Driver licenses that expire during COVID-19 public health emergency automatically extended 60 days
Release Date: March 18, 2020
To help slow the spread of COVID-19, Governor Evers has directed Wisconsin Department of Transportation Secretary-designee Craig Thompson to ensure continuation of essential services of the Division of Motor Vehicles (DMV) and protect the health and safety of citizens and employees.
After reviewing public-facing DMV services, Secretary Thompson authorized DMVs across the state to enact a one-day closure to deep clean and modify public spaces, minimize in-person transactions and direct customers to online services.
“Unfortunately, COVID-19 is having a dramatic impact on our communities. We want to help flatten the infection curve over the next few weeks to protect the most vulnerable among us. Limiting the need to visit a DMV while serving Wisconsin citizens is one of our efforts,” Secretary-designee Craig Thompson said. “All DMV services related to vehicles can be done online. We encourage our customers to visit wisconsindmv.gov for this information and avoid an unnecessary trip to a service center.”
DMV one-day closure and adjusted services
All DMV Customer Service Centers will be closed to the public on Friday, March 20. DMVs will use this time to deep clean each location and modify office space to allow additional social distancing practices when the service centers reopen on Monday, March 23.
Wisconsin DMV delivers vital services to Wisconsin residents. However, some functions are within DMV’s control and others remain state law. To continue to meet legal requirements, while protecting the public and staff, the following changes will be implemented temporarily:
- Driver licenses and CDLs that expire during this public health emergency will be automatically extended 60 days. Late fees will be waived. The driver record, visible to law enforcement, will show the extension and that the driver license is valid.
- All driver skills tests are being cancelled as of March 18 until further notice.
- Customers are being notified that Administrative Suspension hearings will be offered by telephone (or paper), not in-person.
Service centers will reopen with limited services
Social distancing remains a best practice to combat the spread of the virus and efforts. When Wisconsin DMVs reopen Monday, March 23, in-person customer service will be restricted, by appointment only, to:
- New driver licenses
- Issuing identification cards
To make an appointment, customers can use the Driver License Guide (wisconsindmv.gov/DLGuide). They can also use this guide to begin the paperwork and submit it electronically. Customers with questions may call Driver Services at (608) 264-7447.
Customers who do not book an appointment will be assisted in order of their arrival when appointments are not otherwise booked, and there is space within the lobby to wait. DMV will follow guidelines for public spacing requirements.
For a list of all services available online, visit wisconsindmv.gov. Vehicle transactions can also be completed via third party agents.
WisDOT continues to review all currently available alternatives to keep the public and employees safe. The DHS website remains the most up-to-date information source on COVID-19 outbreaks in Wisconsin.
For more information, contact:
WisDOT Office of Public Affairs