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“Nothing astonishes men so
much as common sense and
plain dealing.”

R. W. Emerson

As Wisconsin marks 150 years of statehood, our
sesguicentennial year, you can give your
customers an opportunity to join in the
celebration. Special license plates are available
through December, 1998, for a one-time
additional charge of $15. They’re renewable until
2002.

A colorful brochure including the
Sesquicentennial Plate Application form is
available for display in your showroom. Ask for
form MV 0150 from WisDOT Maps and
Publication Sales, 3617 Pierstorff Street, PO Box
7713, Madison, W1 53707-7713; or fax (608) 246-
5632.

Congratulations to Jim O’ Connor of Lomira Auto
Sales, winner of Dealer Section’sfirst “Right
Way” dealer award. See page 4 for the details.
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Plain Dealing is published three times ayear by the Wisconsin
Department of Transportation, Division of Motor Vehicles,
Bureau of Vehicle Services, Dealer Section.

Roger Cross, administrator

Martha Gertsch, director

Chuck Supple, section chief

We welcome your questions and comments. Address
correspondence to Vikki VanDeventer, editor, Plain Dealing,
DOT Dealer Section, P.O. Box 7909, Madison, WI 53707-7909
or FAX to (608) 267-0323.

L AF plates outlawed

The days of the LAF (license applied for) plate are numbered. A
provision of the state budget bill says that as of September 1, 1998,
all cars and light trucks will have to display license platesin order to
be operated. The new law responds to concerns of both law
enforcement and legidators that some people drive without plates
long after they acquire a car. While the problem is mainly related to
private sales, the law affects both private and dedler sales.

The law requires that all cars and trucks registered at 8,000 pounds
or less display license plates within two business days of delivery.
The two-day period begins the day following delivery and excludes
weekends and legal holidays. For example, someone who buys a car
at noon on Friday before Memorial Day weekend has until midnight
Wednesday the following week to get plates.

An owner who has valid plates to transfer meets the requirement by
putting the plates on the newly-purchased car and mailing the
application for title to WisDOT. An owner who doesn’t have plates
to transfer has several options:

Dealer sales

The dedler provides a cardboard temporary plate to the customer
at no charge, and keeps arecord of plates issued.

- Dealers who participate in the CYR-DMV (Computerized
Vehicle Registration) partnership that allows dealers to do on-site
registration can provide metal platesto their customers for a $17.50
optional service charge.

Dedlers can go to aDMV Customer Service Center on their
customers' behalf if they need metal platesimmediately for a $5
counter service fee.

Private sales

If afinancid institution is placing alien on the car, the customer
can get a free cardboard temporary plate there.

DMV Customer Service Centers will have metal or cardboard
temporary plates depending upon whether the location is a
permanent five-day center or travel site.

Other options

Other options are being considered, including county clerks and
dealerships who may want to voluntarily collect applications and
sell cardboard temporary plates as a service to their communities.
(They’ll be able to collect a $5 service fee.)

Dealerswill receive a free supply of cardboard temporary plates from
WisDOT in August. They’ll be shipped with complete instructions on
issuing, record-keeping and re-ordering. The cardboard plate will be
valid for 90 days, and displayed on the back of the vehicle. It will still
be acceptable to put a dealership advertising plate on the front until
the customer receives metal plates.
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The Right Way

Wisconsin Buyers Guide

Everything you always wanted to know, but were afraid
to ask.

Now that the new Wisconsin Buyers Guide has been in use
for severa months, here are some points to clarify its use
and answer some of the most frequently-asked questions:

Inspection
» Disclose engine size. Engine sizeis listed on the
emissions label under the hood.

» The description of “fuel system” on the back of the
guide will not be changed to “fuel line” as some have
suggested. Fuel lineis not specifically addressed in Trans
305 and the list on the back of the guide isn't intended to be
al-inclusive.

» Supplemental devices (e.g. clock, navigation system,
outside temperature indicator, etc.) need not be disclosed
under the “ Gauges and Warning Devices’ section of the
guide. They’'re not essentia to the functioning of the
vehicle. Defining gauges on the back of the form will be
looked at during the next revision.

» “Excessive oil consumption” means excessive based on
manufacturer specifications.

»  “Minor seepage” means that fluid is not actually
leaking onto the ground.

» A vehicle cannot be sold with adeployed air bag. It's
against federa law.

» “Vehicleinspection date’ on the guide means the date
the dedler signsthe guide.

» |If aused-car dedler sub-contracts with a service repair
facility, the name of the individual inspector, not the
business name, should go under “vehicle inspector.”

Recalls

» Recal disclosure must be made in writing — in any
way you choose.

» Franchised RV dedlers aren’t required to perform
manufacturer recalls on the chassis (e.g. Winnebago dealer
with a GMC recall). Dealers must perform recall repairs
only on makes for which they have afranchise.

» A dedership does not need to check for recallson
makes for which it is not franchised at a specific location,
even if the dealer group has that franchise at one of its other
locations. For vehicles offered for sale at a given site, the
dealership will do recalsfor only the makes that siteis
franchised for.

A Chryder dealer who is approved to perform Jeep

warranty work is not required to disclose Jeep recalls. Only
franchised Jeep dealers would have to do Jeep recalls.

Titlebrands

> If atitle has abrand from another state, check “other”
and write in the exact wording of the brand.

Unrepaired salvage

» Instead of displaying the guide on an unrepaired
salvage vehicle, display awritten statement “thisisa
salvage vehicle” on the car. The statement may be on a
sticker or written directly on the car.

» Vehiclesthat are damaged and unrepaired but are older
than seven years (so they don’t meet the definition of
salvage) must display the guide. If the car can't be driven,
complete the guide as best you can and line through the
itemsthat can’'t be accurately disclosed without atest drive.
Under “explain al items” write that the vehicle couldn’t be
test driven.

Warranty

» Dedersdo not have to check for existing warranty on
used vehicles. Thereis no obligation if warranty statusis
disclosed as “unknown” and it turns out that some warranty
remained. However, the dealership is obligated if it says
warranty coverage exists when it doesn't.

» If remaining factory warranty is disclosed, the
expiration date and mileage must be filled in.
Manufacturers have toll-free numbers available to find the
in-service date of avehicle' swarranty. Without calling to
check, you don't really know whether awarranty remainsin
force.

Manufacturers’ Toll Free Numbers

Acura 1-800-TO-ACURA Land Rover 1-800-JINE-4WD
Alfa Romeo 1-800-245-ALFA Lexus 1-800-872-5398
Audi 1-800-FOR-AUDI Linc-Mervury 1-800-446-8888
BMW 1-800-334-4BMW Lotus 1-800-24-LOTUS
Buick 1-800-4A-BUICK Maxda 1-800-639-1000
Cadillac 1-800-333-4CAD Mercedes 1-800-FOR-MERCEDES
Chevrolet 1-800-950-2438 Mitsubishi 1-800-447-4700
Chevy Truck 1-800-962-2868 Nissan 1-800-NISSAN-3
Chrysler 1-800-4A-CHRYSLER Oldsmobile  1-800-242-OLDS
Dodge Truck 1-800-4A-DODGE Plymouth 1-800-PLYMOUTH
Geo 1-800-GET-2-KNO Pontiac 1-800-762-4900
GMC Truck 1-800-GMC-TRUCK Porsche 1-800-PORSCHE
Hyundai 1-800-826-CARS Saab 1-800-582-SAAB
Infiniti 1-800-826-6500 Saturn 1-800-522-5000
Isuzu 1-800-726-2700 Subaru 1-800-SUBARU-3
Jaguar 1-800-4JAGAUAR Suzuki 1-800-447-4700

Jeep/Eagle 1-800-JEEP-EAGLE
Kia 1-800-333-4KIA

Toyota 1-800-GO-TOYOTA
Volkswagen 1-800-444-8987
Volvo 1-800-458-1552

When disclosing dual warranties, for example bumper-to-
bumper 12 months or 12,000 miles and power train for 6
years or 60,000 miles, list expiration date and milesfor
both, separated on the form with a“dash.” For example:
Expiration: 6-12-98 / 6-12-03 (date)

12,000 / 60,000 (miles)
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Wholesale Buyer’s Guide

Wholesale transactions have traditionally been conducted as
“buyer beware.” Changesto Wisconsin’s Administrative
Code Chapter Trans 139 now offer some protection for
dedlers in wholesale transactions. Sellers at wholesale are
required to make some of the same written prior use and
history disclosures covered by the Wisconsin Buyers Guide
for retail sales.

Disclosure is based on the “reasonable care” standard, just
asitisfor retall sales. To make these disclosures, sallersin
dealer-to-dealer transactions use the Wholesale Buyer’'s
Guide (form MV2895). The selling dedler completes and
signs the form. The buying dedler also signs the form, and
both keep a copy for five years. The form does not
accompany thetitle, it's for dealer records only.

Specific disclosures required include:
- All material history.

» “Materia” means that a reasonable person would
attach importanceto its existence or aseller
knows or had reason to know that a buyer would
regard it as important. A seller has reason to
know that information is materia if a buyer
specifically requests the information.

» Usethe"other” line on the Wholesale Buyer’s
Guide to disclose any material history that’s not
itemized on the form.

Prior use. (Definitions below are from Trans 139.

Others are self-explanatory.)

» “Business use’ means any motor vehicle owned
or leased by either of the following: (a) a
company, other than a lessor; (b) an individual
and primarily operated for business use.

» “Demongtrator” means any untitled or non-
privately titled motor vehicle which was used
primarily for the purpose of demonstration to the
public.

» “Executiveé’ means any untitled or non-privately
titled motor vehicle which was used primarily by
executives of licensed manufacturers, distributors
or dealers and was not used for demonstration to
the public.

“Lease use” means any motor vehicle leased for a
period of time exceeding four months.

“Persona use” means any motor vehicle owned or
leased by an individual and primarily operated for
personal use.

“Rental use” means any motor vehicle rented for
aperiod of time not exceeding four months.
“Water damaged” means a vehicle that has been
materially damaged by being covered, in whole or
in part, by water, whether by flood or other
occurrence and the damage is less than what is
required to meet the definition for flood damaged
branding (see definition in next column).

Title brands (includes brands on the existing title as

well as those that will appear on the new title).

» “Flood damaged” means a vehicle damaged by
flood to the extent that the cost to repair the
vehicle exceeds 70% of its fair market value.

» “Manufacturer buyback” means a vehicle that was
repurchased by its manufacturer (or authorized
dealer with compensation from the manufacturer)
under Wisconsin’s Lemon Law or another state's
lemon law.

»  “Non-USA standard” means a vehicle that wasn't
manufactured with all federal emission and safety
standards applicable at time of manufacture.

» “Rebuilt salvage” refersto avehicle that met
Wisconsin's or another state’ s definition of
salvage, and was subsequently repaired.

» “Transferred to an insurance company . . ."
means a vehicle less than seven model years old,
damaged to the extent that cost to repair exceeds
30% but is less than 70% of its fair market value,
that was transferred to an insurance company
upon payment of aclaim.

» Usethe"other” linein the brand section to
disclose other Wisconsin brands and brands from
other states. Write in the brand exactly as it
appears on thetitle.

In auction-to-dealer transactions, the written disclosures

may be incorporated into the auction block ticket.

Disclosures on the block ticket should be the same asthe

Wholesale Buyer's Guide except:

» Additiona disclosures may be added, and

» Disclosures of types of vehicles that an auction does
not sall (for example, non-USA standard vehicles) may
be omitted.

Auctions will be allowed to use up their current supply of
block tickets before making these revisions. WisDOT
investigators are aware that it may be some time, possibly
up to ayear, before revised block tickets arein use at all
auctions.

When the auction receives payment and transfers the
vehicletitle, the auction distributes copies of the block
ticket, including the disclosures, to the seller and buyer and
keeps a copy. Dedlers and auctions keep a copy of the block
ticket for five years.

Auctions may provide their own policies on cancellation
and arbitration rights for disputes about vehicle history and
title brands. Policies should be consistent with the rescinded
sale requirements of Trans 138.05(5).

Wholesale Buyer’s Guide (Form MV2895) available from:

Good Morning Advertising (800) 747-4647
Reynolds + Reynolds (800) 697-0884
WATDASI Forms (800) 236-7672
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News

Jim O’Connor wins
Right Way award

Jm O’ Connor of Lomira Auto Salesis the first recipient
of the Dealer Section’s new “Right Way Award.” The
award was developed by ateam of Dealer Section
employees to recognize dealers who set an example for
other dedlers of the right way to do businessin
Wisconsin.

Field Investigation Unit supervisor, Phil Alioto,
nominated Jim for making an extra effort to do business
the right way by:
- consistently completing paperwork correctly and on
time;
maintaining a dealership facility that complies with
al laws,;
supporting WisDOT efforts by participating in a
Wise Buys press conference, serving as a Dealer
Section witness at an odometer fraud criminal trial,
and sharing his industry insights at WisDOT’s
odometer conference.

The award (aframed certificate) is presented quarterly.
The winners are selected by ateam of Dedler Section
staff from nominations made by their co-workers. Any
new or used auto/truck or motorcycle dealer, wholesaler
or salvage dealer can be nominated based on criteria such
as.

good record

keeping

few consumer

complaints

rapid complaint

Settlement

good attitude

partnership

involvement with

DMV

community

volunteer work.

DMV Administrator, Roger
Cross, presents the

Right Way Award to

Jim O’Connor of

Lomira Auto Sales.

Winnerswill be featured in future issues of this
newdetter. Ken Vance of Ken Vance Motorsin Eau
Claire isthe Right Way dedler for the first quarter of
1998. Details of his award and presentation will follow in
the next issue.

M easur e of usetax increases

Dedlers report use tax on their dealer license plates based
upon a dollar amount per plate per month for vehicles
assigned to certain employees who are subject to
withholding for federal income taxes. This base dollar
amount has increased from $99 to $102 per month as of
January 1, 1998. Note that the tax per plateisn’t $102
per month. Rather, $102 is multiplied by the use tax rate
(5%, 5.1%, 5.5% or 5.6%) to arrive at the use tax due

per plate per month.

The Department of Revenue (DOR) adjusts the amount
subject to use tax each year to reflect the annual
percentage change in the U.S. Consumer Price Index as
determined by the U.S. Department of Labor. If you have
guestions about use tax, contact Vicki Gibbons, DOR, at
(608) 266-3873.

VIN checksnot required

Dedlers no longer need to inspect the Vehicle

I dentification numbers (VINSs) and compare them to the
titles of vehicles being registered
in Wisconsin for the first time.
The space for VIN checksis
being removed from ll
application forms,

This measure was part of 1997
Wisconsin Act 27 (the new state
budget) and took effect
immediately upon passage in
October, 1997. WisDOT
retained the right to require a
VIN inspection in cases where it
IS necessary to establisn the
ownership and correct
description of avehicle.
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Policy Briefings

Optionscan’'t be mandatory
Consumers recently have contacted WisDOT about being
forced to buy a dealer option as a condition of purchasing
avehicle. Consumers say that some dedlers are requiring
the purchase of extended warranties, “environmental
protection packages,” or other options before they agree
to sell popular, high-demand cars or motorcycles. If these
options have not been ingtalled on the vehicle, or are not
assigned to a vehicle until after purchase (e.g. extended
warranties or service plans), this practiceis called a“tie-
in” andisillegal.

No matter how tempting it may be to cash in on the
popularity of one product by requiring the purchase of
another perhaps less popular product, you are risking:
an investigation or audit which may result in huge
refunds to affected consumers,
administrative action against your dealer license,
prosecution for violating Chapter 133 of the
Wisconsin Statutes,
being sued by your customers.

Optionsinstalled on a vehicle before purchase that
become an unremovable part of the vehicle would not be
considered separate products and are not illegd tie-ins. If,
on the other hand, the vehicle doesn’t have these items on
it before purchase, you can’t require them to be
purchased with the vehicle.

Extended warranties or service plans are not “installed”
on avehicle, and are usually assigned to a vehicle after
purchase. Thus, they should aways be considered
optional since they are separate products from the
vehicle. Your advertising, sales representations and
supplementd price stickers should reflect that.

If you have a popular product in high demand, thereis
nothing illegal about charging additional dealer mark-up.
You are better off calling it that than burying it in some
misleading term such as “dedler prep,” “handling fee,” or
“transportation charges’ if those are aready charged by
the manufacturer.

MV 11 specifies optional fees

The latest revision (January 1998) of the application for
title/registration (form MV 11) specifies which fees are
optional. The fees are for faster processing of the
application and include $4 for priority service, $5 for
counter service at aDMV customer service center, and
$17.50 for electronic title/license plate filing by a dealer
who participates in the on-site processing program.

Next to the “ Optiona Fees’ heading isasmall line for the
customer to initial approval of paying the servicefee. It's

important that customers are aware that these fees are
optional and provide faster service. Be sure the customer
initials the fee if you're charging it. Customers who tell
us they were charged the fee without being aware it was
optional, and didn’t initial the fee, will be entitled to a
refund of the fee from the dealer.

New definition not enfor ced

WisDOT won't be enforcing the revised definition of

“new” motor vehiclein Trans 139. Instead, we'll continue

to enforce the previous definition:
“New” means any untitled or non-privately titled
motor vehicle of the stated model year which
has not been operated more miles than required
for manufacturer’s tests, pre-delivery tests,
dealer exchange or delivery.” [Trans 139.02(8),
Wisconsin Administrative Code]

In addition to the miles allowed under the definition
above, vehicles may accrue up to 200 miles for test drives
by prospective buyers. This policy alows 200 additional
miles for test drives to give consumers the benefit of
testing new cars before buying them.

The revised definition, which took effect September 1,
1997, requires any vehicle driven more than 500 miles for
any reason to be sold as used. Since dealer trades and
deliveries often require driving more than 500 miles (from
adedership in another state, for example) it places an
undue hardship on dealers with no benefit for consumers.
The definition will be amended during rule-making later
this year. The policy doesn't affect the definition of

“new” in Trans 137 under franchise law.

i Mgy

Wise i@(

“Buy from alicensed Wlsconsm dealer and you're
protected by law. Y ou won't get the same protection
if you buy from a private party.”
%4 Wise Buys consumer brochure
Created by dealersand WisDOT
Wise Buystells your customers about laws you
follow. Wiser buyers may be more satisfied.
15% of dealersalready participate
Just display Wise Buys signs and brochures in your
showroom. It'seasy. It'sfree.
Call today for your free Wise Buyskit
(608)266-1425
WisDOT Dedler Section
P.O. Box 7909
Madison, WI 53707-7909

Buys
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Advertising Advice

“We’'ll pay off your current trade — no matter what you
owe!”

“You pay just $37 Acquisition Fee and take on the
payments on any one of over 150 new and used vehicles
shipped in from all around the country.”

WisDOT has seen arash of these statementsin dealer
advertising lately. They al have one thing in common —
they'reillegal.

Section 218.01(3)(a)19, stats., prohibits advertising
containing any statement or representation with regard to
the sale or financing of motor vehicleswhich isfase,
deceptive or mideading. In deciding whether a statement
is deceptive or mideading, consider how the least
sophisticated consumer would understand it. A statement
can be true and till be mideading. Consider the
statements at the beginning of this article.

“We'll pay off your current trade — no matter what you
owel” Thefactis, if the consumer adds what is owed on
the trade-in to the new loan to buy a car from you, you
will write the check to pay off the trade. The consumer is
still paying off the original loan. The statement may be
truthful in aliteral sense. But, misleading? Absolutely!

Paying an “ acquisition fee” to “ take on” payments. The
factis, thisis anew loan to acquire a vehicle in your
inventory. “Taking on” paymentsimplies that thereis an
existing loan and equity in the vehicle. There is no equity
and it's unclear just what an “acquisition fee” is.

A down payment? A loan origination fee? Vehicles are
also generally the regular inventory of the dealership —
not “shipped in from all around the country.” This one
goes beyond misleading — it's untrue.

An out-of-state advertising agency convinced some
Wisconsin dealers to use these statements in their ads.
They aso convinced the dealers that they had checked
with “authorities’ and the ads were legal. They hadn’'t
checked and the ads weren’t legal. Unfortunately, it
wasn't the agency’ s problem. The dealership is
responsible for all of its ads no matter who writes or
develops them. In one case, a dedership found itself
having to run an apology and retraction in the newspaper
to avoid license sanctions.

Here are some other statements pulled from recent dedler
ads:

“All credit applications accepted.”
Of course, they won't al be approved, but anyone who
fills out an application will be able to hand it in to the
dealership. Truthful ? Perhaps literally, but definitely
midleading.

“Plus Tax, Title & License WAC”
Thisis a pretty standard price advertising disclaimer until
you get to the end. WAC? A sale limited to the Women's
Army Corps? In this case the ad agency was assuming
everyone would know they meant “with approved credit.”
Not a safe assumption.

Don't assume things about your ads. Check them out. Be
especially cautious when using an agency unfamiliar with
Wisconsin law. Call the Dealer Section customer service
line with advertising questions (608) 266-1425.

Citations Issued

Bartus, Simon G., Wausau — Unlicensed dealer sales.
Dorwin, Ross, Durand — Failing to submit “junk” title.
Horgen, Dan, Madison — Unauthorized use of a dealer
plate.

Kamrowski, Dennis, Arcadia — Unlicensed dealer
sales.

Keck, Lonne, Eau Claire — Failure to submit “junk”
title.

Lale, Glen, Delavan — Unlicensed dealer sales.

Lusty, Raymond L., Jr., Salem — Unlicensed dealer
sales.

Luzak, Dennis J. and Sharon M., Milwaukee —
Unlicensed dealer sales.

Mayfields, Enoch, Madison — Unlicensed dealer sales.
Neal, Zane, Cambria — Unlicensed dealer sales and
failure to apply for titles.

Ochoa, Jose R., Kenosha — Failure to transfer title.
Pritchard, Jerry, Milwaukee — Unlicensed dealer sales.

Quintana, Frank, Burlington — Unlicensed dealer
sales.

Romanovic, Verko, Kenosha — Failing to transfer title,
misuse of a dealer plate and unlicensed dealer sales.
Wilson Auto Repair, Milwaukee — Unlicensed dealer
sales and failing to transfer title.

Wolf, David, Hudson — Unlicensed dealer sales.

Correction — In our last issue, we reported that Nabil
M. Alfahel of Milwaukee was fined $506.40 for
unlicensed dealer sales. In fact, the citations were
dismissed. We regret any inconvenience to Mr. Alfahel.

Starting with this issue, we’ll only report citations issued
and the reason, without dollar amounts because the final
disposition may be different. Fines for these violations
range from $200 to $5,000 per vehicle.
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Paperwor k Pointers

2 If you need to know which received dates are
currently being processed for titles and renewals, call
(608) 266-1466 to hear a recorded message that will give
you that information. If you need to talk to someone
about atitle or registration question, continue to use the
dealer hotline number (608) 267-3646.

2 Separate reassignment forms (MV2115) can only be
used with a non-conforming title or Manufacturer’s
Statement of Origin (MSO) when all reassignment spaces
have been filled in. A non-conforming title or MSO is one
that doesn’t have federally mandated odometer disclosure
language (generally titles issued before January 1991).
When all reassignment spaces are filled on a conforming
title, the next owner must get atitle in his or her name
(dedlers, too). The only exception isadeder selling to a
retail customer where the final assignment can be made
on the Application for Title/Registration (form MV 11).

2 Complete the street addr ess section of the Application
for Title/Registration (form MV 11) for all individual
customers. We can accept a post office box for
businesses, but not for individuals.

2 Used recreational vehicles (non-motorized) must be
inspected and have their condition disclosed in writing.
Trans 142.06(3)(a) requires a “careful visual inspection,
which shall consist of, but is not limited to a walk-around
and interior inspection, under the vehicle inspection, roof
inspection and an inspection of the appliances.” Changes
to Trans 139 and the Wisconsin Buyers Guide do not
affect recreational vehicle dealers who are still subject to
the above requirements.

Dealer Alert

A dealership cannot advertise at any address, phone or
e-mail other than that of the business. However, home
phone and e-mail address may be used on a business
card in addition to the dealership address and phone
number. The Sunday closing law still appliesevenif a
home phone number is on the business card.

alt'sillegal to sell avehicle with faulty seat belts. Be
sure to check them to see if they work — don't just
visually inspect them.

Time is Money
Doing title registration processing
right the first time

WisDOT and the Wisconsin Automobile & Truck
Dealers Association (WATDA) are holding eight
seminars throughout the state this summer.

Topics will include the mandatory display of license
plates. Have your office managers, title clerks and
F & | managers reserve these dates now:

July 14 ... Fond du Lac - Holiday Inn
July 16 ..o Madison - Sheraton Inn
July 21 o La Crosse - Days Inn
July 22 Eau Claire - Ramada
July 23 ... Hayward - Country Inn & Suites
August 11............... Waukesha - Country Inn Hotel
August 12............. Green Bay - Holiday Inn Airport
August 13, Wausau - Ramada

Watch for more detailed information to be mailed
soon!

Criminal Actions

Bowell, Bark, Richland Center ¥ Pled guilty to two felony
counts of theft and was sentenced to ten years probation and
$25,000 restitution for borrowing money against vehicles he
didn’t own.

Fraaza, Ivan, Ringle % Asthe owner of Fraaza Used Cars,
Fraaza was sentenced in federal court to ten monthsin prison,
a$10,000 fine and restitution of $14,990.50. Fraaza pled
guilty to providing false odometer information to vehicle
purchasers. Judge Barbara Crabb imposed the maximum
sentence under federal sentencing guidelines. She said that
her reason for the maximum sentence was that Fraaza made
threatening statements to WisDOT investigators and
minimized his conduct in the fraudulent scheme.

Larson, David dba Capitol Corvette, Madison % David
Larson was sentenced in federal court to 71 monthsin

prison and ordered to pay $3.6 million in restitution. He'll
make payments of $100 per month while in prison and $500 per
month after he’sreleased. Larson was originally charged with
23 counts of fraud relating to investment and consignment
schemes. He pled guilty to seven counts of mail and wire fraud.
Judge Barbara Crabb imposed the maximum sentence under
federal sentencing guidelines. She stated her reason for the
maximum sentence was that Larson continually blamed others
during the trial and sentencing, refusing to take responsibility
for his actions.

Ziglinski, Rick dba Rick’s Car Yard, Milwaukee % Ziglinski
pled guilty to three misdemeanor counts of theft be fraud related
to false odometer statements. He was sentenced to two years
probation and 100 hours of community service.
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Dealer Actions

American Car Company, Cudahy—Special Order and a
three-day suspension of the dedler license for alowing
Jerry Pritchard to purchase and sell vehicles with his own
funds using American Car Company’s license.

Ashland Auto and Truck Recyclers, Ashland—Specid
Order and a 14-day suspension of the dealer license for
failing to keep records of vehicles purchased or acquired
for salvage purposes and taking possession of vehicles
without the previous owner abtaining a release of security
interest.

C & B Auto Brokers, Oak Creek—Specia Order issued
to thiswholesale dedler for the retail sale of a used motor
vehicle without having the proper license, concealing
retail sales activity by using the license of aretail deder,
failing to properly record vehicles in the used vehicle
logbook and forging a customer’ s name on a document
relating to the purchase of a motor vehicle.

Carsand Parts, Madison— Specia Order issued for
failing to keep the used vehicle logbook, copy of a
purchase contract, the used vehicle disclosure label,
odometer statement and application for title/registration
at the place of business during normal business hours. In
addition, the dealer acknowledged failing to disclose
“rebuilt salvage” and unibody damage to prospective
customers, omitting the business namein al advertising,
and failing to have all salespeople properly licensed.

Craig and Craig Salvage, Milwaukee—Salvage dealer
license revoked for operating as aretail motor vehicle
dealer without a license.

Custom Auto Body, Superior—Specia Order and
citations issued for failing to enter vehiclesin the used
vehicle logbook, failing to display Wisconsin Buyers
Guides on vehicles offered for sale, failing to have
evidence of ownership for vehicles offered for sale and
failing to obtain incoming odometer statements.

First Class Service, Milwaukee—Salvage dealer license
suspended for thirty days for failing to keep records of
vehicles purchased or acquired for salvage purposes.

Hastings Auto Sales, Chaseburg—Special Order and
dealer license revoked for providing individuals access,
for afee, to awholesale motor vehicle auction which is
restricted to licensed motor vehicle dedlers, and
processing the paperwork necessary for the individuals to
purchase motor vehicles.

Northern Auto Sales, Superior—Special Order and
citations issued for failing to enter a vehicle owned by the
dealer in the used vehicle logbook, failing to display a
Wisconsin Buyers Guide on a vehicle offered for sale,
failing to obtain salvage titles in the deal ership name and
failing to obtain incoming odometer statements.

Wheel Exchange, Inc., Glendale—Specia Order issued

to thiswholesale dealer for the retail sale of a used motor
vehicle without having the proper license and concealing

aretall sale by using the license of aretal dealer.
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