/Registration (form MV11), will include some changes. The forms 

continue to be printed on secure paper and are now in stock and available from your usual suppliers. You may use 

up your current supply of forms (dated 1/2010)—there‘s no need to throw them out. The revision, dated 3/2012, 

features these changes: 

1. Back of the first (white) ply - contains revised MOTOR CARRIER CLASS information. 

2. Back of the first (white) ply - moved internet information for Special Plates forms to bottom of page, and  

revised wording.   

3. Back of the first (white) ply in Section H – License Plate Types: Recreation, RVT - The WI Dept. of      

Commerce contact information has been changed to the Dept. of Safety and Professional Services.  

4. Back of the first (white) ply in Section H - License Plate Types - removed all Special Plates except PER, 

DIS, VET, AMA, COL, CLS. 

5. Back of the second (pink) ply - contains revised Release of Information wording. 

6. Back of the second (pink) ply – in the Gross Weight 

Fee Schedule: A 14,000 pound row (Farm Trailer 

Plate) was added to the schedule. The new fees 

added are $61.50 in column “F” and $246.00 in   

column “G.” 

7. Back of the second (pink) ply - change to            

Registration Periods: TRAC is now TOR, TRLR is 

now TRL. 

8. Back of the third (yellow) ply - in the Wheel Tax 

section, Janesville has been added. 

9. Back of the third (yellow) ply - in the B Section 

(Vehicle Information), there have been some 

changes under Vehicle Type and License Plate 

Transfers.  

 

Contact these suppliers to order the MV11: 

   GMA Printing         WATDASI Forms 

            (800) 747-4647         (800) 236-7672                           

       www.gmaprinting.com          www.watdasi.com 

 

 

(Continued from Page 5.) 

Recent Changes to the MV11 Form 

    Many thanks to  those who  

         made  this  i ssue of   

   P L A I N  DE AL IN G  
         possible… 

 Jim Bartnik    Cathy McGinnis    

 Allison Benton   Shannon Nicolai 

 Chris Carlsen       Grace Oby 

 Michael Domke    Nancy Passehl 

 Dreher Dysert   Scott Selbach 

 Patrick Fernan   Chuck Supple 

 Alicia Gilmore   Phil “Tom” Thomas 

 Jim Harden   Jody Ullman 

 Jan Keyser   Michael Urban 

 Joseph Knight      Vikki VanDeventer 

 Patty Mayers   Mitchell Warren 

 Kim McCluskey   Brandon Wilbik  

Contributors’ Corner 
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  If  you have any doubt about whether some            

information is ―material,‖ WisDOT always              

recommends: disclose, disclose, disclose! This will 

help avoid unhappy customers that may file a        

complaint. If you have any questions, call your local 

field investigator. A map of the investigator‘s          

territories is located at: http://www.dot.wisconsin.gov/

safety/consumer/docs/fiu-territories-map.pdf.    

  There were two problems with this transaction: of 

course the retail dealer missed the damage on their  

inspection, but also the dealer that repaired the vehicle 

did not disclose the ―material history‖ - that repairs 

were made to the vehicle‘s unibody. If this information 

had been disclosed at auction, the buying dealer would 

have had the information to properly disclose when the 

vehicle was retailed.  

http://www.dot.wisconsin.gov/safety/consumer/docs/fiu-territories-map.pdf
http://www.dot.wisconsin.gov/safety/consumer/docs/fiu-territories-map.pdf


  

 

Consistent vehicle pricing – Whenever a dealer licensee advertises a reduced price on a new or used motor       

vehicle (via any marketing model), the same advertised price shall be disclosed on the vehicle throughout the 

sales promotion period.  Additionally, the dealer licensee is liable for any advertised price they promote directly 

or have promoted on their behalf.  

Trade-in value – Advertising a set trade value or a minimum trade value is allowable under TRANS 139.03(4).  

However, advertising a vehicle price in an advertisement which includes the trade value is prohibited under the 

premise it is misleading to assume everyone purchasing a vehicle will have a trade-in. Additionally, an         

advertised price cannot include anything a consumer must contribute to receive that price, such as a trade or 

down payment. For example, ―We‘ll give you $3,000 or more for any trade‖ in an advertisement is okay.   

However, a dealer cannot advertise a vehicle, originally listed at $12,000, for $9,000 in the advertisement with 

a footnote stating, ―Price includes $3,000 trade or down payment‖. 
 

Qualifying rebates – If an advertised price, payment or promotion includes rebates that will not apply to every 

consumer (qualifying rebates), the advertisement must specifically state the TYPE and AMOUNT of the rebate 

per vehicle or promotion.  The TYPE and AMOUNT must be listed near the final promotion price in the main 

advertisement and not solely in a footnote.  Rebate qualifications may be listed in the footnote. 
 

Sign & Drive – Sign & Drive advertising is         

permissible if the only payment required to drive 

a vehicle off the lot is ―tax, title, license and   

service fee.‖ Any situation where a consumer 

may be required to pay more than ―tax, title,   

license and service fee,‖ Sign & Drive may not 

be used. For example, if the advertised payment 

amount includes a $500 College Grad rebate, 

Sign & Drive is prohibited because certain     

consumers won‘t qualify for that rebate.       

However, if the  advertised payment amount only 

includes rebates available to every consumer, 

Sign & Drive can be used. 
 

Range of model years – It is permissible to         

advertise a range of model years as long as you advertise a range of prices and payments, as well. For example, 

used Chevy Malibu‘s ‗05s to ‗09s from $8,999 - $14,999. 
 

Employee pricing – The ―Employee Pricing‖ promotion is interpreted as a manufacturer program, and vehicles are 

offered at the manufacturer‘s employee price.  If an ―Employee Pricing‖ promotion is offered solely by a     

dealership, not a manufacturer, the dealer must disclose this in their advertising by including the following 

statement: ―Not a manufacturer program. Customer to receive (DEALERSHIP NAME) employee‘s pricing.‖  

The dealership must provide evidence of employee pricing policy to Dealer/Agent Investigators if requested to 

validate program.  
 

Dealer rebates – A ―dealer rebate‖ program or incentive is not permitted.  Manufacturers offer ―rebates,‖ dealers 

offer ―discounts.‖ Therefore, dealers are prohibited from offering a ―dealer rebate‖ and must disclose their    

incentive as a ―dealer discount.‖   
  

Vehicle awards – Vehicle awards can be advertised as long as the award source and year are stated in the           

advertisement, and match the year of vehicle being advertised.  It is misleading to advertise a vehicle award for 

any year other than the advertised model year.  For example, if advertising a 2011 Buick Enclave, you can only 

advertise a 2011 award such as ―2011 Consumers Digest Best Buy Award.‖ 
 

 

 

WisDOT Dealer Advertising Guidelines 

(Continued on the next page.) 

Page 7  P L A IN  DEA L I N G  Spring/Summer 2012  

 



  

 

Moped season is upon us! If you are currently licensed as a moped dealer, you can legally sell 
only mopeds. You cannot sell motorcycles. A moped has an engine size of 50cc or less. Before 
you start selling bikes with engines larger than 50cc, you will need to update your dealer license 
to a motorcycle dealer license. You will need a franchise appointment from the distributor in  
order to sell new motorcycles. Franchise appointments are not required for mopeds. 

Guaranteed credit approval – A dealership can advertise this if the dealer is willing to grant credit to everyone. If 

a down payment is required to receive credit approval, the following disclaimer must be included in the        

advertisement: ―Minimum down payment may be required.‖ If receiving credit requires an individual to       

provide a down payment greater than 25% of the final purchase price after discounts and incentives, the dealer 

is not really financing the vehicle and the statement ―Guaranteed Credit Approval‖ becomes misleading.  

Therefore, a Guaranteed Credit Approval promotion is only permitted if the consumer may be required to     

provide a down payment less than 25% of the final purchase price after discounts and incentives. 

(Continued from Page 7.) 
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The Lemon Grove 

experience. With a certified program 

available, Honda/Acura consumers 

must use it before suing under the 

Lemon Law. Non-certified programs 

are voluntary for the consumer. A    

consumer does not have to accept a 

decision made by the arbitrator, but it 

is binding upon the manufacturer.  
 

Lemon Law facts 

  Wisconsin‘s Lemon Law applies to 

vehicles purchased or leased new and 

still under warranty. If the vehicle has a 

serious defect that the dealer can‘t fix 

in four attempts, or if it has one or 

more defects that prevent the consumer 

from using it for 30 or more days (does 

not have to be consecutive) within the    

first year, it may be found to be a       

lemon. If either one of these scenarios 

occur, consumers may be eligible for a 

replacement vehicle or refund.              

 

  The Honda/Acura Certification             

Application for the arbitration program 

is currently under review by WisDOT. 

Once Honda/Acura meets the           

requirements of the Wisconsin Lemon 

Law, they will be certified. The         

Na t iona l  Cente r  fo r  Dispu te             

Settlement (NCDS), will provide the 

informal dispute resolution service. 

When the application is certified, any 

consumer who purchases a Honda/

Acura vehicle, model year 2013 or 

newer, is required to go through the 

arbitration process before otherwise 

enforcing their Lemon Law rights.  
 

Facts about arbitration 

  Arbitration is an informal way for    

consumers to resolve complaints   

without going to court. The consumer 

and manufacturer provide an arbitrator, 

often a volunteer from the community, 

with information about the ownership 

 
When life gives you lemons….  Visit us at: 
http://www.dot.wisconsin.gov/safety/consumer/rights/lemonlaw.htm 

  Sign up to receive Plain Dealing by email at:  

http://www.dot.wisconsin.gov/business/dealers/listserv.htm 

http://www.dot.wisconsin.gov/business/dealers/listserv.htm
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Coffee, Steve dba Northwoods Motor Cars - Rosendale/Menomonee Falls – Sentenced to six and one-half years in 

federal prison, five years supervised release and ordered to pay $2.1 million in restitution as a result of bank fraud.    

Coffee enlisted the assistance of 25 different straw buyers to obtain fraudulent loans over two years. The loans were   

obtained for vehicles on his lot and vehicles already sold to legitimate buyers. 
 

Dembowksi, Reza - Racine - Convicted of Mail and Wire Fraud and sentenced to 10 years in federal prison and three 

years extended supervision. He was also ordered to pay $304,615.00 in restitution. Charged with Mail and Wire Fraud 

for sending in fraudulent advertising receipts to the manufacturer for re-imbursement. In addition, he was creating      

fraudulent college degrees in to qualify for the $400 manufacture rebate for a customer with a college degree. He       

created a fraudulent company to bill the dealership for radio/GPS units that were never installed in the vehicles. While 

employed as a salesperson, these acts cost the dealer hundreds of thousands of dollars.  
 

Grajek, John - Lake Geneva – Sentenced to 120 days in jail with Huber release and $10,005.50 in restitution.          

Misdemeanor charges that were originally filed were dismissed and re-filed as felony charges, including three counts of 

Forgery, one count of Misappropriating ID Info to Obtain Money and one count of Theft in a Business Setting. Charged 

with Theft, Forgery and Misappropriation of ID for forging the name of a elderly woman and stealing her two vehicles 

and then selling them to two dealerships.  
 

Huff, Bradley - Fall Creek – Pled guilty to Receiving Stolen Property and Operating as an Unlicensed Salvage Dealer. 

Community Service agreement to complete 80 hours of community service and restitution in the amount of $3050.00 

ordered. Eau Claire Auto Exchange reported that Bradley Huff stole a Dodge Truck from his dealership a few years    

before. Investigators Nicolai and McCluskey were invited by Eau Claire Police Dept. to assist on a  search warrant of an 

associate of Huffs. Two stolen vehicles were found on the property of Curtis Rye.  One of the vehicles was stolen from 

Eau Claire Auto Exchange.  Rye confessed to stealing it at the request of Huff.  Both were arrested. 
 

Rullman, Billy - Lake Geneva – Sentenced to 5 years probation, $1000 fine and $34,921.40 in restitution. Charged with 

theft by false representation. While employed as a salesperson for Racine Truck in Racine and Miles Truck in Salem, he 

solicited funds from consumers for vehicles that the dealer never owned and kept the money and never delivered any 

vehicles to the consumers.  
 

Rye, Curtis - Fall Creek – Rye pled guilty to Theft-Movable Property and Criminal Damage to Property. He was          

ordered to pay $16,451.06 in court assessments, $14,920.96 in Probation charges and restitution in the amounts of 

$29,525.96 and $14,800.96 with a surcharge of $1,480.10 in two separate counties. Two stolen vehicles were found on 

the property of Curtis Rye.  One of the vehicles was stolen from Eau Claire Auto Exchange.  Rye confessed to stealing it 

at the request of an associate, Bradley Huff.  Both were arrested. 
 

Schuessler, Todd - Black Creek – Sentenced to the following: Charge 1 (Theft);  two years prison (imposed and 

stayed), two years extended supervision, three years probation and 25 hours of community service per week for the first 

year of probation if not employed. Charge 2 (Bail Jumping); one year local jail to run concurrent with Charge 1 and three 

years probation. Todd acquired two trucks (silver Chevy Silverado and a black 2004 Chevy Silverado), The black          

Silverado was not damaged but had a junk status.  He switched the VIN #s from the silver truck to the black and         

registered the black one with a new color of Silver.  A short time later, he sold the it to Jeff‘s Northshore Auto in        

Menasha.  During the inspection, the tech noticed something was wrong with the public VIN, and the dealer called for 

help.  After WSP, NICB and WisDOT DAS inspected the truck, Todd was charged with two counts of VIN tampering 

and one count of false application for title.  He had a significant list of other unrelated criminal charges pending at the 

same time and the three felonies were dismissed but read in.   
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Banks, Arthur dba A and B Auto - Milwaukee – 18 

citations issued for Operating as an Unlicensed Dealer; 

Banks pled No Contest to three of the charges and the 

remaining charges were dismissed. Resulting fines  

totaled $1,500. 

 

Bartel, Alan - Oshkosh – Nine citations issued for 

Failure to Transfer Title. 

 

Bennin, Robert - Manitowoc - Two citations issued 

for Operating as an Unlicensed Dealer and Failure to 

Transfer  Title. 

 

Downs, James - Iola – 11 citations issued for Failure 

to Transfer Title. 

 

Duket, Terrance – Redgranite – 12 citations issued 

for Failure to Transfer Title. 

 

Engen, Larry dba Crawford County Motorcycles - 

Prairie du Chien – Two citations issued for Operating 

as an Unlicensed Dealer and four citations issued for 

Failure to Transfer Title.      

 

Gilbertson, Terry - Holmen – One citation issued for 

Acting as a Motor Vehicle Dealer Without a License. 

 Kearns Motor Car - West Bend – 16 citations issued 

for Failure to Transfer Title within seven business 

days.  

 

McCune, Paul dba Ashley Motors of Kenosha - 

Kenosha – One citation issued for Operating as an 

Unlicensed Dealer 

 

Palmer, Val - Oshkosh – One citation issued for    

Operating as an Unlicensed Salvage Dealer. 

 

Peterson, Faith - West Bend – Six citations issued for 

Failure to Transfer Title. 

 

Rodensal, Timothy - Berlin – One citation issued for 

Failure to Transfer Title within seven business days. 

 

Rohan, Ryan - Black Creek – 30 citations issued for 

Failure to Transfer Title. 

 

Taylor, Benjamin - Green Bay – Five citations issued 

for Acting as a Motor Vehicle Dealer Without a      

License. 

 

Walsh, Brandon - Green Bay – Four citations issued 

for Operating as an Unlicensed Dealer. 

DOT Enforcement Actions 
Allen, Raymond - Greendale - Salesperson's and 

buyer‘s license applications denied due to past         

activities as the former owner of A & K Services LLC. 

Records show Mr. Allen still owes WisDOT for NSF 

checks and motor vehicle registration applications  

submitted with no payment. 

 

Behm, Oliver - Appleton – Application for           

salesperson license denied due to outstanding debt to        

WisDOT for NSF checks written as owner of previous 

dealership Wedge Automotive. 

 

Chuck Van Horn Dodge, Inc. - Plymouth – Special 

Order issued for allowing unlicensed salesperson to 

sell vehicles. 

 

Peterson, Scott - Eau Claire – License application 

denied due to not being employed by a licensed      

dealership. 

 

Reilly, Duane L dba R & R Enterprises of Coloma - 

Coloma – Salesperson‘s license suspended for three 

days for numerous license violations. 

 

Van Horn Hyundai of Fond du Lac - Fond du Lac - 

Special Order issued for allowing unlicensed        

salesperson to sell vehicles. 
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