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: Our new state budget is in place and that

__means changes to fees and pohcres Thr

ecial issue is devoted fo lettmg you! Im W
es in store

The Vll apphcatron for title and -
: »reglstratron will be rev1sed soon to reﬂect the -
- changes. You may continue to use your:

. current supply of MV1ls if you wrrte in the
. correct fees. : o

' The De'aler‘Section’wotﬂd like to take"this -

. Investigation Unit Supervisor, Kevin
- Konopacki. Kevin has been wi
 Section for nearly ten years as

» am Specialist. He is recogmzed
e ally as a leader in odometer and ith
: fraud enf ' cement -

- programs that originate in another state.

- Wisconsin’s Consumer Act provisions are
very spec1ﬁc about disclosures, forms and »
repossessions. It’s a good idea to contact the
Department of Financial Institutions,
Wisconsin Consumer Act Section, at (608)

.264-7969 for a review of any program you re
consrdermg joining.
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opportunrty to recognize the new Freld - |

'_:fSpec1ahst Investigator, and Odometer ‘Fraudf;:-

i Be careful about signing up wrth rent-to-own .

Budget bill brings
changes for dealers

Wisconsin’s new state budget brings a number of changes
affecting dealers. Here are the changes and effective dates.

Title fee increase

Effective October 1, 2001, the fee for an original Wisconsin title is
$25. The $3 increase raises the environmental impact fee WisDOT
collects on behalf of the Department of Natural Resources from $6 to
$9. The MV11 application for title/registration is in the process of |
being revised. You should begin collecting the new fee for any vehicles |
delivered on or after October 1*. You may continue to uses your

current supply of MV11s, but write in and collect $25 for the title. The

fee for a replacement title remains unchanged at $8.

Theft of rented/leased vehicles

Effective September 1, 2001, if you rent or lease a motor vehicle to
someone who intentionally fails to return it, you can report it stolen as
soon as the lease or rental agreement expires. In the past, the law
defining what constitutes theft required a 10-day waiting period before
the leased or rented item was considered stolen. The 10-day waiting
period for vehicles made it less likely that they would be recovered
because, during that time, they could be moved out of state, have
identification numbers altered or be sold to an unsuspecting buyer.

Special plate issuance fee

In order to have a more uniform fee structure, the fee to issue or
reissue some special plates will be raised from $10 to $15 effective
March 1, 2002. Plates affected are Amateur Radio, Collector,
Endangered Resources and Wisconsin National Guard. In addition, the
surviving spouse of a qualified holder of a special military group plate
may have the plate reissued for a $15 fee.

Veteran plate for motorcycles
A special military group plate for qualified veterans to use on
motorcycles will be available after March 1, 2002.

Low Speed Vehicles

All provisions relating to Low Speed Vehicles (LSVs) were vetoed.
Two separate bills are now pending in the legislature to spell out the
details about sales, equipment and operation of LSVs. Meanwhile, off-
road operation continues to be the only legal use of LSVs in
Wisconsin.




Dealer Alert

“Title Only”

Recent Dealer Section investigations, performed in the
Milwaukee area, have suggested that there is a developing
problem regarding the sale of vehicles as “Title Only.”
Selling a vehicle as title only is not in itself against the law.
However, allowing consumers to drive a vehicle off the
dealer lot without proper registration is a violation.

A number of Milwaukee dealerships were recently mailed an
anonymous questionnaire in an attempt to evaluate this
problem. It was determined that nearly 7% of the vehicles
being sold by the participating dealerships were sold as title
only. Most of the dealerships involved in the study made it
clear that they do not approve of customers driving off of the
lot without registration. However, some dealers, especially
those providing service to lower income buyers, are worried
that enforcing the registration requirements would adversel+
impact their business.

Many of the individuals driving a vehicle without registration
- do so because they are not eligible for that registration (e.g.,
too many tickets), or don’t want to pay the fee. Looking the
other way is done to limit the risk of losing a sale, but also
puts dealers at risk of receiving significant sanctions against
their licenses, and severely limits the ability of law
enforcement to identify non-conforming vehicles.

Protect yourself by not allowing vehicles to be driven off
your lot without registration. Again, we thank the
dealerships that participated in this study.

Odometer tampering on exempt cars

Beware of the potential risks when purchasing vehicles
through a wholesale auction, especially an out-of-state
establishment. WisDOT investigators have been finding cases
of odometer tampering in which the person performing the
“rollback” felt that it wasn’t a problem as long as the vehicle
was over ten years old, and marked exempt. While a vehicle
over ten years old is exempt from odometer disclosure

requirements, a “rollback,” or other form of odometer

tampering, is still illegal. The five most recent cases being
investigated by the Odometer Fraud Unit have involved
“rollbacks” on vehicles that are over ten model years old.

All of these cases have, or are likely to, result in major fines .
and payments of restitution, suspension of the offending

dealer’s license, and possible jail sentences.

Use a common sense buying approach. Look for evidence of
the dashboard or instrument pod being removed. Determine
whether the vehicle miles appear to match the wear patterns.
Look the vehicle over carefully, and make a judgment using
your product knowledge and experience. Are the miles low,
but the tires new or mismatched by size, type or brand? Have
parts been replaced that normally would not have been
replaced on a low mileage vehicle? Pay attention to parts
such as batteries, hoses and clamps, fan or air conditioning
Relts, starters and alternators. Is there excessive wear in the
‘tor, especially in the driver’s area? Look for

maintenance stickers, warranties or other paperwork that
may indicate a higher mileage. They may be found under the
liood, on the air cleaner, on the doorjambs, in the glove box,
under the seats or in the trunk. A vehicle titled in the selling
dealer’s name is another “red flag.” One should also examine
the number of miles driven, in relation to the date on the
previous title. For example, a lengthy time span, with a
relatively low amount of additional mileage should command
a closer examination.

The Odometer Fraud Unit discovers many of the rollbacks
through WisDOT’s weekly odometer discrepancy report. .
However, to protect yourself, it is important to steer clear of
vehicles with odometer discrepancies.

Wis. Dept. of Transportation
Dealer Section

P.O. Box 7909, Room 806
Madison, WI 53707-7909




