



Who is eligible?

► Any Wisconsin resident.

Vehicles that qualify

- ► An automobile.
- ► A motor home (annual registration only).
- A private truck, dual-purpose motor home or dual-purpose farm truck that has a gross weight of 8,000 pounds or less.
- ► A farm truck that has a gross weight.

Things you should know

- Amateur Radio plates (AMA) are issued to a customer who holds a current Federal Communications Commission (FCC) amateur radio license.
- ► The same plate number can be registered to more than one vehicle.
- ► There is only one AMA plate for auto, trucks, farm, etc.
 The plate is processed with a plate type of AMA and a REG
 TYPE, which indicates the type of vehicle to which the
 plate is registered.

Fees needed

- ► A \$15 one time issuance fee
- ► The annual registration fee, if your current plates expire within 3 months

Plates required in 2 days

To legally operate your vehicle, you must display license plates within two business days of purchase.

If you do not have current plates, apply to a DMV Customer Service Center or an agent authorized by DMV to obtain a temporary plate while your Amateur Radio plate order is processed. An agent may charge a plate fee and/or service fee.

How to apply

- 1. Complete and sign application.
 - » Select appropriate option.
 - » Give complete description of the vehicle in section A.
 - » Give owner information in section B.
 - » Incomplete applications will be returned.
- If the vehicle you wish to register with Amateur Radio plates is already titled in your name and is currently registered, send a copy of your Certificate of Registration.
- If the vehicle is **not** titled in your name, send a completed title application (<u>MV1</u> or MV11), a signed title and fees, including Amateur Radio registration fees.
- Send this application with A copy of your valid FCC license (we will not accept this if it is expired). Make check or money order payable to: Registration Fee Trust.
- 5. Mail all required items with signed application to:

WisDOT Special Plates PO Box 7911 Madison, WI 53707-7911

Amateur Radio plates are not available or processed at DMV Customer Service Centers. Operation of this vehicle is prohibited upon public highways without proper registration displayed.



Amatuer Radio License Plate Application

Wisconsin Department of Transportation MV2324 3/2023 s.341.14(2) Wis. Stats.

Check options

page 2 of 2

If you have questions about this application:

» Email: <u>special-plates.dmv@dot.wi.gov</u>

Release of non exempt information Under Wisconsin open records law, the

Wisconsin Department of Transportation must provide information from its records to requesters.

VIN of vehicle transfering plate from

(Date)

If you do not want your name and address included in requests we receive for ten or more records, you may ask the department to withhold your name and address from those lists by checking the box below:

Call: (608)266-3041FAX: (608)267-5106



☐ Applying for a new or subsequent Amateur Radio plate

☐ Wish to transfer Amateur Radio license plate number:

Vehicle information you are transferring AMA plate(s) FROM

(Owner Signature)

Need replacement Amatuer Radio plate:			Opt Out ADA – The Wisconsin Department of Transportation complies with the Americans with Disabilities Act.			
□ \$4.00 One Plate □ \$8.00 Two Plates Vehicle you wish to register with Amateur Radio plates.					law enforcement form: r at DMV Service Centers.	
A	Vehicle Engine or Identification Number (VIN) (standard VIN has 17 characters)	Year	Make	Body Style	Gross Weight if Truck or Motor Home	
В	Owner(s) Name - Last First, Middle Initial - Print	Driver License Number or (if company owned) FEIN Number 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17				
	Owner(s) Name - Last First, Middle Initial - Print	Driver Licen	Driver License Number or (if company owned) FEIN Number			
	Address	City		State	ZIP Code	
	Telephone Number where you may be reached 7 a.m. to 4:30 p.m.	Email Addres	Email Address			

Year

(Owner Signature)

(Date)

Make