Wisconsin State Patrol awards ceremony honors excellence in public service

​Release date: February 17, 2022

The Wisconsin Department of Transportation honors 62 Wisconsin State Patrol employees for their lifesaving efforts and extraordinary public service. 

Some of the awards recognize officers who saved lives or put themselves in physical danger. Others acknowledge accomplishments that have made Wisconsin’s public services more efficient and effective to meet WisDOT’s goal of highway safety. 

“The State Patrol embodies the highest standards of professionalism and service. Those employees who’ve gone above and beyond to patrol our state’s highways, develop safety initiatives and​ streamline services are indispensable,” WisDOT Secretary Craig Thompson said.

Every year, award recipients are nominated by their peers who appreciate their dedication to the division’s values. Sworn officers and civilian employees are honored across all sections of the division of State Patrol. 

"We all share the pride in our hearts as we recognize the exceptional individuals who have carried out their duties under extraordinary circumstances. Through these acts and achievements, you have made Wisconsin a safer and better place,” Wisconsin State Patrol Superintendent Anthony Burrell said. 

Secretary Thompson and Superintendent Burrell were joined by Governor Tony Evers during a virtual awards ceremony Thursday evening to recognize the award recipients.  

“Whether enforcing our traffic laws and sharing information about the importance of safe driving, developing new transportation initiatives and services, helping folks get to work safely each day, or keeping traffic and the freight that our state’s key industries depend on flowing, State Patrol employees play a critical role in the safety of our people, our communities, and our state every day,” Gov. Evers said.  

More information about the awards recipients and their work is in the ceremony program and below.​

Lifesaving Award

Inspector Teresa Burchard
Trooper Matthew ChambersTomah
Trooper Cody DigreTomah
Trooper Cameron DouteFond du Lac
Trooper Philip GoldmanEau Claire
Trooper Joshua HelmerFond du Lac
Trooper Daniel HesterFond du Lac
Trooper Christina HoltzTomah
Trooper Carson KonkolTomah
Trooper George NegronWausau
Trooper Kevin PowellFond du Lac
Trooper Daniel RestrepoWausau
Trooper Ryan RothEau Claire
Trooper Christopher SaranieckiSpooner
Trooper Kory SchultzFond du Lac
Inspector Joseph StephensWaukesha


Lifesaving Effort Award

Inspector Teresa BurchardDeForest

Trooper Danny DanielsWaukesha
Trooper Jeffrey HoffmanDeForest

Inspector Brandon HowellWausau
Trooper Robert LiddellEau Claire
Trooper David MeredithWausau
Trooper Zachary MulhollandSpooner
Trooper Daniel RestrepoEau Claire
Trooper Kyle ScottWausau
Trooper Trevin SzulczewskiWausau
Trooper Robert UnruhEau Claire


Unit Citation 

Production Support Unit​
Section Chief David Harvey
Inspector Mark Fetzer
Geoffrey Grant
Scott Jennings
Brian Kalinoski
Inspector Travis Lauer
Jennifer Mobley
Inspector Thomas Tweedy
James Larson
Jacob Berger
Peter Blankenheim
Christine Goede
Fleet Installation Center
Trooper Brandon Ferrell
Benjamin Hoffman
Shelly Hughes
Shawn Murphy
Brandyn Rein
Jacob Rein
John Scherbert


Special Recognition

Award​Award recipientPost
Commendable ServiceJessica BaderHeadquarters
Commendable ServiceLt. Col. David FishHeadquarters
Meritorious ServiceTrooper David HeinischWaukesha
Meritorious ServiceTrooper Alexander PolizziWaukesha
Meritorious ServiceTrooper Cody RahnWaukesha
Meritorious ServiceTrooper Ryan RothEau Claire
Meritorious ServiceTrooper Briant RussellDeForest

Meritorious ServiceTrooper Keegan WilliamsWaukesha
Innovation and ExcellenceSection Chief David HarveyHeadquarters
Innovation and ExcellenceDarlene SchwartzHeadquarters
Innovation and Excellence

Lt. Daniel SteeleRetired
Innovation and ExcellenceLaura Vande HeyHeadquarters
Superintendent's CommendationTrooper Scott DarinWaukesha
Superintendent's CommendationTrooper Christina HoltzTomah
Superintendent's Commendation (2)Trooper Justin TemperlyDeForest

Superintendent's CommendationTrooper Logan ChristelFond du Lac
Superintendent's Star of RecognitionSgt. John HeffernanRetired


Employees of the Year

Award​Award recipientPost
Dispatcher of the YearDispatcher Colleen KeoughFond du Lac
Inspector of the YearInspector Josh MaurerEau Claire
Civilian Employee of the YearInvestigator Paul SchillingHeadquarters
Trooper of the YearTrooper Allen VickWaukesha

For more information, contact:

WisDOT Office of Public Affairs
(608) 266-3581, opa.exec@dot.wi.gov