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“Nothing astonishes men so
much as common sense and
plain dealing.”

R. W. Emerson

Take some extratime to enjoy that warm spring
air — your life just got easier! No more trips to
your local DMV Customer Service Center or law
enforcement agency to verify vehicle identification
numbers (VINSs) on out-of-state vehicles — now
you can do it yourself! See the front page article
for details.

Be sure to read thisissue's section “The Right
Way” on advertising. Test your knowledge of
advertising regulations by entering our first
contest. Details are on page 2.
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Verify your own Vehicle
| dentification Numbers

Have you ever had a hard time finding someone, conveniently located,
who can verify the vehicle identification number (VIN) on an out-of-state
vehicle? Most dealers would probably answer — “Yesl”

A new rule (effective April 1, 1992) designates who, in addition to law
enforcement personnel, may perform VIN inspections. Chapter Trans 155 of
the Wisconsin Administrative Code permits the following people to perform
VIN inspections:

- Authorized agents or employees of alaw enforcement agency,
Authorized agents or employees of any state department of
transportation,

An authorized employee or agent of alicensed motor vehicle dedler,
when the vehicleisin the possession of and is offered for sale by the
dedler,

An authorized employee or agent of afinancid ingtitution which isthe
lienholder on the vehicle,

A registered owner of the vehicle, as shown on the title or registration,
when ownership of the vehicle has not changed within 90 days.

How to perform the VIN inspection — the person certifying the VIN:

1. looksat the VIN plate on the vehicle.

2. copiesthe number from the vehicle onto the application for
title/registration (section F on form MV 11 or section D on form MV 1).

3. compares the number on the vehicle to the number shown on the
certificate of title for the vehicle.

4. writeshisor her employer's business name in the space marked
“Vehicle Inspector's Employing Agency Name'.

5. printsand signshisor her name in the space marked “Vehicle
I nspector's Signature.”

Don't sign the VIN certification if:

The VIN plate doesn't match the numbers on the title, OR
The VIN plate or title has obviously been atered.

The vehicle may have been stolen or there may simply have been a clerica

error when the title was issued. Call the DMV Dedler Hotline at (608) 267-

3646 for help.

The MV 11 and MV 1 application for title/registration forms are being
revised to provide separate spaces for the printed name of the VIN inspector,
the printed name of the inspector's employer and the inspector's signature.
Instructions and information on who may perform VIN inspections will also
be contained on the revised forms. Y ou may continue to use your current
supply of application forms by following steps 4 and 5 in the procedure
outlined above.

Y ou won't need to report your list of authorized VIN inspectors to us.
However, it'sagood ideafor you to establish some interna guidelines for
the people you authorize.
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The Right Way

Advertising
Contest:
How many errors can you spot in this ad?

Final Clearance!!

USA Motors Program Cars - Only $8995*

Save $3000!! 1T N
(OFF THE PRICE OF THIS T —— ; ——— FREE
SAME MODEL, NEW) L) Air
@ @ Conditioning!

HURRY LIMITED TIME OFFER!

Wisconsin's Largest Program Car Dealer -

Carefree Cars, Inc.
123 Funto Drive
Bargainville, Wi
(608)555-5555

TAX, TITLE, REGISTRATION AND RUSTPROOFING EXTRA.

“YOUR ? TO HAPPY MOTORING!”

To enter this contest, write down the number of errors, your name, dealership, business
address and phone, and mail or FAX by June 29, 1992, to: Ad Contest, Dealer Section,
PO Box 7909, Madison, W1 53707-7909, FAX (608) 267-0323. All correct answers will be
entered in a drawing for a copy of our new video and guidebook, “The Right Way.”
Drawing will be held June 30, 1992 — the winner will be announced in the next issue of
“Plain Dealing.”

To sell cars you need to get customers to come to your
dealership. Advertising is an important part of attracting
those customers. It's also one of the ways you can get in

trouble selling cars.

A variety of Wisconsin's statutes and rules cover
advertising. Several state agencies and the Federal Trade
Commission enforce advertising regulations. The maze of
regulationsisfull of “don'ts” — but if you remember just
one guiding principle of advertising rules, it is. don't make
any “untrue, deceptive or misleading” statements.

Our number one problem with dealer advertising
continues to be the use of the term “program cars’ to
describe former rental cars. This mideads your customers.
“Program car” suggests that it was used for a specia
purpose — like afactory executive car — not one that was
rented to the public.

The right way to use the term “program car” isto include
the word “rental” every time the word “ program” appears
in your ad.

Problems with the proper disclosure when using the word
“invoice” aso continue to crop up. Remember, the right
way to advertise invoice prices includes this disclosure:

The dealer'sactual cost islessbecausethereare,
or may be, factory holdbacks, rebates, incentives
or other discountsto the dealer.

The invoice price disclosure must be made exactly as stated
in Trans 139.03(3)(b)— no changes in the wording are
permitted.

We are sometimes asked whether dealerships with
multiple locations under the same ownership may include
more than one location in an ad. Y es, dealerships sharing
the same ownership may list more than one location in an
ad if the ad clearly shows which franchises are available at
each location. The example below gives you an idea how
this could be done.

Mega Motors, Inc.
Where you get more pi# %for your

Mega Motors North
1234 Highway 345

Mega Motors East
101 Main Street

Outskirt Junction Pleasantville
555-5555 555-6666
Delorean Packard
Studebaker Cord
Rambler Auburn

“Hi” Energy

. Our Salesperson of the month i
See “Hi” for all your transportation needs!

This ad aso shows that you may feature a salesperson who
islicensed to work at more than one location under the
same ownership. The same standard applies— each
location lists the makesiit sells.

Improper disclosure of consumer lease terms is another
major advertisng problem. The right way to advertise
consumer leases isto remember that using any of these
“triggering” terms means that all required disclosures must
be made:

The amount of any payment,
The number of required payments, or

A statement that any or no down payment or other
payment is required at the beginning of the lease.

The required disclosures are: (Remember to make all 5)
1. That the transaction is alease,

2. Thetotal amount of any payment required at the
beginning of the lease (or a statement that none is
required),

3. The number, amounts, due date, and total of payments
under the lease,

4. A statement of whether the consumer/lessee has the
option to buy the vehicle and at what price,

5. A statement of the amount of any liabilities the lessee
may have at the end of the lease.

The answer to last issues’s “food for thought” question on disclosure is:
Yes, you should disclose the oil use - unless you fixed the problem
before offering the car for sale.

[ Turn to page 6 for more information on disclosure.
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Newsin Brief

Mandatory bonding takes effect

Because of law changes passed last year which take effect
July 1, 1992, motor vehicle and motorcycle dealers will
need to file a $25,000 surety bond with their next dealer
licenserenewal. Look at the expiration date on your
license to see when this will affect you.

We recently sent all motor vehicle and motorcycle dealers
information packets containing a question and answer
briefing paper, a blank bond form and alist of companies
that are interested in accepting applications for dealer
bonds. We want you to have thisinformation well in
advance so you'll be prepared to send abond in with your
renewal application. We won't be able to renew your
license without a bond.

A surety bond can be written by any company licensed to
sell casualty insurance in Wisconsin. 'Y ou may want to talk
to the insurance agent who handles the rest of your business
insurance first. Or, consult the list of bonding companies
included in your information packet.

Insurance companies set their own standards on what they
require in order to approve bond applications. For
example, you may need to provide detailed financial
statements, or meet a minimum level of liquid assets or net
worth. Different companies may have different
requirements, they may also have avariety of prices (the
annua premium). Aswith most things, it might be worth
your time to shop around.

If you have both a motor vehicle and a motorcycle dealer
license and both are under the same ownership at the same
|ocation, one bond will cover both licenses. Otherwise,
you'll need a separate bond for each of your separately
licensed locations.

Your license renewal packet will be mailed about six
weeks before your expiration date. If you didn't receive

abond information packet, or have questions about the
information, please contact our bond coordinator, Vikki
VanDeventer, at (608) 266-0965.

Two counties add
% sales and use tax

Sauk and Juneau Counties are collecting the ¥%% county
sales and use tax as of April 1, 1992. You must collect this
tax when you sdll avehiclethat is“customarily kept” in a
county which has enacted the tax. Vehicles“customarily
kept” in these counties are subject to the tax even if they are
purchased in a county that hasn't enacted the tax.

Thistax is collected in addition to the 5% state sales tax.
It isturned in to the Department of Revenue along with the
state sales tax money you collect. If avehicle is exempt
from the 5% state sales tax, it is also exempt from the Y26
county sales and use tax.

L aw change allows double-bottom
agricultural trailer combinations

Motor trucks may now tow two new trailers or semi-
trailersto be used for transporting farm products or
livestock without a specia permit if:

1. Thetralersare being delivered from dealer to
dealer, or manufacturer to dedler,

2. The motor truck is no more than 25 feet long,
AND
3.  Eachtrailer is no more than 28 feet 6 inches long.

(Note — the frame extension isn't included in
determining the length.)

Dealer

Alert

Report lost platesto usin writing. If you want to
replace them, include $2 per plate with your notice. If you
find any plates that were reported lost or stolen — destroy
them. Don't use these plates. We notify law enforcement
agencies of lost plates and you may be stopped and ticketed
if lost or stolen plates are seen inuse.

A specia hotline for dealerswasingaled in the
Registration Information Unit last fal. 1f you have
guestions about titling, registration or the Truth in Mileage
Act, avoid long waits on hold and call the Dealer Hotline:
(608) 267-3646. Share this number with your office staff
and title clerks to save their time, too.

If you hire a salesperson who had avalid license at
another dealership, be sure to submit a transfer
application. Indicate the dealer name and license number
of the previous employer and check the box marked
“transfer.” No feeisrequired. The salesperson isn't legally
licensed to sell for you until you've sent in his or her license
application.

Remember, if you have atype 4 salvage dealer
(“scavenger”) license, you are only permitted to haul
vehiclesto a shredder or licensed salvage dedler. You aren't
allowed to sall parts or vehicles to the public.
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Policy Briefings

“Creative Financing”

Suppose you have a customer eager to buy acar, but
you're having a hard time getting financing approved. Isit
acceptable to inflate the selling price so you can also
increase the trade-in alowance and make it appear that the
customer has more equity in the vehicle? No, it's not
acceptable, and the problems associated with this practice
can land you in serious trouble.

The problems:

P Including an overalowance in the trade-in can backfire
if the deal fallsthrough. Y ou would have to refund the
inflated allowance if the trade-in could not be returned
to the customer.

P Inflating the purchase price involves making false
statements on the purchase contract, the application for
title and the retail installment contract (if you are
arranging the financing).

P Some banks have sued ded ers when customers
defaulted on their loans and the banks discovered the
resale vaue of the vehicle wasn't enough to cover the
amount owed.

P Defrauding the bank that accepts the loan may be
grounds for revoking, suspending or denying your
dedler license.

P Your advertisng may be false and mideading if you're
not selling cars at their advertised prices—or if you're
salling cars above the used vehicle disclosure label
asking price without extra value being added to the car
(new tires or stereo, for example).

Of courseg, it also isn't acceptable to draw up two
purchase contracts or two applications for title — one for
the customer and DMV showing actua values, and one for
financing showing inflated values.

Our advice:

Don't get involved in this activity. Your license could be
in jeopardy, you could be fined and the bank may have civil
recourse to force you to repurchase the contract and recover
damages.

Posting dealer business hours

All motor vehicle dealers, motor vehicle wholesalers, and
motor vehicle wholesale auction dealers must post the
specific days of the week and hours of the day when they
are available at their place of business.

Posting a sign saying “By Appointment” isn't enough to
meet the business hours sign requirement of the Wisconsin
Administrative Code Chapter Trans 138.06(2). We're not
requiring a minimum number of hours, just that you are
specific about the hours you choose to be open. Both your
customers and our staff need to know when they can get in
touch with you.

Demonstrator plate use
by boat dealers

Boat dealers may use a demonstrator plate to operate a
trailer loaded with aboat if:

1. both the boat and trailer are owned and offered for sale
by the dedler, and

2. operation involves delivery to or from a prospective
purchaser.

Weve interpreted this to allow using a demonstrator plate
to take both a boat and trailer to trade shows.

Empty trailers may be operated using trailer dedler plates.
In order to qualify for demonstrator plates, you must first
obtain trailer deadler plates. Annual cost of the first two
trailer dealer platesis $75. Additiona plates are available
for $5 each. The annual cost of trailer demonstrator plates
is $10 each.

Some special rules apply to the use of demonstrator
plates. For complete details and application forms, contact
Dedler Section's Business Licensing Unit at (608) 266-
1425.

Salvage dealer numbering system

Salvage dealer license numbers indicate the type of
salvage business the license is granted for. The chart below
explains the system.

Type Numbers Facilities

Office and yard.
May dismantle, buy and sell
parts.

Type 1 SL1 - SL699

All business conducted
within a building. No yard.
May dismantle, buy and sell
parts.

Type2 | SL700 — SL899

Scrap metal recycling

SL900 — SL999 (shredder).

Type 3

“Scavenger”
May pick up vehicles and
deliver to shredder or other

Type 4 | SL1000 — SL1200

salvage dealer (type 1 or 2).

If you have alicense number that doesn't fit your business
facilities or activities, please contact the Business Licensing
Unit at (608) 266-1425.
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Customer Focus

Customers comment on
Dealer Section service

One of our top goals here at the Dealer Section isto
continually improve service to our customers. In order to
do that, we need to ask them how we're doing.

For the past six months, we've asked consumersto rate
our service by filling out a brief comment card. We send a
card to each consumer who files a complaint with us when
the case is completed.

Consumers are asked to rate us in the areas of:
How clearly we explained the laws or policies that
applied to their situation,
How clearly we explained options available to them,
Whether we handled the complaint in atimely manner,
Whether we treated them in a respectful and
professional manner, and
Whether they are satisfied with our efforts to resolve
the complaint.

About 30% of the consumers who received cards
responded. Of those, over 70% felt they were treated fairly
and professionaly, understood our explanations and were
satisfied with our efforts to resolve their complaints.

Good Review for Plain Dealing

A Wisconsin motorcycle dealer called us after receiving
the last issue of Plain Dealing to let us know he liked it.
His experience has been that government agencies often
“dap hands’ for doing something wrong instead of
explaining laws and rules like Plain Dealing does. He
found the newdletter to be “excellent and invaluable.” We
appreciate the kind words and welcome all your comments
and suggestions.

Corrections/clarifications

L essee’ s option to purchase

Our last issue' s cover story explained some of the dealer
license requirement exemptions for rental and leasing
companies. We got severa questions about the need for a
used vehicle disclosure label when selling aleased vehicle
to the person who leased it.

The key isthat the lessee (or lessee’ s agent and driver) is
buying the vehicle. If that isthe case, a signed “ statement of
fact” from the purchaser may be kept on file for four years
instead of a used vehicle disclosure label. Thisis true even
when, for example, the lessor is GMAC and the sdleto the
lessee is being handled by one of GM's franchised dealers.

Dealer plate use

A question on dedler plate use came in from one of our
Madison-area dealers. When avehicleisowned by a
dealership but has not yet been inspected and conditioned
for resale, can adeder plate be used on it?

Yes, but only for transit to the dealership and for driving
the vehicle while it is being conditioned for resale. For
example, dealer plates may be used when operating
between:

Point of wholesale or point of purchase and the dealer's
licensed place of business,

Dedler's licensed place of business and other locations
where the vehicle will be prepared for sale (such asa
repair facility or detailer).

A “Not Inspected for Sale” sticker must be displayed on the
vehicle when operating it before it's been inspected and
offered for sale.

Of course, dedlers are permitted to use adealer plates on
used vehicles they own and are offering for sale—but only
after the inspection is done and the used vehicle disclosure
label is displayed.

Paperwork Pointers

2 Out-of-state dealer s may no longer obtain Wisconsin
titles in the name of their dedlership. The only exception to
this policy isif a security interest is being perfected. Out-
of-state dealers continue to have the following options open
to them:

1. Display avalid out-of-state dealer plate.

2. Obtain and display Wisconsin temporary plates.

3. Obtain a“no-Wisconsin-title” registration.

Residents of other states who are not dealers may
continue to apply for Wisconsin titlesif they are also
applying for Wisconsin registration (not temporary plates)
or to perfect a security interest in the vehicle.

~When alease customer wishes to exercise his or her
option to purchase, a licensed salesperson must complete a
motor vehicle purchase contract.

~When applying for title/registration for your customers,
you have the choice of using either the MV1 or the MV 11
form. If you have questions about completing either form,
call the Registration Information Unit's Dealer Hotline at
(608) 267-3646.

& Please use the Secured Party Number whenever it's
available. This speeds up our processing because the six-
digit number can be entered instead of the lienholder's name
and address.



The Right WayContinued from page 2.
Disclosure of accident history

Must you tell customers whether a car has been in an
accident? Confusion seems to surround this question and
the answer is more often “maybe” than a straightforward
yes or no.

The key isfound in the Wisconsin Administrative Code
Chapter Trans 139.04 which states that prospective retail
purchasers must be informed in writing of “all significant
existing mechanical and structural defects and damage.”
This written disclosure is made on the used vehicle
disclosure label. Two items which may relate to accident
damage are disclosed on the label as corrective welds on the
frame or supportive portion of the unibody, and bent or
twisted frame or unibody.

The code doesn't assume that you are able to find out
about a vehicle's accident history—Dbut your vehicle
inspection should revea corrective welds or a bent or
twisted frame or unibody, regardless of what caused the
damage. Reporting the existence of damage is more
important than determining the cause of that damage.

This doesn't mean you can lie to customers who ask
whether a vehicle has been in an accident and you know it
has. A court might interpret that as withholding material
facts about the vehicle and may award the buyer damages,
court costs and attorney feesin acivil action.

In summary, based on your vehicle inspection, your own
repair records and information given to you by previous
owners, disclose:

Corrective welds on the frame or supportive portion of
the unibody,

Bent or twisted frame or unibody, and
Accident history you know about.
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1992
Licensing Actions

Bobbie's Auto Service, Milwaukee—License was
suspended for 10 days and a Specia Order was issued by
the Office of the Commissioner of Transportation. Dealer
Section investigators found that no vehicles had been
recorded in the salvage log book between January and
August 1991. Scrap processor records show 44 vehicles
junked during this period.

Greg Leske, Cudahy—A Specia Order wasissued by the
Office of the Commissioner of Transportation and the
salesperson paid a $1,000 civil forfeiture for falsifying title
applicationsto aid an unlicensed dealer.

Wyss Auto Sales, Cudahy—A Specia Order was issued
by the Office of the Commissioner of Transportation and
the dealer paid a $2,000 civil forfeiture for falsifying title
applicationsto aid an unlicensed dealer.

Wis. Dept. of Transportation
Dealer Section

P.O. Box 7909, Room 806
Madison, WI 53707-7909




