Wisconsin General CDL Disqualifications

DISQUALIFYING	DISQUALIFY CDL 1st CMV	DISQUALIFY CDL 1st Non-CMV	DISQUALIFY CDL	DISQUALIFY CDL 2nd Non-CMV	
OFFENSES	Conviction	Conviction	Conviction	Conviction	
	Violations on or after 7/1/87 but prior to 9/30/2005				
Operating While Intoxicated (OWI)		N/A	Life		
OWI causing injury					
OWI causing great bodily harm					
OWI causing death	•			N/A	
Commercial Alcohol (CA) .0407	***				
CA causing injury	1 year or. if				
CA causing great bodily harm	HAZ MAT conviction: 3 years				
CA causing death	**				
Operating under influence of controlled substance					
Refusal	•				
Failure to stop/ report accident					
Felony					
Controlled substance felony	Life				
Violations on or after 9/3	30/2005				
Operating While		1 year		Life	
Intoxicated (OWI) Operating with a Prohibited				Life	
Alcohol Concentration (PAC) Blood Alcohol	***	1 year		Lile	
Concentration (BAC)		1 year		Life	
OWI causing injury		1 year		Life	
OWI causing great bodily harm		1 year		Life	
OWI causing death	•	1 year	•	Life	
Commercial Alcohol (CA) .04–.07		N/A		N/A	
CA causing injury	1 year or, if	N/A	Life	N/A	
CA causing great bodily harm		N/A		N/A	
CA causing death		N/A		N/A	
Operating under influence of controlled substance		1 year		Life	
Refusal (IC; ICU)	**	1 year		Life	
Failure to stop/report accident (FSA; FSU; DSP)		1 year		Life	
Felony		1 year		Life	
Driving a CMV when CDL is rev/sus/can/dqf		N/A		N/A	
Causing a fatality/negligent operation of CMV		N/A		N/A	
Controlled substance felony	Life	Life		Life	
Imminent Hazard	As ordered by FMCSA				

Wisconsin General CDL Disqualifications (continued)

SERIOUS DISQUALIFYING OFFENSES:	DISQUALIFY CDL 1st CMV Conviction	DISQUALIFY CDL 1st Non-CMV Conviction	DISQUALIFY CDL 2nd CMV Conviction	DISQUALIFY CDL 2nd Non-CMV Conviction		
Violations on or after 7/1	1/87 but prior to 9/30/20	05				
Speeding 15 or more over the limit Reckless driving		N/A	2 offenses within 3 years: 60 days 3 offenses within 3 years: 120 days	N/A		
Passing illegally						
Improper or erratic lane change	N/A					
Following too closely Moving violation arising from a fatal accident						
Violations on or after 9/3	Violations on or after 9/30/2005					
Speeding 15 or more over the limit		N/A	2 offenses within 3 years: 60 days 3 offenses within 3 years: 120 days	2 offenses within 3 years: 60 days		
Reckless driving				3 offenses within 3 years: 120 days if the conviction results in revocation, suspension, or cancel of CDL holder's license or		
Passing illegally Improper or erratic lane change	N/A					
Following too closely						
Moving violation arising from a fatal accident				non–CMV driving privileges		
Driving a CMV without obtaining a CDL Driving a CMV without a CDL in possession Driving a CMV without proper class/endorsement	N/A	N/A	2 offenses within 3 years: 60 days 3 offenses within 3 years: 120 days	N/A		
Violations on or after 7/1/2016						
Texting while driving CMV	N/A	N/A	2 offenses within	N/A		
Telephone use while Driving CMV			3 years: 60 days 3 offenses within 3 years: 120 days			

RAILROAD-HIGHWAY GRADE CROSSING: DRIVER FAILS TO: Violations on or after 10	DISQUALIFY CDL 1st CMV Conviction 4/2002	DISQUALIFY CDL 1st Non–CMV Conviction	DISQUALIFY CDL 2nd CMV Conviction	DISQUALIFY CDL 2nd Non-CMV Conviction
Slow down to ensure tracks clear Stop if the tracks are not clear Stop before driving onto crossing Drive through crossing without stopping Obey a traffic control device or officer Ensure sufficient	1st offense: 60 days	N/A	2 offenses within 3 years: 120 days 3 offenses within 3 years: 1 year	N/A

Wisconsin General CDL Disqualifications (continued)

FALSIFIED	DISQUALIFY CDL 1st CMV Conviction	DISQUALIFY CDL 1st Non-CMV Conviction	DISQUALIFY CDL 2nd CMV Conviction	DISQUALIFY CDL 2nd Non-CMV Conviction	
Violations on or after 12	Violations on or after 12/21/1995				
Falsified application for a CDL	60 days	N/A	60 days 3rd offense: 60 days	N/A	
Violations on or after 7/1/2016					
Falsified application for a CDL/Issuance	1 year	N/A	1 year 3rd offense: 1 year	N/A	

OPERATING CMV WHILE OUT-OF-SERVICE: Violations on or after 8/1	DISQUALIFY CDL 1st CMV Conviction	DISQUALIFY CDL 1st Non–CMV Conviction	DISQUALIFY CDL 2nd CMV Conviction	DISQUALIFY CDL 2nd Non-CMV Conviction
Operating CMV while out-of-service HAZ penalties apply if violation occurred while transporting HAZ MAT or while operating a vehicle designed to carry 16 or more passengers	1st offense: 90 days HAZ MAT or passenger: 180 days	N/A	2nd offense within 10 years: 2 years HAZ MAT or passenger: 3 years 3rd offense within 10 years: 3 years HAZ MAT or passenger: 3 years	N/A