
Wisconsin Dealer Autocycle Title/License Plate Application 
MV17        8/2020 Pursuant to Chapter 340, 341.08, 342.06 WI Statutes Wisconsin Department of Transportation 

How To Complete This Application 
If you have any questions regarding this application, call (608) 264-7447. 

To apply for title and/or license plates for your vehicle, you must complete Sections A through D as they apply. 
Include the original Certificate of Title (not a copy) for a used vehicle.  Include the Manufacturer’s Certificate of Origin for a new vehicle. 
Selling dealer:  Complete odometer statement on Certificate of Title or Manufacturer’s Certificate of Origin.  

To obtain a replacement title please use form MV2119, Replacement Title Application. 

Note: The electronic record held by the department is the official vehicle title record. 

This application is to be used only to title and/or register an autocycle.  For other vehicle types, submit form MV11, Wisconsin Title & 
License Plate Application, or Form MV15, Wisconsin Dealer Low Speed Vehicle Title & License Plate Application, as applicable. 

 
An autocycle is defined is a motor vehicle that: 

• has 3 wheels in contact with the ground 

• is designed with seating that does not require operators or any occupants to straddle or sit astride it 

• has a steering wheel 

• is originally manufactured to meet federal motor vehicle safety standards for motorcycles under 49 CFR part 571 
 

SECTION 

 A  Vehicle Owner Information 
Owner/Co-owner: The names that will be on the new title. 
“And” means all owners must sign the title to transfer 
ownership. “Or” means only one owner must sign the title. 

Social Security Number and Driver License Number: 
If you are applying as an individual, you are required to provide 
your Social Security Number, pursuant to 1997 Act 191, for the 
purposes of ss.49.22, Wis. Stats. Under the Social Security Act, 
42 USCS.405, (C)(i), the department and federal agencies may 
use the Social Security Number for purposes authorized by law. 

FEIN: Federal Employer Identification Number is required 
for corporations or other non-individual owners. 

Consent to Purchase:  If an owner is under 18, a legal 
custodian, parent or guardian must complete this section. 

Invisible disability notice to law enforcement form: 
wisconsindmv.gov/inv-dis or at DMV Service Centers. 

 B  Vehicle Information 
Salvage: 

• Vehicle less than 7 years old which has been damaged by 
collision or other occurrence to the extent that the cost of 
repairing the vehicle would exceed 70% of fair market value. 

• A vehicle last titled in another state as a salvage vehicle. 

Note: You cannot drive a salvage vehicle until it passes a 
salvage inspection, except to travel to the inspection site. 

Police/Taxi: A vehicle that has been used, or will be used, 
as a police vehicle or taxi. 

Flood Damaged: A vehicle damaged by water to the 
extent that the estimated or actual repair costs, whichever 
is greater, exceeds 70% of fair market value. 

Hail Damaged: A vehicle less than 7 years old damaged 
solely by hail to the extent that the estimated or actual 
cost, whichever is greater, to repair the vehicle exceeds 
70% of its fair market value, and repaired without 
replacing any exterior parts, s.340.01 Wis. Stats. 

 

 C  Loan Information: If you borrowed money for this vehicle, 

contact the lender for the correct information. Please show 
complete mailing address. Loan filing fee is $10.00.  Any title with 
a lien (loan) listed on or after July 30, 2012, will be sent to the lien 
holder. Vehicle owners will receive a Confirmation of Ownership 
and will receive the actual title when all liens are cleared. 

 D  Fees 
Title Fee: Applying for a title only (without plates) does not allow 
you to legally operate your vehicle on a Wisconsin roadway. To 
legally operate your vehicle, you must also apply for Wisconsin 
license plates. 

License Plate Fee:  Two-year registration only. Plates expire 
at the end of April in even-numbered years. Use chart below to  
determine license plate fee due based on your date of operation. 
 
Wheel Tax:  In addition to the annual autocycle (ACY) registration 
fee, an annual wheel tax applies when purchasing or renewing 
license plates if the vehicle is kept in a municipality or county that 
requires a wheel tax. Please visit wisconsindmv.gov/wheeltax for 
a complete list of wheel taxes. 

State Sales Tax: Pay 5% sales tax unless one of the reasons 
below applies. List the code number and information requested: 

 

CODE REASON 

1. Motor vehicle previously titled in Wisconsin and purchased 
from spouse, parent, child, spouse’s parent, child’s 
spouse, stepparent or stepchild. List appropriate one. 

2. Purchaser is Common or Contract Carrier using the 
vehicle exclusively as such. Show Authority Number. 

3. Lessor reporting gross receipts from rental or lease. 
Show Seller’s Permit or Use Tax Number. 

4. Purchaser is State of WI or other Federal 
or WI government unit or agency. 

5. Tax paid to another state. List state and submit proof. 

6. Purchaser is not a resident of WI and will not use motor vehicle 
in WI except to remove it from WI. Show residence state. 

8. Religious, charitable, educational or other nonprofit 
organization. List appropriate one and CES#. 

9. Other: List reason. 

 
 

Autocycle (ACY) License Plate (Registration) Fees 
Month MAY JUN JUL AUG SEP OCT NOV DEC JAN FEB MAR APR 

Fee $45.00 $41.25 $37.50 $33.75 $30.00 $26.25 $22.50 $18.75 $15.00 $11.25 $7.50 $3.75 
 

LOCAL SALES TAX — Determine which county the vehicle will be kept in and multiply the amount subject to tax by the tax rate if any) for that 

county. For county tax rate information, visit https://www.revenue.wi.gov/Pages/Apps/strb.aspx. 

For all tax questions, call the Wisconsin Department of Revenue at (608) 266-2776. 

Release of Nonexempt Information 

Under the Wisconsin open records law, the Wisconsin Department of Transportation must provide information from its records to requesters. 

If you do not want your name and address included in requests we receive for ten or more records, you may ask the department to withhold 

your name and address from those lists by checking the boxes at the bottom of the application. 

https://wisconsindmv.gov/inv-dis
https://wisconsindmv.gov/inv-dis
https://wisconsindmv.gov/wheeltax
https://wisconsindmv.gov/wheeltax
http://www.revenue.wi.gov/Pages/Apps/strb.aspx
http://www.revenue.wi.gov/Pages/Apps/strb.aspx


WISCONSIN DEALER AUTOCYCLE TITLE & 

LICENSE PLATE APPLICATION 
MV17  8/2020 

Processor ID No. Received – Date – Opened 

Title No. – New License Plate No. 

Amount Received – Document No. 

Check Cash 

DO NOT WRITE ABOVE THIS LINE. Complete form using BLUE or BLACK INK. 

Section A – Vehicle Owner Information 
Owner Legal Name (Last, First, Middle Initial OR Business Name) Birth Date Owner Social Security # or Driver License # or FEIN – Required 

Co-Owner Name (if any) (Last, First, Middle Initial) 

(check one) OR AND 

Birth Date Co-Owner Social Security # or Driver License # or FEIN – Required 

Street Address (include PO Box if applicable) City State ZIP Code Owner Daytime (Area Code) Telephone Number 

If this is a leased vehicle, list Lessee Name (Last, First, Middle Initial) Lessee Social Security # or Driver License # or FEIN – Required 

Lessee Street Address City State ZIP Code Lessee Daytime (Area Code) Telephone Number 

Consent to Purchase 

UNDER 18 
YEARS OLD 

I certify that I have legal custody of the person named as owner 
and consent to the purchase by such person and registration of 
the vehicle described in the applicant’s name. 

Date Signed Signature (legal custodian, parent or guardian) 

X 

NOTARY 
PUBLIC 

County Date my commission expires Date subscribed and sworn to before me Notary Signature 

X 
Section B - Vehicle Information 

Vehicle Identification Number Year Make Type (Autocycle Only.) Color Fleet No. (Optional) 

Wisconsin License Plate to Transfer or Temporary Plate Plate Type  Check if plates transferred between spouses/same-sex domestic partners. 

License plates cannot be transferred between other family members. 

Date You First Drove This Vehicle in Wisconsin Check any that apply (see instructions) 

 Title Only  Salvage  Police  Taxi  Flood Damaged  Hail Damaged 

Vehicle is kept in County City Village Town (check one) 

OF:    OF: 

    Section C - Loan Information 
Use this section if you are adding a new lien. Any title with a lien listed after July 30, 2012, will be sent to the lien holder rather than the owner. 

LIEN HOLDER #1 LIEN HOLDER #2  

Name of Lending Agency(s) or Person(s) Name of Lending Agency(s) or Person(s) 

Street Address (include PO Box if applicable) Street Address (include PO Box if applicable) 

City State ZIP Code City State ZIP Code 

Secured Party Number(s) (Area Code) Telephone Number Secured Party Number(s) (Area Code) Telephone Number 

Section D - Fees Tax Statement 

Original Title Fee – $164.50 $  

Purchase Price $ 
(WARNING: It is a crime to understate the purchase price) 

Less trade-in allowance  $  

Amount subject to tax $ 

State Sales Tax  (amount subject to tax × 0.05)  $  

Local Sales Tax  $ 

Loan Filing Fee – $10       (pay fee for each loan in Section C)    $  

License Plate Fee – $45  $  

Wheel Tax  $  

ENTER FEE TOTAL $  

    Vehicle Owner Certification 

All parties certify with their signature that to the best of their knowledge the 
information and statements on this application are true and correct. The prior 

Date Vehicle Purchased 
 Used  New 

Date Vehicle Delivered 

Trade-in 
Vehicle 

Year Make Vehicle Identification Number 

If tax exempt, enter code and reason (see instructions) 

LICENSED DEALER’S STATEMENT OF SALE AND WARRANTY 
For value received I hereby sell, assign or trade the vehicle described on this 
document to the purchaser(s) named in Section A and I certify that all liens shown 
on the Certificate of Title are paid. Wisconsin Dealer signature also serves as 
evidence of application for title/registration and payment of fees. 

Dealer Name Dealer Number (Area Code) Telephone Number 

Name of Selling Dealer’s Authorized Agent 

X 

owner’s odometer statement has been shown to the applicant and a copy 
of this completed application has been furnished the applicant. Odometer 
information must be completed on title or manufacturer’s certificate of origin. 

X 
(Owner Signature) (Date) 

X 
(Co-Owner Signature) (Date) 

(Signature of Selling Dealer’s Authorized Agent) (Date) 

Wisconsin Dealers: Submit state, county and local tax with form ST-12 
to WI Department of Revenue 

MAIL the original vehicle title (not a copy), application and check to: 

WI Dept. of Transportation 
PO Box 8070, Madison WI 53707-8070 

Make Check Payable To: Registration Fee Trust 


	Owner Legal Name Last First Middle Initial OR Business Name: 
	Birth Date: 
	Owner Social Security  or Driver License  or FEIN  Required: 
	CoOwner Name if any Last First Middle Initial check one OR AND: 
	undefined_2: Off
	undefined_3: Off
	Birth Date_2: 
	CoOwner Social Security  or Driver License  or FEIN  Required: 
	Street Address include PO Box if applicable City State ZIP Code: 
	Owner Daytime Area Code Telephone Number: 
	If this is a leased vehicle list Lessee Name Last First Middle Initial: 
	Lessee Social Security  or Driver License  or FEIN  Required: 
	Lessee Street Address City State ZIP Code: 
	Lessee Daytime Area Code Telephone Number: 
	I certify that I have legal custody of the person named as owner: 
	NOTARY: 
	Date my commission expires: 
	Date subscribed and sworn to before me: 
	Wisconsin License Plate to Transfer or Temporary Plate: 
	Plate Type: 
	Check if plates transferred between spousessamesex domestic partners: Off
	Date You First Drove This Vehicle in Wisconsin: 
	Title Only: Off
	Salvage: Off
	Police: Off
	Taxi: Off
	Flood Damaged: Off
	Hail Damaged: Off
	Name of Lending Agencys or Persons: 
	Name of Lending Agencys or Persons_2: 
	Street Address include PO Box if applicable: 
	Street Address include PO Box if applicable_2: 
	City State ZIP Code: 
	City State ZIP Code_2: 
	Secured Party Numbers: 
	Area Code Telephone Number: 
	Area Code Telephone Number_2: 
	Used: Off
	New: Off
	Date Vehicle Purchased: 
	undefined_4: 
	undefined_5: 
	Date Vehicle Delivered: 
	Tradein: 
	Make: 
	Vehicle Identification Number: 
	undefined_6: 
	undefined_7: 
	If tax exempt enter code and reason see instructions: 
	undefined_8: 
	undefined_9: 
	undefined_10: 
	undefined_11: 
	Dealer Name: 
	Dealer Number: 
	Area Code Telephone Number_3: 
	undefined_12: 
	Name of Selling Dealers Authorized Agent: 
	undefined_13: 
	Text2: 
	Text3: 
	Text4: 
	Text5: 
	Text6: 
	Text7: 
	Check Box8: Off
	Check Box9: Off
	Check Box10: Off
	Text11: 
	Text12: 
	Text13: 


