DMV extends emissions testing timeline

​March 23, 2020

To reduce the need for travel and in-person interactions during the COVID 19 health emergency, Gov. Tony Evers today announced an extended deadline for vehicle emission tests, which are required in southeastern Wisconsin.

“My priority during this crisis is to keep people home and safe,” Gov. Evers said. “I am directing my administration to find any opportunities to cooperate and cut nonessential travel so we can better fight COVID-19.”

The Wisconsin Department of Transportation (WisDOT) and the Department of Natural Resources (DNR) worked together to implement the extension and came to an agreement, which is required under state law.

“This is another opportunity for us to help slow the spread of the COVID-19 virus,” WisDOT Secretary-designee Craig Thompson said. “We are always working to find cooperative ways in state government to better protect the people of Wisconsin.”

“The vehicle inspection and maintenance program will continue to play an important role in reducing emissions from motor vehicles in Southeast Wisconsin and helps ensure we meet our Clean Air Act obligations,” DNR Secretary Preston Cole said. “However, during this public health emergency, it is important that we remain flexible.”

The extension affects vehicles in Kenosha, Milwaukee, Ozaukee, Racine, Sheboygan, Washington and Waukesha counties and makes the following changes:

  • Customers who have a routine vehicle registration renewal date after March 12 (when the Governor’s emergency Executive Order took effect) will have 90 days from their renewal date to complete an emission test and maintain valid registration. Customers should complete their registration by mail or online by the renewal date.  
  • Customers who obtained a new vehicle registration this year (January 26-March 12) will need to complete an emission test by June 10 to maintain valid registration.
  • Customers who apply for, or obtained, new registration after March 12 will have 90 days from their date of registration to complete an emission test and maintain valid registration. This gives customers another 45 days to complete the original requirement.

For more information, contact:

WisDOT Office of Public Affairs
(608) 266-3581,