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Submit this statement with the Wisconsin Title/License Plate Application (MV1), for each titled vehicle. Enclose a payment of $69.50 for each titled vehicle, plus applicable sales taxes and registration fees.
Personal Information you provide may be used for secondary purposes [Privacy Law, s.15.04(1)(m)].
This document may be used by a Landlord to involuntarily transfer ownership of a titled recreational vehicle (less than 45 feet in length) or titled motor vehicle, that has been abandoned by a tenant on the premises of a landlord, in accordance with s.704.05(5) Wis. Stats.
By signing this document, you are certifying that you have completed the following steps prior to the sale of the vehicle: 
(See guidelines on the following page)
|_|  Obtained an official Vehicle Record
|_|  Provided notification to the tenant, vehicle owner(s), AND any lien holders on record, the date the vehicle will be sold 
VEHICLE INFORMATION
	Vehicle Identification Number (VIN)
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	Vehicle Year
[bookmark: Text51]    
	Vehicle Make
[bookmark: Text52]     
	Vehicle Model
[bookmark: Text53]     
	State Vehicle is Titled
[bookmark: Text54]  

	Recorded Name of Vehicle Owner
[bookmark: Text55]     
	Recorded name of Vehicle Co-Owner
[bookmark: Text56]     

	Recorded Name of Lien Holder(s)
[bookmark: Text57]     
	Lien Release(s) attached
[bookmark: Check1][bookmark: Check2]|_| YES   |_| NO


DISPOSITION OF THE VEHICLE (must check one)
[bookmark: Check3][bookmark: Check5]|_| Sold to Purchaser Identified    |_| Junked
SALE TYPE (must check one)
	[bookmark: Check6]|_| PUBLIC*
	Date of Sale
[bookmark: Text58]     
	Sale Price
[bookmark: Text59]     
	[bookmark: Check7]|_| PRIVATE*
	Date of Sale
[bookmark: Text60]     
	Sale Price
[bookmark: Text61]     

	*A public sale is an auction in which the public is invited by advertisement to appear for the purpose of bidding on the vehicle.
	*A private sale is any sale in which the public is not invited by advertisement to appear for the purpose of bidding on the vehicle.


LANDLORD INFORMATION
	Name of Business or Person
[bookmark: Text62]     
	(Area Code) Telephone – Daytime
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	Authorized Business Representative’s Name
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	Authorized Business Representative’s Title
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	Street Address
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	City, State, ZIP Code
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PURCHASER INFORMATION
	Name of Purchaser
     
	(Area Code) Telephone – Daytime
     

	Street Address
     
	City, State, ZIP Code
     

	Purchaser Driver License Number
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	Purchaser FEIN Number (if applicable)
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I am a landlord who has entered into a rental agreement with the recorded owner of this vehicle. I certify that to the best of my knowledge the information contained on this document is true and correct. I acknowledge that the new certificate of title issued in the name of the transferee as owner, as a result of abandonment of property to a landlord, shall reflect any perfected security interest(s) appearing on the original owner’s certificate of registration if a lien release is not provided. I agree to protect and indemnify the Wisconsin Department of Transportation in any claim arising out of the issuance of title in the name of the purchaser for the sale on the above-described titled motor vehicle.

			
	(Seller or Business Representative Signature)	(Date)

[bookmark: Text68]     	
	(Print Name)
NOTE: This document is given to the Wisconsin Department of Transportation for the purpose of either junking the above described motor vehicle of record or transferring title of the motor vehicle on the records of the department. Falsifying information given in this document could result in a fine of up to $10,000 and imprisonment for up to five (5) years, or both.
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Landlord’s Eligibility to Dispose of Abandoned Vehicles
If a tenant vacates or is evicted from the premises and leaves behind a titled motor vehicle, you may store the vehicle until it is claimed or dispose of the vehicle in any way you determine appropriate, including by sale, junking, or titling the vehicle in your own name or business name. 
You must have provided written notice to the tenant, of your intent to not store any abandoned property left behind, when the tenant entered into or renewed their rental agreement.

How to proceed
Step 1 - Verify Ownership
You must verify the vehicle’s ownership and lien holder’s information, as required by law. If the vehicle is titled in Wisconsin, use form MV2896 Vehicle/Driver Record Information Request to obtain this information.
· If the vehicle is no longer on record with the Wisconsin Department of Transportation, you will need to contact the Vehicle Records Section at (608) 264-7447 or vehiclequestions@dot.wi.gov for information on alternative procedures.
· If the vehicle is titled in another state, you will need to contact that state to obtain ownership/lien holder’s information on record. You may also use our web site http://wisconsindmv.gov for information on how to verify ownership and obtain vehicle record information of vehicles titled in other states.

Step 2 - Notify owners and lien holders of intent to dispose of the vehicle
Once you have received ownership and lien holder verification, you must send written notice of your intent to not store the abandoned vehicle to the following:
· The tenant, personally or by regular or certified mail addressed to the tenant's last-known address.
· Any secured party of which you have actual notice, personally or by regular or certified mail addressed to the secured party's last-known address.
We suggest you send written notice by certified mail, “Return Receipt Requested” to the owners, and any lien holder of record notifying them:
· the vehicle will be sold if it is not claimed
· vehicle description, vehicle identification number (VIN), year, make, model
· the date, time, and location of a public sale OR 
the date a private sale will be held.

[bookmark: _Hlk504659359]Step 3 - Noncompliance
If the vehicle is not claimed prior to the date stated in your notice, you may sell or otherwise dispose of it in accordance with the notice.
	
	
Step 4 – Selling the vehicle
You may sell the vehicle either publicly or privately. An example of a public sale is an auction that has been advertised in a publication or website in which vehicles are normally bought and sold. A private sale would be the sale of the vehicle to a new owner without offering it to the public.

[bookmark: _Hlk504658802]If you dispose of the vehicle by private or public sale, you may send the proceeds of the sale, minus any costs of sale and any storage charges, to the Department of Administration for deposit in the appropriation under s. 20.505 (7) (h). Wis. Stats. 
[bookmark: _Hlk504659519]Be sure to retain a photocopy of all notices to owners, lien holders, advertisements of the sale and receipts for your records.

[bookmark: _Hlk504659415]Step 5 - To obtain a Wisconsin Title after the sale
The landlord must furnish to the buyer a completed form MV2882 Abandonment of Property to a Landlord. The buyer must submit this form and an MV1 Wisconsin Title and License Plate Application along with the appropriate fees.
[bookmark: _Hlk504548559]If the vehicle is less than ten model years old, the landlord is also required to complete and furnish form MV2488 Vehicle Transfer and Odometer Mileage Statement to the Buyer. This form is not available online, however; it may be obtained from a Division of Motor Vehicles customer service center or by contacting the Vehicle Records Section at (608) 264-7447 or vehiclequestions@dot.wi.gov. Photocopies of form MV2488 are not acceptable.
· You may obtain forms MV1, MV2882, and MV2896 online using the following web site: http://www.wisconsindmv.gov/drivers/vehicles/veh-forms/htm
· You may also obtain these forms from a Division of Motor Vehicles customer service center or by contacting the Vehicle Records Section at (608) 264-7447 or vehiclequestions@dot.wi.gov. 

Mail Completed Forms To:
Wisconsin Department of Transportation
Special Plates Unit
P.O. Box 7911
Madison, WI 53707-7911

[bookmark: _Hlk504659554]Service Members Civil Relief Acts
A person holding a lien on the property or effects of a service member may not, during any period of military service of the service member and for 90 days thereafter, foreclose upon or enforce any lien on such property or effects without a court order granted before foreclosure or enforcement. 50 App. U.S.C.A. s.537.
Any person who violates this paragraph shall be fined not more than $10,000 or imprisoned for not more than 9 months or both. s.321.62(14)(e), Wis. Stats.

Questions:
Call (608) 266-3041 between 8:00 a.m. and 4:30 p.m. Monday through Friday.
Email: special-plates.dmv@dot.wi.gov
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