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"Nothing astonishes men so
much as common sense and
plain dealing."

R. W. Emerson

  1993 will be a year to remember! We're glad
to be able to put this issue of Plain Dealing in
your hands - it's been a year filled with new
developments. Title branding is finally a reality
in Wisconsin,, we've broken new ground with
the Wise Buys consumer education program,
and several manufacturers have had their
arbitration programs certified under the Lemon
Law. Read on for all the details.

This issue is also packed with tidbits of
information and hints to help you handle the
details of your business more efficiently. Hang
on to it for future reference!
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Title branding becomes law
Wisconsin became the 45th state to enact a title branding law when

Governor Thompson signed AB294 on November 18, 1993.  Many of
you deserve a pat on the back for this one - dealers, the salvage industry,
collision technicians, consumer groups - cooperated to work for passage
of this law.

Beginning June 1, 1994, Wisconsin titles will contain a permanent
record of the following information about a vehicle's history:

• Rebuilt Salvage - a vehicle damaged to the extent that the cost to
repair exceeds 70% of its fair market value.

• Insurance Claim - a vehicle that was the subject of a total loss
insurance claim where the damage was greater than 30% but less
than 70% of its fair market value.

• Flood Damage - a vehicle that has been damaged by water to the
extent that cost to repair exceeds 70% of its fair market value.

• Manufacturer Buyback - a vehicle that was repurchased by its
manufacturer because of defects as defined in Wisconsin's (or
another state's) Lemon Law.

• Non-USA Standard - a vehicle that was not manufactured in
accordance with U.S. safety or emission standards.

• Previous Police Vehicle - a vehicle that was used by a law
enforcement agency.

• Previous Taxi - a vehicle that was used as a taxicab or for public
transportation.

Having this information available right on the face of a vehicle's title
will help everyone, including dealers, make the decision whether to buy a
particular vehicle, and at what price.

The law also provides that when an insurance company takes
possession of a vehicle damaged to the extent that the cost to repair it
would exceed its fair market value it is a junk vehicle and cannot be
retitled for use on the highway.

The disclosures required by the title branding law will apply to all
vehicle owners: private citizens, dealers and insurance companies. There
are also penalties for failing, to comply: ranging from a $1,000 forfeiture
for failing to make a required disclosure to a $5,000 fine or five years
imprisonment for failing to apply for a salvage title with intent to defraud.

WisDOT is forming an implementation team to handle the computer
system changes, forms changes and public information campaign that will
be needed in time for the June Ist start date.  If you have ideas that you'd
like the team to consider, please send them to: Vikki VanDeventer,
Wisconsin DOT/Dealer Section, P.O. Box 7909, Madison, WI
53707-7909; or FAX them to (608) 267-0323.
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The Right Way

WisDOT and dealers offer WiseWise BuysBuys

WisDOT and dealers are teaming up to help Wisconsin
consumers buy wisely. The Dealer Section, in cooperation
with dealers from the Wisconsin Automobile & Truck
Dealers Association, has developed WiseWise BuysBuys, a
program that asks dealers to teach consumers about laws
that protect them when they buy from a licensed dealer.
Participating dealers voluntarily display posters and
distribute brochures highlighting advantages of buying from
a dealer who-unlike a private seller-must comply with state
motor vehicle trade practice and consumer protection laws.

Already, nearly 300 dealers have begun distributing
WiseWise BuysBuys, materials-in their showrooms. Dealer
Section announced the program in a news conference at
Thorstad Chevrolet, Madison, last July.

WiseWise BuysBuys may be the first such program in the nation
that gives car buyers information they need to make a wise
purchase-before they buy. The program's tone is new as
well-it informs without putting dealers on trial or
consumers -on the defensive. It discards old notions that
dealer and customer are adversaries, and explains both
parties' responsibilities for making a sound deal.

"The days of Buyer beware are gone. Now the message for
consumers and dealers who want to succeed is Buyer be
wise." said DMV Administrator Roger Cross.  Gary
Williams, President of the Wisconsin Automobile & Truck
Dealers Association agrees, “WiseWise BuysBuys is a win-win
program," he says.  “Informed consumers enjoy the car-
buying experience more and build a better relationship with
their dealer. Everyone wins when consumers make wise,
satisfying purchases."

WiseWise BuysBuys Car Buyer s Guide explains disclosure
requirements and the purchase contract, gives tips for
finding out more about a vehicle, and lists Dealer Section's
Consumer Hotline number, (608) 266-0765, where anyone
can call for advice or help with vehicle purchases or
warranty work.

Licensed dealers can show their customers they do things
"the right way" by becoming a WiseWise BuysBuys dealer. Join
the charter members of the program pictured above at the
news conference announcing the program. Just complete
and send in the order form below, or call the Business
Licensing Unit at (608) 266-1425. You'll receive free
brochures, signs, and a certificate for participating. Please
allow four weeks for delivery.

Photo not available.

Reply Form

❏ Yes, I want to be a WiseWise Buys Buys dealer!
Please send my free posters, brochures and display stand to:

Dealer Name and License Number:                                                                                             

Address:                                                                                             

City, State, Zip Code:                                                                                             

Phone:                                                                                             

Mail to: WisDOT Dealer Section, P.O. Box 7909, Madison, WI  53707-7909
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News In Brief

GM, VW and Audi certified to handle
Lemon Law complaints

General Motors became the first Wisconsin vehicle
manufacturer and the first "Big 3" manufacturer to earn
certification from the state Department of Transportation
for settling Lemon Law complaints. Volkswagen and Audi
were also certified, as was the Better Business Bureau of
Wisconsin's AUTO LINE, which will resolve Lemon Law
complaints against these manufacturers.

Photo Not Available

Dick Bugno (left), General Director of GM North America
Service Operations, accepts Lemon Law certification
plaque from DMV Administrator, Roger Cross.

AUTO LINE provides 125 trained arbitrators who will
determine if a consumer is entitled to receive repurchase or
replacement of a defective car. The program offers
consumers a free, fair, and informal process that will
resolve the problem within 60 days.

Consumers don't need lawyers to use the process and do
not have to accept the arbitrator's recommendation. If the
consumer accepts the arbitrator's decision, the ruling is
binding on the manufacturer. Consumers must use the
arbitration program before they can sue manufacturers who
have certified arbitration programs.

Certification also requires manufacturers to tell vehicle
owners about their Lemon Law rights in warranty materials
that accompany the new vehicle. Wisconsin now has a total
of six manufacturers whose arbitration programs are
certified: General Motors, Volkswagen, Audi, Toyota,
Lexus and Porsche.

The Center for Auto Safety reports that 50,000 vehicles
are bought back annually, compared to only 5,000 buy
backs ten years ago.

Wisconsin's new title branding law will require the
buyback information to be disclosed and recorded on the
vehicle's title so the information is available to potential
future buyers.

Adams, Price and Dodge counties
collect county sales and use tax

Starting January 1, 1994, Adams County began
collecting the 1/2 percent county sales tax. Dodge County
starts April 1, 1994. Price County has been collecting the
tax since January 1, 1993. A total of 45 counties now
collect a county sales tax.

Because county taxes are use taxes, the location where a
vehicle is "customarily kept" determines whether the vehicle
is subject to the tax, regardless of where it was purchased.
All motor vehicles, trailers and semi-trailers are subject to
the tax.

If you would like a chart listing the 45 counties that
collect a county sales tax, call the Dealer Section's Business
Licensing Unit at (608) 266-1425.

Disclosure label and purchase contracts
to change

A work group has been formed by WisDOT to revise and
update the Used Vehicle Disclosure Label and Motor
Vehicle Purchase Contract. Changes in automotive
technology, marketing and legislation have dated them and
given us an opportunity to consider other improvements.
The process has begun and we expect it to take many
months to complete. You'll have at least three months notice
before the revised forms are made available. All printers of
the forms will be included in the process before any
revisions are finalized. Look for more developments in the
next issue of Plain Dealing.

David Williams of the Wisconsin Automobile & Truck
Dealers Association represents dealer perspectives on the
team. We also welcome any suggestions you would like to
make directly. Please feel free to call any of the team
members or fax your ideas to the DAPA Team at (608)
267-0323.
Gary Kastorff (608) 267-2333
David Williams (608) 251-5577
Kevin Konopacki (608) 267-3150
Tom Rastall (608) 789-4634 (La Crosse)

Office of the Commissioner of
Transportation Eliminated

Legislation passed in 1993 eliminated. the Office of the
Commissioner of Transportation January 1, 1994.
Jurisdiction over complaints and petitions for hearings filed
under Chapter 218 of the Wisconsin Statutes has been
transferred to the state Department of Administration's
Division of Hearings and Appeals,
The procedure for handling these cases will stay the same.
Upon receipt of a complaint or request for hearing, the
administrator will assign an administrative law judge to hear
the case. After the hearing, the administrative law judge will
issue a proposed decision. The parties will have an
opportunity to comment on the proposed decision before the
Administrator issues the final decision. The final decision is
subject to judicial review.
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Complaints and requests for hearings should be sent to:
David H. Schwarz, Administrator

Division of Hearings and Appeals
5005 University Ave., Suite 201
Madison, WI 53705-5400

Telephone: (608) 266-7709 FAX: (608) 267-2744

Salvage inspection fee increase
The fee to have a salvage vehicle inspected for road use

increased to $80 March 1, 1994. The $80 plus any
additional title or registration fees due should be made
payable to Registration Fee Trust and sent in with the
application. WisDOT will reimburse $60 to municipalities
for each inspection completed by one of their authorized
officers.

Dealer access to WisDOT registration
records piloted

Thirteen Wisconsin dealers from all parts of the state are
participating in a pilot program allowing direct access to
the department's computer registration records.
Representatives from each dealership attended a training
session in Madison to learn how to use a modem with their
personal computers to dial up the WisDOT mainframe
computer - and interpret the information on the screen. The
pilot test will run six months and lead to recommendations
on the feasibility of offering access to DOT registration
records on a large-scale basis.

Illinois ends reciprocity on demonstrator plates As of May
1, 1993, trucks and trailers displaying demonstrator plates
may operate interstate on Illinois highways only if the
vehicle is not carrying a load. In order to operate a
demonstrator-plated vehicle with a load, you must first
obtain a form of Illinois registration for the vehicle. You
may either:

• Purchase a trip permit from one of these sources:

CICS..................................................... 1-800-233-5588

Transceiver ........................................... 1-800-527-0665

Transcom .............................................. 1-800-848-9100

Jet Permits............................................. 1-800-733-2911

IL Secretary of State..................................217-785-1816

(Note that Illinois restricts the purchase of trip permits to
three per applicant per year.)

OR

• Purchase IRP registration for the vehicle. Contact:
Wisconsin IRP Unit.............................608-266-9900

Loaded vehicles displaying demonstrator plates operating
on Illinois highways without a trip permit or IRP
registration will be subject to citations.

Illinois continues to extend interstate reciprocity to vehicles
displaying Wisconsin Dealer, Manufacturer, Distributor
and Transporter plates if the vehicles are operating without
a load.

State searches for license plate abuse
The state is taking a hard look at the use of

collector/hobbyist, farm, dealer and some truck license
plates to find out if they're being misused.

The department sent a survey to the nearly 700 law
enforcement agencies in the state, asking them what
registration violations they have noticed and how they
enforce vehicle registration violations.

At the same time, the department is surveying parking
lots in the Madison, Janesville, Waterloo and Cross Plains
areas and using computer technology to determine if trucks
are being registered at the right weight and if owners of
collector/hobbyist plates have another noncollector vehicle
registered.

Roger Cross, administrator of the Division of Motor
Vehicles, notes a public perception that license plates are
being abused. "We want to know if this perception is
accurate, because inappropriate registering of vehicles is
unfair to those who pay their fees promptly each year and
means the state has less money to maintain our
transportation system," says Cross.

The parking lot surveys will include a check to determine
if regular farm plates are being used to get to work. Regular
farm plates cannot be used for non-farm occupations. The
surveys will also look at the use of dealer plates. Vehicles
displaying dealer plates must be owned by the dealership
and offered for sale.

By mid-1994, the stud team is expected to recommend
what steps, if any, should be taken to reduce any plate
misuse that may be occurring. If you'd like a reprint of
previous Plain Dealing articles on dealer plate use, call the
Business Licensing Unit at (608) 266-1425.

No ownership transfers for repeat
drunk drivers

A stronger drunk driving law prevents transfer of a motor
vehicle by someone who has been arrested for a third or
subsequent operating while intoxicated (OWI) violation.

If a court places a hold on a vehicle under this law, a
court order is needed to allow the transfer to take place to
any good-faith transferee (including private parties,
repossessors and dealers).
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Policy Briefings

Still "bushing" after all these years
"Bushing" is not including shrubbery with a vehicle

purchase. It's any attempt to increase the selling price of a
vehicle after a contract has been signed by both parties.
Even if the sale at the higher price does not go through, the
attempt itself is bushing. We're seeing an increase in
consumer complaints on this topic. Bushing is viewed by
WisDOT as a serious violation, and normally results in a
special order and forfeiture as well as honoring the original
contract price.

The department took a bushing case all the way to the
Wisconsin Supreme Court and won. The Court upheld the
department's position that the term "willful" merely means
that the failure to perform on the original contract. and
attempt to collect more money was intentional and not
involuntary or accidental, nor did it have to involve fraud or
malice. This decision clarified that bushing occurs even
when the price increase is an attempt to correct an "honest
error" on the part of the dealership. If a representative of
your dealership writes the wrong price in error, you must
absorb any loss and deliver the vehicle at the contract price.

This ruling does not prohibit dealers from correcting
visible math errors on the contract-unless there is some
other evidence to show an agreed-upon price with the
customer. Fraudulent representations by a customer can
also be handled by asking the department to determine if the
contract can be rescinded or modified. The only other time
that a higher price can be charged is when there are specific
provisions written into the contract such as waiver of price
protection.

The bushing prohibition can be harsh medicine for an
unintentional mistake. It is. clearly to your advantage to
educate all dealership employees about bushing and to warn
them that changing the purchase price is not an option to
correct a mistake on a purchase contract.

If you or your staff have any questions regarding this
issue, contact the Dealer Section at (608)266-0765. Please
make that call before you ask your customer for more
money!

What is "as is"?
Marking the "as is" box on a motor vehicle purchase

contract means you, re selling the vehicle without a
warranty. Don't check the "as is" box if you are offering
any kind of dealer warranty. Remember, too, that marking
"as is" does not mean you can sell a car without doing the
pre-sale inspection and completing the used vehicle
disclosure label. It is acceptable to mark both the "as is"
box and one of the new vehicle manufacturer warranty
boxes.

Temporary plates for trucks
Your nonresident customers purchasing vehicles which,

if operated commercially would be subject to registration
under the International Registration Plan (IRP), are eligible
for temporary plates if all three of these conditions exist:

• the vehicle is not operated for commercial purposes
when displaying the temporary operation plate; and

• the vehicle is only being moved from the dealership to
its home base; and

• the vehicle is not hauling a load.

This policy applies to power units having an unladen weight
in excess of 26,000 pounds and to any power unit having
three or more axles regardless of weight.

There is an exception allowing semi-trailers to carry a
load if the power unit is otherwise legal to operate in
Wisconsin and the weight of the combination does not
exceed the gross weight for which the power unit is
registered. This does not apply to operating in California,
which requires a temporary trip permit.

The temporary plate is acceptable because if a vehicle
meets the above conditions, it is not being operated
commercially and therefore is not subject to registration
under the IRP.

Administrative subpoena authority
The department now has the authority to subpoena both

witnesses and documents to secure evidence of violations of
laws it enforces. Under a subpoena a person may be
required to do one or more of the following:

• Appear before the department to answer investigative
inquiries;

• Submit documents and records for inspection and
copying by the department; and

• Submit sworn or unsworn answers in writing to
investigative inquiries contained in the subpoena.

Investigations will normally include an attempt to obtain
evidence voluntarily-and most businesses do comply with
these requests. A department attorney will review each
subpoena request to check that these requirements are met:

◊ The matter being investigated is within the jurisdiction
of the department;

◊ The documents requested are relevant to the
investigation;

◊ The request is definite and understandable; and
◊ The request is reasonable.
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Truth In Mileage Act Update

Conforming title tune-up
Dealers and auctions must follow the same title

requirements that dealers follow when selling
vehicles to other dealers. In general, this means
eliminating the use of the MV2115 Reassignment
form on sales involving a conforming title. The
requirements when using conforming titles are:

⇒ On WI titles having 3 or 5 reassignment
spaces: Reassign ownership and give an
odometer statement on the title. Photocopy the
front and back of the title so the selling dealer
can keep complete signed file copies.

⇒ On WI titles having 3 reassignment spaces but
no reassignment space is available:  Either
reassign ownership and give an odometer
statement on the MV2115 Reassignment form
OR have the selling dealer obtain title in the
dealership's name prior to sale, give the
odometer statement on the title, and photocopy
the front & back of the reassigned title so the
selling dealer can retain complete signed file
copies.

⇒ On WI titles having 5 reassignment spaces but
no reassignment space is available:  Selling
dealer must obtain title in the dealership's name
prior to sale and give the odometer statement on
that title. Photocopy the front & back of the
reassigned title so the selling dealer can retain
complete signed file copies.

⇒ On out-of-state titles: Reassign ownership and
give the odometer statement on the title. If NO
reassignment space is available, the selling
dealer must obtain title in the dealership's name
prior to sale and give an odometer statement on
that title. In either case, photocopy the front and
back of the reassigned title so the selling dealer
can  retain complete signed file copies.

⇒ On salvage titles: The title must be in the name
of the selling dealership prior to sale. Reassign
ownership and give the odometer statement on
that title. Photocopy the front & back of the
assigned title so the selling dealer can retain
complete signed file copies. The buying dealer
must promptly obtain a salvage title in their
dealership's name.

Auction pointers
⇒ The auction name, auction license number, and

auction sale date must be put on the title, MSO,

or other reassignment document for every
vehicle sold through the auction. If there is no
specific area for the required auction
information, it must be printed or stamped on the
document in the left margin immediately adjacent
to the assignment or reassignment completed by
the selling dealer. If there is no space on the back
of the title, print or stamp the information on the
front (being careful not to obliterate information
on either side of the title).

⇒ An auction block ticket can no longer be used to
assign ownership. An auction block ticket which
includes an odometer statement may be used for
the selling dealer's required odometer statement
only when a non-conforming title is involved and
the selling dealer's reassignment of ownership is
completed on the title.

⇒ An auction may act as an agent for a dealer if
the dealer grants the auction such authority by
use of a regular power of attorney. A separate
power of attorney form is required for each
vehicle. Attach the power of attorney form to the
title and odometer statement so that it
accompanies the future title application to DMV.

⇒ If a title doesn't have separate areas for printing
both the dealer's name and the auction agent's
individual name, the hand printed name should
include both as follows: "Bill's Auto Sales by
John Smith, POA." The signature would be John
Smith's.

⇒ An auction cannot sign an odometer statement
as agent for both the seller and buyer of the
same vehicle. Doing so violates odometer laws
because the auction as agent signing an odometer
statement as both the transferor and transferee in
the same transaction is prohibited.

⇒ Retail dealers need prior use information on all
vehicles acquired. Because conforming titles do
not include space for selling dealers to enter
prior use information, it should be furnished to
purchasing dealers on the auction block ticket.

For more information on handling titles and
odometer statements for both conforming and
non-conforming titles, consult your dealership's copy
of the Guide to Wisconsin's Implementation of
Truth in Mileage. To order more copies of this
guide, send $2 (make check payable to Registration
Fee Trust) for each copy to:

WisDOT Dealer Section
P. 0. Box 7909
Madison, WI 53707-7909
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Dealer Alert
The Lac Du Flambeau Indian Tribe is issuing tribal license
plates as of January 1, 1994. The plates are identical to the
Military Group plate except that the top of the plate will
have the Lac Du Flambeau/Ojibwa notation and the tribal
crest will appear in place of the military logo. The tribe will
offer auto plates, ATK plates and MLG plates.
Applications for title and registration should be sent directly
to:

Tribal Attorney: Attention Terry
Lac Du Flambeau Band of Lake Superior
P.O. Box 67
Lac du Flambeau, WI 54538

If you have any questions, please call the department's
Title and Registration Processing Section at (608) 266-
3241.

Don't alter Monroney labels in any way-including
shrinking them in a photocopier-for improved visibility.
Federal law says the Monroney label stays affixed until
delivery to the retail purchaser. Dealers can be fined for
altering them.

Dealer licenses are not transferable. All dealer licenses
are valid only at the location printed on the license. If you
move, you must file an original application for the new
location. An original application is also required if you
change type of ownership (for example, from a sole
proprietorship to a corporation), or if 10% or more of the
ownership of a corporation or partnership changes.

Dealer plates can't be used on vehicles such as wreckers
and courtesy vans or cars that have dealership information,
logo or "Courtesy Car" painted on them. These vehicles are
not offered for sale and should be registered with regular
plates.

Both month and year stickers must be affixed to your
dealer plates. We're getting reports of lots of plates showing
a year sticker only-which could result in a ticket for
improper registration.

Salespeople-your salesperson license number is your
driver license number. It should appear on every purchase
contract you write. A tip we've heard from some
salespeople: have a stamp made up with the number on
it-it's easier on your memory and cuts down the amount of
writing you do.

If you or one of your employees want to sell a personal
vehicle from the dealership lot, be sure it is treated as a
consignment sale. This includes completing a written
consignment agreement, entering the vehicle in the logbook,
inspecting the vehicle and completing a used vehicle
disclosure label.

Unlicensed salvage dealers are under the scrutiny of the
Department of Natural Resources as they step up their
enforcement of air quality standards concerning the release
of freon. If you are aware of unlicensed salvage activity in
your area, please call our Consumer Assistance Hotline at
(608) 266-0765

Criminal Actions

Larry T. Beasley, former sales manager for Ideal RV and
Auto in Eau Claire, pleaded guilty to one count of

embezzlement and was sentenced to five years probation, 900
hours of community service and $17,000 restitution. The

investigation began with a consumer complaint filed with the
Dealer Section by a person who said the dealership had not

paid off the loan on his trade-in as agreed.

James B. Burke of Juneau, was found guilty of three counts
of theft by fraud and five counts of odometer tampering and
was sentenced to 90 days in jail, three years probation and $2,
100 restitution. His accomplice, James Theusch of Allenton,
was convicted of one count of theft and sentenced to 45 days
in jail, two years probation and $2,500 restitution. The men
were accused of purchasing high mileage cars from dealers
and rolling the odometers back before re-selling them at
inflated prices.

Daniel DeValk of Milwaukee, was found guilty of
misdemeanor odometer tampering and fined $170.

Gerald R. Dobbe, Jr. former owner of Dobbe Motors,
Rosholt, was charged with two counts of federal bank fraud.
He entered into a plea agreement and was sentenced to 15
months in prison, a five-year term of supervised release, and
ordered to pay restitution of $378,839 to two banks.

Mhomed (Mickey) Govani of Milwaukee, pleaded guilty to
one charge of acting as a motor vehicle dealer without a
license and was fined $331.

Chris Gunderson of Milwaukee, pleaded guilty to two
charges of acting as a motor vehicle dealer without a license
and was fined $662.

Howard B. Johnson, who worked for Ideal Auto in Eau
Claire, was sentenced to three months in prison, three years
of supervisory release and ordered to pay $20,000 restitution
to consumers after pleading guilty to one count of odometer
tampering and one count of mail fraud. He allegedly removed
500,000 miles from the odometers of 12 cars.

Kenneth Sanders, former owner of Midway Motor Mart in
Chippewa Falls, was sentenced to a year in prison, a year of
probation and was ordered to make $47,000 restitution to
consumers, after pleading guilty to two counts of odometer
tampering. According to court records, Sanders removed
more than 1.2 [million miles from the odometers of 28
vehicles during a three-year period.

Westside Auto, Appleton, entered into a deferred prosecution
agreement and paid a $500 fine for possession of three or
more vehicles with the Vehicle Identification Number (VIN)
tag removed.
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1993 Licensing Actions
A and J Automotive, Oostburg-wholesale license was suspended for 30
days and a Special Order was issued for unlicensed retail sales and
salvage fraud.

Bob Adams Collectibles, Ltd., Caledonia-A Special Order was issued
for failing to promptly pay money owed to the owners for the sale of
consignment vehicles. The order requires that a $50,000 surety bond be
posted.

Auto Sport, La Crosse - A Special Order was issued for allowing a
salesperson to buy vehicles with his funds and make it appear as if the
vehicles were purchased by the dealership; and failing to enter vehicles
in the used vehicle log book. The dealership also agreed to pay a $2,500
civil forfeiture.

Badger Auto Sales, Milwaukee - A 60-day license suspension and
Special Order were issued for assisting a wholesale dealer's scheme to
sell cars at retail and failing to disclose salvage history,

Ken, Brickner, salesperson for Doucas Motors in Fond du
Lac-Salesperson license suspended for one week and a Special Order
was issued for submitting a fraudulent used vehicle disclosure label to
the department.

Richard Capron, Milwaukee, salesperson for Frank Boucher
Chevrolet, Inc.-A Special Order was issued for acting as an unlicensed
motor vehicle dealer. He also agreed to pay a $300 fine.

Joe Carini Lincoln-Mere, Inc., Waukesha-A Special Order was issued
for selling new Ford vehicles without a franchise and allowing an
individual to conceal unlicensed dealer activities through the use of
their dealer license. The dealership also paid a $250 civil forfeiture.

Downtown Auto Sales, Tomah-A Special Order was issued for
participating in a scheme to conceal the. activities of unlicensed dealers.
The dealership also paid a $250 civil forfeiture.

Eversole Motors, Inc., La Crosse-Dealer signed an Assurance of
Compliance admitting to selling three new motor vehicles without a
franchise and implemented policies and procedures to prevent future
violations.

Helpful Motors, Madison-Dealer signed a stipulation agreeing. to pay
a $250 civil forfeiture for selling vehicles without titles and paying an
unlicensed dealer to, negotiate sales.

Hulick Chevrolet, Stoughton- A Special Order was issued for
continuous violations of "invoice' price advertising without providing
the required disclosure. The dealership also paid a $2,000 civil
forfeiture.

Kaufmann Motors, Milwaukee-Dealer license den ial upheld based on
a criminal conviction for money laundering for which he was sentenced
to four years in prison.

Stan Kaun Scrap Metal, Oconomowoc-Salvage dealer license was
suspended for 30 days and a Special Order was issued for failing to
enter 305 vehicles in the salvage log book.

Allen W. Kipp, Milwaukee-A Special Order was issued for failing to
enter 72 vehicles in the salvage log book and mail in the titles to the

department.

D Laes Motors, Inc., Green Bay-A Special Order was issued for failing
to display used vehicle disclosure labels on vehicles offered for sale-
The dealership also paid a $1,500 civil forfeiture.

Midwest Auto, Inc., Milwaukee-- Wholesale license was revoked and
a Special Order was issued for allowing their books to be used to
conceal unlicensed retail sales.

Milwaukee Cycle Salvage, Milwaukee-Salvage license was suspended
for 17 days and a Special Order was issued for failing to submit junked
titles to the: department.

Namekagon Motor Car Co., Hayward-A Special Order was issued for
acting as an agent/broker for a Minnesota new car dealer while only
authorized to sell used cars.

Richard Parker, Milwaukee-Salesperson license denial was upheld for
past misconduct and fraud when acting as a dealer without a license.

Anthony Pratt, Madison-BID card denial was upheld for prior felony
convictions based on auto theft.

Frank Prekop, Mason, salesperson for Sechen Auto Service-A Special
Order was issued for acting as a dealer without a license and concealing
the ownership of a vehicle. He also paid a $250 civil forfeiture.

John Roberts Enterprises, Oak Creek-Surrendered wholesale dealer
license after an investigation found unlicensed retail sales and salvage
fraud.

Sechen Auto Service, Mason-A Special Order was issued for allowing
a salesperson to buy vehicles with his funds and make it appear as if the
vehicles were purchased by the dealership, and knowingly selling a
vehicle to an unlicensed dealer.

Southern Belle Motors, South Milwaukee-Surrendered dealer license
after an investigation determined the dealer sold a flood damaged
vehicle without proper disclosure.

Victory Salvage, Milwaukee-Salvage dealer license was suspended for
10 days and a Special Order was issued for failing to enter vehicles into
the salvage log book and send in the titles.

Thomas M. Weber, Green Bay, salesperson for I & M RV-A Special
Order was issued for selling a motor home from the dealership lot
without disclosing that it did not belong to the dealer. He also paid a
$250 civil forfeiture.

West Town Auto Plaza, Manitowoc-A Special Order was issued and
the dealership paid a $500 civil forfeiture for selling a new motor
vehicle without a franchise.
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