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Training videos now
available for dealers
   Years in the making — exotic locations throughout Wisconsin — a
cast of hundreds — the story you've been waiting for . . . The Right Way
— A Guide for Motor Vehicle Dealers is now available on video tape
with a companion guidebook.
   The video helps us accomplish two goals:
• Provide consistent, current information that's easy to work with, and
• Speed up the process of issuing dealer licenses.
   We’ve spent a year pilot-testing a system of issuing first-time dealer
licenses using the video and guidebook as training tools. The system
allows us to issue a license as soon as the paperwork is complete instead
of having to wait until a field investigator could visit the dealership for a
face-to-face training session. In the past year, 170 licenses have been
issued with the video and guidebook.
   The Right Way covers three primary topics:
• Record-keeping and Disclosure Rules
• The Purchase Contract
• Odometer Statements and Title/Registration Applications.
The guidebook provides additional material on these topics and includes
copies of forms, helpful phone numbers and copies of all back issues of
Plain Dealing.
A second training video on the Truth in Mileage Act (TIMA) called
TIMA: It’s the Mileage that Counts is also available for purchase. This
video provides an overview of the federal Truth in Mileage Act and has a
companion guidebook available as well. The guidebook contains detailed
information on how to handle the paperwork involved in both acquiring
and selling vehicles. It includes samples of completed forms and step-by-
step instructions on how to fill them out. To order:

“Nothing astonishes men so much as
common sense and plain dealing.”

R. W. Emerson
  Thanks to all of you who entered the ad contest
in the last issue! You are a tough group to fool.
The contest winner is Jody Schutte of Zimbrick,
Inc. in Madison. Jody identified and clearly
explained 12 errors in the ad. (This is especially
impressive because I thought I was putting 10
errors in the ad—Jody found two errors in two
spots I counted as one each.) Congratulations,
Jody! A video and guidebook are on their way to
you.
   For those of you who would like to order your
own copy of The Right Way, be sure to read the
cover story. This issue is also packed with
information on changes in vehicle emission law,
title fees and policy developments. Hang on to it
for future reference!
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VideosVideos
The Right Way—A Guide for Motor Vehicle Dealers $12.00
TIMA: It’s the Mileage that Counts $12.00

(All prices include tax and shipping.)
Make your check payable to V.I.P. Duplicating Services and mail it to:

V.I.P. Duplicating Services
6430 Bridge Road
Madison, WI  53713

GuidebooksGuidebooks
  The Right Way—A Guide for Motor Vehicle Dealers $2.00
  TIMA: Wisconsin Implementation Guide $2.00
  Make your check payable to Registration Fee Trust and mail it to:

Wisconsin Dept. of Transportation
Dealer Section
P.O. Box 7909
Madison, WI  53707-7909
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The Right Way

Purchase Contracts

   Your customer has decided on a car—you sit down to
draw up the purchase contract—the hard part is over, and
you can just coast from here—right? Wrong!

The purchase contract is a legal document binding both
parties. It’s important to complete it the right way.

The Wisconsin Administrative Code Chapter Trans 139
covers purchase contract requirements in detail. Some of
the most often overlooked requirements we see on purchase
contracts are:

• Include the salesperson’s full name and license
number in the space provided.

• Place the required warning on the face of the
contract when selling a vehicle with uncorrected
safety defects:

 WARNING! This vehicle cannot be legally
operated on Wisconsin highways and may not
be safe.

• Rebates must be listed separately and include
information on whether the buyer or the dealer is to
receive the rebate.

• Buyer’s representations at the bottom of the
contract should be completed for the dealership’s
protection.

• Any changes made to a contract must be initialed
by both parties.

   We’ve also encountered some other purchase contract
issues recently:

u Dealer documentation (DOC) fees aren’t allowed in
Wisconsin. Trans 139.05 (8) specifically prohibits these
service fees.

A dealer licensee shall not assess a purchaser an
additional service fee or charge for completing any sales-
related vehicle inspection or forms which are required by
law or rule.

   Some of our neighboring states do allow limited DOC
fees. For example, Illinois dealers may charge up to $40 in
paperwork fees. Wisconsin dealers may charge a service fee
to someone consigning a vehicle through them because that
person is actually a seller, not a purchaser.

♦ When a contract is rewritten (instead of amended) you
need to indicate on the face of the second contract that
it supersedes the first contract. You must provide your
customer with copies of both contracts and you must
keep a copy of both contracts in your file.

♦ Beware of the difference between using a discount and
increasing a customer’s trade-in allowance. If a deal
falls through (because the vehicle was not available for
delivery within 15 days after the anticipated delivery
date or if acceptable financing was not obtained) and
you’ve already sold the customer’s trade-in, you must
refund the trade-in allowance stated on the contract to
the customer. You may not want to find yourself paying
more for a vehicle than it’s worth.

♦ If you’ve indicated on a purchase contract that a
vehicle has remaining manufacturer’s warranty, and
you later determine that no warranty remains—the
dealership is responsible for living up to the terms of
the warranty.

♦ Remember, no contract can be written for a used
vehicle until the vehicle is inspected and a used vehicle
disclosure label is completed.

Question:  A customer refuses delivery of a car after
she signed a contract to buy it. Is your dealership
entitled to keep her down payment? Under what
circumstances?

Answer: The dealership may keep a customer’s down
payment for non-acceptance of delivery if all of
these conditions are true:

♦ A penalty amount not exceeding 5% was written in on
the contract.

♦ The down payment does not exceed the penalty
amount (anything over the penalty amount must be
refunded to the customer within 24 hours).

♦ The contract was not subject to the customer
arranging financing or approving financing arranged
by the dealership. (Or, if financing was involved, the
customer did obtain or approve the financing.)

♦ The vehicle was available for delivery within 15 days
of the stated delivery date.
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News in Brief
Emission test changes planned
   Changes are proposed for Wisconsin’s Vehicle Inspection
Program which may take effect as early as January 1, 1993.
The Vehicle Inspection Program applies to vehicles
domiciled in Kenosha, Milwaukee, Ozaukee, Racine,
Washington and Waukesha counties. Sheboygan County
will be added to the list in July, 1993.

1. Newer vehicles will be tested less often.
Studies show that newer vehicles are less likely to fail
an emission test—so they will be tested every other
year (at 2, 4, and 6 years, then every year after that).

2. Older vehicles will be tested.
All vehicles from model year 1968 on will be subject to
emission testing. Those from model years 1968–1974
will receive emission tests only—not equipment
inspections.

3. Waiver cost limit will increase.
Waivers for vehicles that fail the emission test will only
be issued to vehicle owners who can prove they’ve
spent at least $200 on emission-related repairs (for
model years 1981 or newer, or $75 for model years
1980 or older). These amounts will increase to $450 on
July 1, 1994. The $450 amount could be even higher
because it will be indexed for inflation.

4. Inspection when ownership changes.
Vehicles more than five model years old will be
required to be inspected upon change of ownership. The
department will notify consumers within five days of
processing title application paperwork that they have
45 days to bring the vehicle to an emission test site.
Both an emissions test and expanded equipment
inspection will be done if required.

5. Equipment inspection to expand.
Vehicles six years old and older (back to model year
1975) will undergo a comprehensive under-hood
inspection every three years at renewal time. In addition
to checking the catalytic converter, fuel filler restrictor
and fuel cap, inspectors will also check the air system,
positive crankcase ventilation system, exhaust gas
recirculation system and evaporative canister.

   Even with these changes, dealers will still only be
required to perform a visual inspection of the emission
system. You need to determine whether all components of
the emission system are there. If a component is missing or
clearly isn’t functioning, that information must be disclosed
to a prospective buyer. However, you aren’t required to
know whether a vehicle will pass an emission test. Stating
that the components are there and appear to be working is
not a guarantee that the car will pass an emission test.

   There is an aid to performing the visual inspection of
emission components. Since 1968 the Environmental
Protection Agency has required vehicle manufacturers to
put a sticker under the hood listing all emission-related
components.

   The department is looking at the possibility of making
emission pre-tests available to dealers. The details aren’t
worked out yet—but you should know that if you do an
emission pre-test and the vehicle fails, you must disclose
that to a prospective buyer or repair the vehicle if you’re in
the seven-county area.

   If you have questions about the new emission-testing
requirements or would like to receive a brochure with more
detailed information, contact Judy Cappaert at the
Milwaukee District Office of the Vehicle Inspection
Program—phone (414) 266-1094.

Title fee change
   A $7.50 “environmental surcharge” will be added to
motor vehicle title transfer fees beginning December 1,
1992. This changes the fee for transferring a title or issuing
an original Wisconsin title from $5 to $12.50.

   The fee change is a result of the Non-Point Source
Pollution Bill enacted by the state legislature earlier this
year. The Department of Natural Resources will use the
surcharge to fund pollution and erosion-control programs.

   Applications for title (forms MV1 and MV11) and other
Department of Transportation forms are being revised to
show the fee change and effective date. You may continue
to use up your current supply of forms if you collect (and
write in) the new $12.50 fee. Other title and registration
fees, including the $8 fee for a replacement title, will remain
the same.

   Wisconsin dealers received a special mailing with more
details about the title fee change in late October.

Extended warranty warning
   Beware of doing business with this company which may
try to sell you vehicle service contracts:

Ed Lemco & Associates
P.O. Box 1779
Albany, OR 97321

   The Office of the Commissioner of Insurance tells us this
company hasn’t obtained authority to do business in
Wisconsin. The company has been ordered to stop soliciting
new business, adhere to contractual obligations of
warranties currently in force, pay a forfeiture for
nonresponse and provide information requested.

   If you have questions about whether a company selling
service contracts is authorized to do business in Wisconsin,
call Insurance Examiner Rhonda Shaw at the Office of the
Commissioner of Insurance—phone (608) 267-7186.
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Wisconsin passes “Secret
Warranty” law
   A new section in Chapter 218 requires motor vehicle
manufacturers to inform consumers of the existence of a
warranty adjustment program. An “adjustment program” is
defined as an extended policy program under which a
manufacturer agrees to pay for all or part of a condition
that may substantially affect the vehicle’s durability,
reliability or performance. “Adjustment program” doesn’t
include service provided under a written warranty, safety or
emission-related recall program or individual adjustments
made on a case-by-case basis.

   Under the law (which took effect September 1, 1992)
manufacturers will need to establish a procedure to inform
consumers of adjustment programs, including notifying
consumers by first class mail within 90 days of an
adjustment program being adopted. Dealers must be
notified in writing within 30 days of the program being
adopted.

   Manufacturers will also have to inform consumers who
buy or lease a new vehicle of their rights under this law
using the following language:

Sometimes . . . (manufacturer’s name) offers a special
adjustment program to pay all or part of the cost of
certain repairs beyond the terms of the warranty. Check
with your motor vehicle dealer to determine whether
any adjustment program is applicable to your vehicle.

   Consumers will also be eligible for reimbursement of
repair expenses if they paid for repairs before learning of
the manufacturer’s adjustment program. To do so, a
consumer needs to make a written claim to the
manufacturer within two years of paying for the repair. The
manufacturer then has 21 business days to notify the
consumer whether the claim will be allowed or denied. If
the claim is denied, specific reasons must be given in
writing.

   Consumers may bring court actions to recover damages
caused by a violation of this law. If the consumer wins, the
court will award double damages plus court costs and
attorney fees.

Dealer Section installs
new phone system
   Calls to the Dealer Section are being directed more
efficiently thanks to a new automated phone system. Callers
with touch tone phones can even get information on dealer
licensing after hours and leave a name and address to have
application forms mailed.

   To use the system, call us at (608) 266-1425. If you have
a touch tone phone you’ll be able to choose which area of
the Dealer Section you want to speak to: Business
Licensing, Consumer Assistance, Odometer Investigations
or get a listing of staff names and phone extensions. Once
you’ve chosen an area, you’re offered other choices—such
as listening to information on how to qualify for the
different types of dealer licenses and having an application
kit sent to you.

   During regular business hours (Monday–Friday, 7:45–
4:30) you always have the option of speaking to one of our
representatives. If all lines are busy, you’ll be asked to
leave your name and phone number so we can call you back
(and save you some long distance charges). Give it a try—
we think you’ll be less likely to hear a busy signal and more
likely to get information you need.

Farewell, mobile home dealers
   Mobile home dealer and salesperson licensing has been
transferred to the Department of Administration, Division
of Housing. The change took effect July 1, 1992. The
Division of Housing is headquartered on the fourth floor of
the new Department of Administration building at 101 E.
Wilson Street in Madison. Their phone number is (608)
264-9596 and mailing address is P.O. Box 8944, Madison,
WI 53708-8944.

   Ross Kinzler of the Wisconsin Manufactured Housing
Association presented an award to the Dealer Section for
exceptional service to the manufactured housing industry.
We’ve enjoyed our long working relationship with mobile
home dealers and will continue to license recreational
vehicle dealers and salespersons.

Dealer Alert
   Don’t photocopy driver licenses of people who are test-
driving your vehicles. While you do need to look at the
driver license before allowing someone to test-drive, and
you may even want to write the information down, photo-
copying a driver license is prohibited by s. 343.43 (1) (f),
stats., “No person shall: (f) Reproduce by any means
whatever a copy of a license.”
   If you provide loaner cars to your service department
customers, be sure they’re properly registered. Dealer
plates and cardboard “License Applied For” plates cannot
be used on loaner vehicles.

   No license plate is necessary when driving a vehicle to
or from a salvage inspection. Section 341.05 (19),
Wisconsin Statutes, states that a vehicle is exempt from
registration when previously registered and being operated
to or from a salvage inspection location.
   Dealers must inspect and disclose the general condition
and safety equipment of all vehicles they offer for sale. A
salvage inspection to retitle a rebuilt salvage vehicle is not a
substitute for your own inspection and completing the used
vehicle disclosure label.
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Policy Briefings
VIN Inspections—which dealers
may perform them
   Employees or agents of licensed dealers are authorized by
the Wisconsin Administrative Code Chapter Trans 155 to
perform vehicle identification number (VIN) inspections on
out-of-state vehicles. The vehicle must be in the dealer’s
possession and offered for sale by the dealer.

   Some wholesale auctions, salvage pools and wholesale
dealers have been conducting VIN inspections as a
convenience to retail dealers. The administrative intent of
Chapter Trans 155 was to have the inspection performed as
close to the point of retail sale as possible. We’ve developed
the following policies to clarify which dealers may perform
VIN inspections:

• Wholesale auctions may not perform VIN inspections.

• Wholesale dealers may only perform VIN inspections
when applying for title in their own dealership name.

• Motor vehicle salvage pools may only perform VIN
inspections when applying for title in the name of an
insurance company.

• Retail dealers may not use a Power of Attorney to
authorize a wholesale auction, salvage pool or
wholesale dealer to perform VIN inspections on their
behalf.

• Retail dealers may perform VIN inspections when
titling vehicles in their own dealership name or in their
retail purchaser’s name.

   The procedure for performing a VIN inspection requires
both the vehicle and the title to be present. The person
performing the inspection writes the VIN down as observed
on the vehicle, then compares the number to the VIN on the
title. This clearly prohibits a VIN inspection when a vehicle
is sold “title attached.”

Salvage pools have 12 days
to furnish title
   As licensed wholesale dealers, motor vehicle salvage
pools have been required to furnish title to buyers
immediately upon sale. In practice, salvage pools act as the
intermediary between sellers and buyers of salvaged
vehicles—they don’t own the vehicles and don’t have title in
their name. Their operation is similar to a wholesale auction
dealer. Therefore, salvage pools have the same amount of
time (12 days) as a wholesale auction to deliver title to the
buyer.

What’s in a name?
   Doe Enterprises, Inc. does business as John’s Auto Sales.
In which cases should the legal corporate name be used,
and when may the trade name or dba be used? We issue
your dealer license under your legal corporate name and
also print any trade names you’ve reported to us on your
license certificate.

   Your trade name may be used on your business sign and
in any advertising. When writing a purchase contract, you
must use your legal corporate name. You may add the trade
name if you wish. The legal corporate name must also be
used on all title/registration documents—again with the
option of adding the trade name if you choose.

   If you do use a trade name or dba, be sure it is listed
correctly on your license certificate. The department does
not have authority to regulate which trade name a dealer
chooses to use and will not intervene in disputes between
dealers or dealers and manufacturers concerning the use of
a particular name. When choosing a trade name, you should
keep in mind that while we can’t stop you from using a
particular name, a lawsuit by a registered owner of the
name would stop you.

Paperwork Pointers
..VIN inspections are still required on vehicles that were
last titled in another state. Being able to perform your own
VIN inspections doesn’t exempt you from doing them.
Overlooking them means delays for your customers.

..When ordering temporary plates, please be sure to put
your dealer license number on your request. It allows us to
process your order much faster.

..For dealer trades of new vehicles, it’s important to
preserve the chain of ownership by completing a
conforming odometer statement. Most manufacturer’s
statements of origin don’t conform to Truth in Mileage Act
requirements and can’t be used to make odometer

statements. Use a conforming attachment (such as the
MV2115 reassignment form) to make the statement.

..Avoid delays in receiving new salesperson licenses—be
sure you’re using the correct form. The most recent
salesperson license application form MV2184 has a
revision date of 12/90. Using this form will help ensure
you’ve paid the correct fees. If you need a free supply of
the latest revision, mail your request to:

Maps and Publication Sales
Wisconsin Department of Transportation
P.O. Box 7713
Madison, WI  53707-7713
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1992 Licensing Actions
Auto Haus on Velp, Green Bay—Special Orders were issued
to the dealership, salesperson Robert Houge and an
unlicensed individual, Bradley Lueck, for participating in a
scheme allowing Lueck to buy and sell vehicles using Auto
Haus on Velp’s motor vehicle dealer license. Lueck and the
dealership also paid civil forfeitures of $1,500 each.

Avello Motor Car Sales, Inc., Milwaukee—Commissioner
of Transportation Conradt upheld the Department of
Transportation’s denial of Avello’s dealer license application.
The denial was based on an unresolved consumer complaint
involving failure to transfer title and properly disclose the
condition and mileage of a car sold on consignment.

B & B Auto, Eau Claire—Dealer surrendered wholesale
license instead of having citations written following an
investigation into misconduct.

Beno’s Auto Towing, Milwaukee—A Special Order was
issued for failure to keep records of vehicles purchased or
acquired for salvage and failure to mail titles or bills of sale to
the department within 30 days.

Bob’s Auto and Truck Repair Center, Milwaukee—A
Special Order was issued for allowing an unlicensed
individual to use a dealership Buyer Identification Card to
gain entry to a salvage pool, buy salvage vehicles and resell
them to the public.

Clements Sugar Bowl Salvage, Mauston—Surrendered
salvage dealer license after Juneau County District Attorney
charged them with 44 counts of failure to keep records.

Dalles Auto Sales, Inc., St. Croix Falls—A Special Order
was issued for selling new vehicles without a franchise and
participating in a scheme to conceal unlawful sales.

Friendly Auto Sales, Cudahy—A Special Order was issued
for knowingly selling vehicles to an unlicensed dealer.

Ideal RV and Auto, Chippewa Falls—Surrendered motor
vehicle dealer license because of allegations of odometer
tampering. A criminal investigation is continuing.

Jankowski Motor Sales, Inc., Milwaukee—Commissioner of
Transportation Conradt upheld the department’s denial of

Jankowski’s motor vehicle dealer license. The denial was
based on failure to maintain a sales tax seller permit and
making material misstatements on the license application and
financial statement.

KBS Company, Inc. dba Midway Motor Mart, Chippewa
Falls—Motor vehicle dealer license was revoked during an
ongoing investigation into alleged odometer tampering.
Investigators also found the dealership lacked the necessary
financial resources to continue in business.

Terry Larsen Chevrolet, Inc., Webster—A Special Order
was issued for providing new vehicles to a dealer who was not
franchised to sell them and participating in a scheme to
conceal unlawful sales.

Lisbon Motors, Milwaukee—A Special Order was issued for
failing to give a written installment contract to some
customers who financed vehicles through the dealership,
keeping license plates and titles for vehicles financed, and
failing to properly disclose vehicle condition.

Milwaukee Dealer Mart, Inc., Milwaukee—Commissioner
of Transportation Conradt upheld the department’s denial of
the dealership’s motor vehicle dealer license. The denial was
based on failure to maintain a sales tax seller permit.

Mobile Homes, Inc. dba Renard Homes, Appleton—A
Special Order was issued for engaging in net sales
commissions on consigned mobile home sales.

Mound View Motors, Adams—Special Orders were issued
to the dealership and two individuals, James Carpenter and
Kenneth Young, for participating in a scheme allowing the
individuals to conceal their activities as unlicensed dealers by
using Mound View’s dealer license. Carpenter and Young
also agreed to pay civil forfeitures of $250 each.

Norb’s Auto, Inc., Milwaukee—Surrendered motor vehicle
dealer license and signed an agreement with Milwaukee
District Attorney prohibiting any future involvement in
vehicle sales following an investigation into selling vehicles
to an unlicensed dealer.

Wis. Dept. of Transportation
Dealer Section
P.O. Box 7909, Room 806
Madison, WI  53707-7909


