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Thanks to dealers,
title backlog drops
Turnaround time for title processing has dropped from nearly eight weeks
in 1996 to around three weeks thanks, in part, to dealers who agreed to do
“dealer drops,” delivering customers’ title applications to DMV Service
Centers around the state, rather than mailing them to Madison. Staffing
cuts and a stiff increase in mail-in applications had created a bottleneck in
WisDOT’s main title processing center. The temporary measure reduced
the burden on central office staff by more than 200,000 applications over
two years.

Expansion of the Automated Processing Partnership System (APPS), in
which dealers enter title applications electronically through Computerized
Vehicle Registration (CVR), a third party interface with DMV, has also
reduced the overload. APPS dealers can charge a $17.50 fee to process
titles and provide plates on the spot at the customer’s option. More than
300 APPS dealers now participate statewide, processing more than 5,000
title/registration applications weekly.

Due to the growth of the APPS program, several DMV Customer Service
Centers have already phased out the dealer drop program. Other centers
will eliminate it by January 1, 1999. Dealers still dropping their customer
applications off at service centers are encouraged to sign up for the APPS
program in order to provide their customers with the most immediate title
and registration service. Other alternatives include:

   Ø Regular mail-in service (about three weeks).  Mail the
application to:

Wisconsin Department of Transportation
P.O. Box 7949
Madison, WI 53707-7949

   Ø Priority mail-in service (within one week). Include a $4 service fee
and mail the application to:

Wisconsin Department of Transportation
P.O. Box 7306
Madison, WI 53707-7306

   Ø In exceptional situations, dealers may still wait in line at a
Customer Service Center and pay a $5 counter service fee per
application for immediate processing.

For more information about becoming an APPS electronic title processing
dealer, contact Bev Schwartz, APPS Program Manager, at (608) 267-5253.

“Nothing astonishes men so
much as common sense and
plain dealing.”

R. W. Emerson

Do you find the information contained in Plain
Dealing helpful? Most dealers tell us they do,
but do all your staff see it before it’s filed
away? Remember, nothing in the newsletter is
copyrighted, so feel free to photocopy all you
need. Help your staff keep up with all the law
changes.

Congratulations to Ken Vance Motors of Eau
Claire and Johnson-Fortnum, Inc. of Berlin,
first and second quarter of 1998 winners of
Dealer Section’s  “Right Way” dealer award.
See page 3 for the details. Third and fourth
quarter winners will be announced in the winter
issue of Plain Dealing.
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The Right Way
Unperformed recalls studied

Of 26 dealerships surveyed in summer 1998, an average of
only 11% of used vehicles on the lots of dealerships
franchised for those makes had open campaigns or recalls.

Some 26 dealerships were visited in 14 cities with a total of
29 makes represented. At each dealership, 15 used vehicles
of the make(s) for which the dealership is franchised were
chosen at random. The vehicle identification numbers were
checked against the service/warranty database and any open
campaigns or recalls were noted.

The results ranged from a low of 0 vehicles with open recalls
at seven of the dealerships to a high of 33% of vehicles with
open recalls at one dealership.

The section of Wisconsin’s Administrative Code Chapter
Trans 139 that covers manufacturer recalls requires dealers
to take the following steps before delivering a used vehicle
for which they hold a franchise to a retail buyer:
   � Find out from the manufacturer if the vehicle is the
subject of any unperformed manufacturer recalls.

   � If there are any unperformed manufacturer recalls, either
perform them, or agree in writing to perform them at a time
convenient for the customer, no later than 20 days after
delivery (unless the unavailability of parts or other
circumstances beyond the dealer’s control prevents
performance within that time).

   � Disclose in writing to the purchaser any unperformed
manufacturer recalls.

The dealerships involved in the study all reported that recalls
are checked when a vehicle is first entered into inventory,
even before the pre-sale inspection is done. One of the
dealerships checks all used vehicles in inventory monthly for
open recalls. Their concern is that if a recall is recorded after
the pre-sale inspection is done, they wouldn’t otherwise
know about the recall until after the vehicle is sold and
brought back in for service. (No vehicles with open recalls
were found at that dealership.)

These points clarify some of the most frequently-asked
questions about open recalls:
Ø Trans 139 covers manufacturer recalls. Manufacturers
often refer to these as “Product Recall Campaigns,” or
“Campaign Bulletins.”  “Service Bulletins” and “Special
Service Campaigns” aren’t recalls.

Ø Recall disclosure must be made in writing — in any way
you choose.

Ø Franchised RV dealers aren’t required to perform
manufacturer recalls on the chassis (e.g. Winnebago dealer
with a GMC recall). Dealers must perform recall repairs only
on makes for which they have a franchise.

Ø A dealership does not need to check for recalls on makes
for which it is not franchised at a specific location, even if
the dealer group has that franchise at one of its other
locations. For vehicles offered for sale at a given site, the
dealership will do recalls only for the makes that site is
franchised for.

Ø A Chrysler dealer who is approved to perform Jeep
warranty work is not required to disclose Jeep recalls. Only
franchised Jeep dealers would have to do Jeep recalls.

Issuing Cardboard Temporary Plates
Under the new Mandatory Display Law

· Issue temporary plates only when the customer has no
plate to transfer and is applying for new plates.
(Customers can’t use a temporary plate to allow test-
drives of a car they want to sell privately.)
· The law applies only to cars and light trucks (8,000
pounds or less), not motorcycles or heavy trucks.
· Temporary plates are free for your Wisconsin
customers.
· Out-of-state customers pay $3 for temporary plates.
(See the green instruction sheet sent with your plates for
details on issuing plates to out-of-state customers.)
· You may issue temporary plates to walk-in customers
from private-party transactions if you wish. You’ll need to
collect an application form and fees from them. Refer to
the yellow instruction sheet sent with your plates for
details.
· If you’ve misplaced the instruction sheets shipped with
your plates, call (608) 266-1473 to request another set.

Random Acts of Kindness
Venus Ford in Milwaukee was featured on
The Oprah Winfrey Show on October 19th
which highlighted charitable acts around the
country. Dealer John Sponcia donated a 1991
Ford Mustang to a low-income Milwaukee
woman who was struggling to hold down two
jobs with an undependable car. The woman
received the car on October 22nd after it was
thoroughly quality-tested by Venus Ford staff.
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And the winners are . . .
The Right Way Dealer Award was presented to Ken Vance
Motors, Inc. of Eau Claire for the first quarter of 1998, and
to Johnson-Fortnum, Inc. of Berlin for the second quarter of
1998.

First Quarter 1998
Ken Vance, pictured below with DMV administrator, Roger
Cross, was nominated by field investigator, Tom Rastall for:
¯ Exceptional handling of paperwork and record-keeping
(customers’ applications for title and registration are always
submitted within seven business days).
¯ Having few consumer complaints (complaints are
resolved before being filed with WisDOT, consumers speak
highly of the dealership).
¯ Supporting WisDOT efforts by participating as a Wise
Buys dealer and sponsoring training seminars.
¯ Having a great attitude and always going the extra mile.

The award was presented at Ken Vance Motors by DMV
administrator, Roger Cross. Also on hand were Chuck
Supple (section chief of the Dealer Section), Phil Alioto
(field investigation supervisor) and Investigator Tom Rastall.

DMV Administrator Roger Cross, presents the Right Way
Award to Ken Vance of Ken Vance Motors, Inc.

Second Quarter 1998
The second quarter winner for 1998, Johnson-Fortnum, Inc.
of Berlin was nominated by Field Investigator, Steven Reid
for:
¯ Having no consumer complaints on file (the dealership
calls to discuss matters and ask questions to avoid getting
complaints).

DMV Administrator Roger Cross, presents the Right Way
Award to Dick Fortnum of Johnson-Fortnum, Inc.

¯ Submitting all paperwork on time and having all records
in good order.
¯ Having a well-maintained dealership facility that meets all
requirements (66 years at the same location).
¯ Community service work for adoption of stray animals
(Tony the cat was their ad cat).
¯ Being a 5 Star Chrysler Service Quality Award winner.

DMV Administrator Roger Cross presented the Right Way
Award to Dick Fortnum at the dealership surrounded by
Fortnum’s collection of antique machinery. Also on hand
were Chuck Supple (section chief of the Dealer Section) and
Investigator Steven Reid.

The Right Way Award is presented quarterly to recognize
dealers who set an example for other dealers of the right way
to do business in Wisconsin. The winners are selected by a
team of Dealer Section staff from nominations made by their
co-workers. Any new or used auto/truck or motorcycle
dealer, wholesaler or salvage dealer can be nominated based
on criteria such as:
• Good record-keeping
• Few consumer complaints
• Rapid complaint settlement
• Good attitude
• Partnership involvement with DMV
• Community volunteer work.

See the next issue of Plain Dealing for the winners of the
Right Way Award for the third and fourth quarters of 1998.
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News
Unlicensed dealer penalties increase
Individuals who sell cars or salvage cars and parts without
a license are facing stiffer penalties under a law that took
effect August 1, 1998.

Individuals who operate either as a dealer or salvage dealer
without a license will now face fines of $500 to $5,000.

Previously, persons acting as vehicle dealers faced a $25 to
$500 fine, and illegal salvage dealers could be fined $25 to
$200. The new law didn’t change the provision that allows
unlicensed salvage dealers to be either fined and/or
imprisoned for not more than 60 days.

The law also authorizes law enforcement officers to issue a
ticket for operating as a salvage dealer without a license,
which could speed up the enforcement process.

Oneida tribe to issue license plates
The Oneida tribe will begin issuing its own vehicle
registration effective January 1, 1999. Applications for
title and registration for customers who are eligible for
Oneida tribal registration should be mailed directly to:

Oneida Tribe of Indians of Wisconsin
Compliance Division
3759 W. Mason St.
Oneida, WI 54155
(920) 496-7897 or fax (920) 496-7893

Contact: Tonya L. Smith, Licensing Coordinator

The tribal motor vehicle office issues the plates and
forwards the application to WisDOT with a registration
card so a title can be issued. The same system is in place
for the Lac du Flambeau and Menominee tribes. Their
applications should be sent to:

Lac du Flambeau Band of
Lake Superior Chippewa Indians
Tribal Court
623 E. Peace Pipe Rd., P.O. Box 964
Lac du Flambeau, WI 54538
(715) 588-9600 or fax (715) 588-7930

Contact: R. Terry Hoyt, Tribal Attorney
or

Menominee Indian Tribe of Wisconsin
Licensing and Permit Department
P.O. Box 910
Keshena, WI 54135
(715) 799-5187 or fax (715) 799-4525

Contact: Yvette M. Snow, Director

Washington, Eau Claire Counties
to collect county sales tax
Starting January 1, 1999, Washington and Eau Claire
Counties will begin collecting a ½%  county sales tax.

Because county taxes are use taxes, the location where a
vehicle is “customarily kept” determines whether it is
subject to the tax, regardless of where it was purchased.
All motor vehicles, trailers and semi-trailers are subject to
the tax. The latest revision to the MV11 Application for
Title/Registration includes a table in its instructions listing
local taxes for all Wisconsin counties.

Licenses may be suspended for
failing to pay child support, taxes
All types of dealer licenses, salesperson licenses and Buyer
Identification Cards may be suspended if licensees are
delinquent in payment of child support or taxes.
Legislation passed this year enables the Departments of
Revenue and Workforce Development to work with other
state agencies to suspend occupational and recreational
licenses for non-payment. The Department of Workforce
Development’s authority goes even further. It may seek
suspension of drivers’ licenses and place liens on vehicle
titles for delinquent child support payments.

WisDOT’s first step in complying with the new law is to
collect Social Security numbers and Federal Employer
Identification Numbers (FEIN) for all of our licensees to
ensure accurate record matches. You’ll see a space for this
information on all of WisDOT’s application forms starting
January 1, 1999. Be sure to complete this information
because your license won’t be issued without it.

Late renewal fees collected
It now costs more to renew license plates when paying
after the expiration date. Effective October 1, 1998, a $10
late fee applies to registration renewals for automobiles,
motorcycles, mopeds and light trucks registered at 8,000
pounds gross weight or less. The fee applies to license
plates expiring September 30, 1998, and later.

You can help your customers avoid this fee by noticing the
expiration on plates they are transferring to their new
purchase. If the plates will expire in 60 days or less, send
the renewal fee in with the application for title and plate
transfer. They’ll get their new stickers on time, and
perhaps save $10 as well.
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Policy Briefings
Special policies developed
for dealership groups
Over the past several years, WisDOT has developed
several policies to streamline paperwork and procedures
for dealership groups. For the purpose of these policies,
“dealership group” means two or more licensed dealers
that share majority ownership. Here is a summary of the
policies:
� A dealership group may transfer vehicles between
dealerships in the group without documenting the transfer
on the title or Manufacturer’s Statement of Origin (MSO).
The following evidence of vehicle ownership is required
when applying for title and/or registration:

ü Properly assigned or reassigned title or MSO
showing the legal name of any one of the
dealerships in the group, and
ü Properly completed MV11 form showing the
license number and legal name of the specific
dealership that sold the vehicle.

This policy doesn’t affect motor vehicle logbook
requirements. Vehicle transfers within a dealership group
must be entered in the used vehicle logbook. The policy
also doesn’t affect motor vehicle franchise laws. A
dealership can sell a new motor vehicle only from a
location that has a franchise for that make.

� A salesperson with a valid license under one dealership
in a group may, at the dealer’s discretion, sell vehicles at
any other dealership in the group without needing a
separate salesperson license for each dealership in the
group. (We suggest that salespeople be licensed at the
store where they most often work. The dealer may then
assign them to fill in at any of the stores in the group.)

� A dealership group may maintain all original documents
at one licensed location, with copies at other locations,
upon a written request to WisDOT’s Dealer Section.

� Any dealer in a dealership group may inspect used
vehicles and prepare the Wisconsin Buyers Guide.

� Dealers in a dealership group are exempt from the
shared facility requirements in the Wisconsin
Administrative Code Chapter Trans 138.03 (3) (c). (The
requirements involve separating vehicles belonging to the
different dealerships and providing a copy of the lease and
diagram of how the facility is divided.)

� Dealership group advertising is allowed if the ad shows
the dealers in the group and which franchises are at each
location. A dealership group may use the term “largest” in
its advertising if it says “largest dealer group,” all the
dealerships in the group are named

in the ad, and all other requirements in Trans 139.03 (2)
(b) for using the term “largest” are met.

Wholesale Buyer’s Guide required
When you sell a car to another licensed Wisconsin dealer,
you’re required to provide a completed Wholesale Buyer’s
Guide. This half-sheet form (MV2895) offers some
protection for dealers in wholesale transactions. Sellers at
wholesale are required to make some of the same written
prior use and history disclosures covered by the Wisconsin
Buyers Guide for retail sales.

Disclosure is based on the “reasonable care” standard, just
as it is for retail sales. The selling dealer completes and
signs the form. The buying dealer also signs the form and
both keep a copy for five years. The form does not
accompany the title; it’s for dealer records only.

In auction-to-dealer transactions, the written disclosures
may be incorporated into the auction block ticket.
Disclosures on the block ticket should be the same as the
Wholesale Buyer’s Guide except:
  Ø Additional disclosures may be added, and
  Ø Disclosures of types of vehicles that an auction

doesn’t sell (for example, non-USA standard
vehicles) may be omitted.

Auctions will be allowed to use up their current supply of
block tickets before making these revisions (though some
have already made the changes). WisDOT investigators
are aware that it may still take some time, possibly six
more months, before revised block tickets are in use at all
Wisconsin auctions.

A detailed full-page article on the disclosures covered by
the Wholesale Buyer’s Guide was published in the last
issue of Plain Dealing (Spring 1998). If you can’t locate
your copy, you can order a reprint of the article by calling
Dealer Section’s Customer Service Unit at (608) 266-
1425.

The Wholesale Buyer’s Guide form (MV2895) is available
from the same vendors who produce the MV11
Application for Title/Registration:
Ø Good Morning Advertising....................(800) 747-4647
Ø Reynolds + Reynolds..............................(800) 697-0884
Ø WATDASI Forms.................................  (800) 236-7672

Remember, the Wholesale Buyer’s Guide helps you make
required disclosures to your retail customers — and it only
helps protect you if you use it. Provide one if you’re selling
a vehicle at wholesale, and ask for one if you’re buying a
vehicle.
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Advertising Advice
Advertising 101

We’re seeing a lot of basic advertising violations lately,
often when dealers use an out-of-state advertising agency.
The sample ad above contains some violations.

You can’t use the word “free” in any advertising if receipt
of the free merchandise or service depends on the
purchase of a vehicle or related accessories. In other
words, if you have to buy something to get it, it’s not free.
You may say that something is “included with” a purchase.

If you’re including a trip with the purchase of a vehicle,
you should also be careful to disclose any conditions
placed upon the trip. For example, “air fare not included,”
“hotel reservations in advance - Tuesdays, Wednesdays or
Thursdays only” should be stated in the ad. If you
advertise a trip promotion, you’re obligated to provide the
trip on the terms advertised even if the promoter is
unwilling or unable to fulfill its promises.

Other recent advertising violations include:
R Program Cars — You need to disclose the type of
program (factory executive, daily rental, off lease, etc.) in
order to use the term “program.” Simply calling them
program cars doesn’t adequately disclose prior use and the
fact that the cars are used.

R Invoice Advertising — If you advertise prices as being
an amount over invoice, you must include the following
disclosure: “Actual dealer cost is less because there are, or
may be, factory holdbacks, rebates, incentives or other
discounts to the dealer.”

Call us at (608) 266-1425 with your advertising questions.

FREE VACATION!!
With purchase of a 1999 Rangefinder

House of SUV’s
123 Offthe Road
Anytown, WI 55555

(Offer ends 12/31/98)

Citations Issued
A to Z Auto and Truck Salvage, Elk Mound —
Unlicensed dealer sales.
Alexander, Howard, Sparta — Failing to apply for title.
Ames, Ronald, Lone Rock — Unlicensed dealer sales.
Bengston, Michael, Spring Valley — Unlicensed salvage
dealer sales.
Best, Frank, Eleva — Unlicensed dealer sales.
Caledonia Ford, Minnesota — Unlicensed motor vehicle
dealer.
Car Doctors, Hartford — False odometer statements
and failure to maintain vehicle records. Dealer
subsequently surrendered his dealer license.
Clark, Gerald S., Superior — Failing to promptly apply for
title.
Ebert, Daniel, La Crosse — Failing to apply for title.
Eiland, Virgil dba Grade A Auto Body Repair,
Milwaukee — Unlicensed dealer sales.
Excalibur Automotive Corp., West Allis  — Unlicensed
dealer sales.
Faust Motor Works, Walworth — Unlicensed dealer
sales.
Fink, Daniel R., Port Edwards — Unlicensed dealer
sales.
Gerbitz, Lorry G., Portage — Unlicensed dealer sales.
Godwin, Thomas C., Holmen — Unlicensed dealer
sales.
Korish, Gary, Trempealeau — Unlicensed dealer sales.

Ludwig, Norm, Milwaukee County — Unlicensed dealer
sales.
Maynard, William M. Milwaukee — Failing to apply for
transfer of title.
McClellan, Arden, La Crosse — Unlicensed dealer
sales.
Neick, Don, Mukwonago — Unlicensed dealer sales.
Ramberg, Roger and Betty, Eau Claire — Unlicensed
dealer sales.
River City Motors, Wisconsin Rapids — Unlicensed
dealer sales.
Smith Sales and Service, Deerbrook — Unlicensed
dealer sales.
Soben, Travor, Chippewa Falls — Unlicensed dealer
sales.
Somerset Salvage, Somerset — Unlicensed dealer
sales.
Sukowatey, Gary C., Roberts — Failing to apply for title.
Weber Ray Towing, Waukesha County — Unlicensed
dealer sales.
White, Travis, Milwaukee County — Unlicensed dealer
sales.
Wilson, Davon, Milwaukee County — Unlicensed dealer
sales.
Yaeger Auto Salvage, Schofield — Unlicensed dealer
sales.
Ziebart, Pat, West Allis — Unlicensed dealer sales.
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Paperwork Pointers
.When completing the Salesperson/BID Card Holder
Report portion of your dealer license renewal packet, draw
a single line through the names of those you no longer
employ. We need to be able to read the name in order to
cancel that person’s license, and the name can’t be read
through black magic marker or white-out.

.If a customer has plates to transfer, the month and year
of expiration stay the same. Don’t change them.

.If you deliver a vehicle, the customer’s title and
registration application must be submitted to WisDOT
within seven business days of the delivery. Even if you
haven’t found financing for the customer yet, if the vehicle
has been delivered, the paperwork must be sent in. Note,
too, that if you deliver a vehicle and are unsuccessful in
finding financing for the customer, your dealership
becomes the lender and provides the financing on the
agreed-upon terms.

.Please use the dealer hotline for answers to your title
and registration questions: (608) 267-3646. But please
don’t give that number to your customers. Keeping the
number private is what gives you quick access and shorter
wait times. The public should use (608) 266-1466 for title
and registration information.

.Wisconsin Buyers Guide follow-up — be sure to write
the inspection date on the form. Don’t leave it blank or just
write in the year. Use the date the inspection was actually
done.

.The Wisconsin Buyers Guide must be displayed on the
side window. If it doesn’t fit, you may place it on the
dashboard or rear deck so it is readable from outside.

Dealer Alert
Ø It’s the dealership’s responsibility to make a front
license plate bracket or mounting holes available to your
customers even if the vehicle wasn’t originally equipped
with them. Under Wisconsin law, vehicles that are issued
two plates must display two plates.

ØBeware of providing license plate brackets that block
the state name, or month and year of expiration. Your
customer could be stopped by law enforcement officers
and fined.

Ø All dealer license renewal packets include blank copies
of the latest revision of the Salesperson/Representative
License application form (MV2184 rev. 1294). Please
save the form and photocopy as needed when you hire new
employees. Discard any earlier versions of the form.

Ø The State of Virginia has reported that some blank title
stock has been stolen. The Virginia titles fall in a range of
sequence from E6068541 to E6069000. The sequence
number is located on the front, right center side of the title
and is printed in red. If you obtain one of these titles ,
please contact James F. Lancaster, Assistant Chief
Investigator, Title Fraud Division at (804) 367-6868, or
Peggy Taylor, Quality Control Unit at (804) 367-0077.

Ø Take care when disposing of license plates.
Unscrupulous characters may fish them out of your trash
and use them. Any tickets they get will go to the owner of
record on DMV’s data base (something you wouldn’t want
to happen to your trade-in customers). The safest
procedure is to use a tin snip to cut the plate in half before
discarding it.

Criminal Actions
Berrig, Brian, Waupaca County — As the owner of The
Auto Connection, Berrig was sentenced in Waupaca
County to include three years in prison (sentence stayed),
10 years probation and restitution to victims in the amount
of $62,000 for issuing worthless checks.

Braskett, Walter, Waukesha County — Pled to three
counts of failure to apply for title with intent to defraud,
resulting in a $4,000 fine.

Kairis, William, Fond du Lac — Salesperson convicted
of one count of theft of a movable object. His sentence
was stayed. He is on probation and was fined.

Leonard, Daniel S., Stoughton — Probation was revoked
in the state of New York for activities while employed at
Madison Mazda Mitsubishi.

Sadighozakerini, Masood, Illinois — This dealer (who
was doing business in Alabama as Athens Auto Sales)
was found guilty of one felony count of forgery and one
misdemeanor count of odometer tampering. He was
sentenced to 60 days in jail (stayed), two years probation,
and ordered to pay $26,000 restitution to the victims.

Schmid, Walter, Mt. Horeb — Found guilty of odometer
tampering on one vehicle in Dane County and ordered to
pay a fine of $3,155.

Wilhelm, William O., Manitowoc — Found guilty of a
felony for VIN switching on three vehicles found in his
possession. He received a one year prison sentence
(stayed) and two years probation.
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Dealer Actions
A I II, Inc., Germantown— A Special Order was issued
for allowing an individual to purchase and/or sell a vehicle
with his or her own funds using this motor vehicle dealer’s
license.

Big Bend Motors, Big Bend—A Special Order was
issued for allowing unlicensed salespeople to sell motor
vehicles to retail customers and failing to have evidence of
ownership for vehicles offered for sale.

Chippewa Falls Ford, Chippewa Falls—Dealer signed a
stipulation for a $250 cvil forfeiture for repeated
advertising violations.

Elderon Truck Parts and Truck World, Inc.,
Elderon— A Special Order was issued suspending the
salvage dealer license for six months, suspending the
motor vehicle dealer license for one year, and prohibiting
Donald Schwalbach from employment in any capacity for
either business until January 1, 2003. of Donald
Schwalbach, corporate officer of Truck World, Inc., was
convicted of a felony.

Genova’s Auto Sales, Kewaskum—A Special Order was
issued for failing to record vehicles in the logbook,
improper disclosure and failing to have evidence of
ownership for vehicles offered for sale.

Kairis, William, Fond du Lac—Agreed to a 60-day
suspension of his salesperson license after being convicted
of one count of theft of a movable object.

Mauro Auto Mall, Kenosha—Dealer agreed to a $3,000
forfeiture that was donated to the Kenosha

County Drug Abuse Resistance Education (D.A.R.E.)
Program. The dealer failed to display Wisconsin Buyers
Guides on vehicles offered for sale.

Pete’s Auto Sales, Inc., Milwaukee—A Special Order
was issued for selling vehicles from an unlicensed
location.

Premier Leasing, West Allis— A Special Order was
issued for selling new vehicles without a franchise, failing
to execute consignment agreements, failing to have
complete reassignments, and failing to complete odometer
readings on the Wisconsin Buyers Guides. Dealer agreed
to pay a civil forfeiture of $10,000 for the franchise
violations.

Pro Auto, Eau Claire—A Special Order, citations and a
14-day suspension of the dealer license resulted from
failing to submit title applications and satisfy liens in a
timely manner.

Racine GMC Sales, Sturtevant—A Special Order and
citations were issued for failing to record vehicles in the
logbook, failing to have evidence of ownership for
vehicles offered for sale, failing to keep the logbook at the
place of business during business hours, and failing to
post a sign describing business hours.

T.J. Auto Sales, Madison—Dealer agreed to a civil
forfeiture of $250 for failing to display a Wisconsin
Buyers Guide on vehicles.

Tom Gorak Motors, Milwaukee—dealer agreed to a
$2,000 civil forfeiture for selling vehicles to an unlicensed
motor vehicle dealer.

Wis. Dept. of Transportation
Dealer Section
P.O. Box 7909, Room 806
Madison, WI  53707-7909


