Governor Walker welcomes 37 new officers to the Wisconsin State Patrol

​Release date: March 30, 2018

Governor Scott Walker today officially swore-in 37 new Wisconsin State Patrol officers during a graduation ceremony in La Crosse. Members of the State Patrol’s 63rd Recruit Class recently completed 26 weeks of comprehensive training that began September 24, 2017 at the Wisconsin State Patrol Academy at Fort McCoy.

“We stand in support of all those who serve in uniform, including these 37 new State Patrol troopers and inspectors,” said Governor Walker. “The primary mission of these brave men and women is to ensure safe travel for Wisconsin families and commerce. Thank you for your service and commitment to our state.”

The recent graduates have been assigned to work from one of the State Patrol’s five regional posts across the state. A total of 29 will begin their service as troopers with eight working as inspectors. Six of the new officers are military veterans and three are women. Troopers generally patrol highways to enforce traffic safety and criminal laws while inspectors help enforce state and federal motor carrier safety regulations that impact large trucks, buses and other commercial motor vehicles.

“We rely on our law enforcement professionals 24 hours a day, seven days a week, during holidays, good and bad weather,” stated WisDOT Secretary Dave Ross. “I want to congratulate these recent graduates and recognize that we cannot thank them enough for choosing a career in law enforcement and keeping the roadways and all of us safe.”

Along with enforcing traffic and commercial motor vehicle laws, State Patrol officers fulfill many other roles such as crash reconstruction experts, airplane pilots, dignitary protection, K-9 or motorcycle officers. Last year, officers with the Wisconsin State Patrol made 245,099 traffic stops, handled 37,763 motorist assists, and inspected 37,082 commercial motor vehicles.

“To help ensure the safety of our officers and the citizens they serve, the Wisconsin State Patrol provides its troopers and inspectors some of the most comprehensive training offered in the nation,” said Captain Paul Matl, Commander of the Wisconsin State Patrol Academy. “The physical and academic training covers traffic and criminal laws, emergency vehicle operations and firearms proficiency, communication skills and crisis management, along with emergency lifesaving skills.”

The following is a list of the new officers, their hometowns, positions, county and region of assignment.

Wisconsin State Patrol 63rd Recruit Class

​GraduateHometownClassification ​ Assignment*
​Michael Abrahamson  ​Menasha, WI ​Trooper ​Brown County, SER
​Trevor J. Aldrich ​Plover, WITrooper​Jefferson County, SWR
​Jacob M. Anderson​Sparta, WI ​Trooper​St. Croix County, NWR
​Michael R. Anderson​Guttenberg, IA​Trooper​Sawyer County, NWR
​Logan R. Christel ​Valders, WI​Trooper​Kewaunee County, NER
​Lauren A. Christian ​Madison, WI ​Inspector​Juneau County, SWR
​Danny W. Daniels ​Oregon, IL ​Trooper​Jefferson County, SWR
​Landon D. Derginer ​Marinette, WI ​Trooper​Brown County, NER
​Anthony D. Fasula ​Amherst, WI ​Inspector​Wood County, NCR
​Thomas A. Fleming ​Big Lake, MN​Inspector ​Superior SWEF, NWR
​Cameron M. Garcia ​Eau Claire, WI ​Trooper ​Monroe County, SWR
​Benjamin W. Hamilton ​Wausau, WI​Trooper ​La Crosse County, SWR
​Jeffrey W. Hill​Monroe, WI​Inspector​Beloit SWEF, SWR
​Caleb A. Hohensee ​Antigo, WI​Trooper​Oneida County, NCR
​Brandon L. Howell ​Viroqua, WI ​Inspector ​Waushara County, NCR
​Jordan T. Jones ​Green Bay, WI ​Trooper​Monroe County, SWR
​Ashley R. Kamps ​Waterford, WI ​Inspector​Kenosha SWEF, SER
​Carl N. Kent, II.Minocqua, WI​Trooper​Price County, NCR
​Michael W. Kline​Chippewa Falls, WI​Trooper​Jackson County, NWR
​Robert P. Liddell ​Altoona, WI ​Trooper​Jackson County, NWR
​Phillip J. Martinez ​Port Edwards, WI ​Trooper​Racine County, SER
​Dragan Milisav​Franklin, WI​Inspector​Kenosha SWEF, SER
​Wyatt N. Miller​Middleton, WI​Trooper​Sauk County, SWR
​Zachary L. Mulholland ​Ladysmith, WI ​Trooper ​Rusk County, NWR
​Alexander D. Murn ​Palmyra, WI ​Inspector ​Ozaukee County, SER
​George Negron ​Hartford, CT​Trooper ​Forest/Florence County, NCR
​Patrick P. Newell ​Milwaukee, WI ​Trooper ​Kenosha County, SER
​Nathan A. Olson ​Campbellsport, WI ​Trooper​Fond du Lac County, NER
​Joshua J. Pinkos​Antigo, WI ​Trooper ​St. Croix County, NWR
​Aaron S. Poehlman​De Pere, WI ​Trooper​Outagamie County, NER
​Alexander D. Polizzi ​Lake Zurich, IL​Trooper ​Jefferson County, SWR
Tyler P. PostMorris, IL​Trooper ​Juneau County, SWR
​Coady A. Schiltz ​Lyndon Station, WI​Trooper ​Juneau County, SWR
​Jeremiah K. Schummer ​Eau Claire, WI ​Trooper ​St. Croix County, NWR
​Jared M. Vuksan ​Gladstone, MI ​Trooper ​La Crosse County, SWR
​Anna M. Waterman​Amery, WI​Trooper​Washburn County, NWR
​Anthony M. Westphal​Fond du Lac, WI​TrooperMonroe County, NWR

*Assignment abbreviations

SWR = Southwest Region
SER = Southeast Region
NER = Northeast Region
NCR = Northcentral Region
NWR = Northwest Region
SWEF = Safety and Weight Enforcement Facility

For more information, contact:

WisDOT Office of Public Affairs
(608) 266-3581,