When to report a crash
This report is not designed to replace law enforcement investigations when needed in certain crashes. If you believe law enforcement should be involved in your crash, please contact your local law enforcement agency for assistance. If law enforcement is called to the crash, then law enforcement may complete the report. If law enforcement does not file the report and the crash occurred in 2017, you will need to complete the Wisconsin Driver Report of Crash DT4002.
Per Wisconsin Statute 346.70(1), any crash within the State of Wisconsin must be reported when it results in:
- Injury of a person
- $1,000 or more damage to any person's vehicle or property
- Damage of $200 or more to state or other government-owned property other than a vehicle
If you received a letter from the Department of Transportation stating you were involved in a reportable crash and requesting you to complete a report, you must complete a crash report.
How to report a crash
Information you need before starting your crash report:
- Driver license number
- Vehicle Identification Number (VIN)
- Social security number
- Vehicle insurance information
safety responsibility law.
If any motorist involved in a crash/accident is uninsured additional forms will need to be completed under the
For law enforcement and other governmental agencies, please use the two forms provided below to assist individuals involved in a crash:
In order to assist individuals in completing their own crash reports, the Wisconsin Department of Transportation has developed cards that law enforcement and other agencies can distribute to the public. Two different versions of the cards are available to download and print online. Each individual agency can determine how and on what type of paper to print the cards. One version has six cards per sheet of paper which contains smaller print. The other version has four cards per sheet with larger print.
If applicable, you may upload a diagram of your crash by either scanning or taking a photo and uploading it using a camera or smartphone. This is the easiest method to upload your diagram. Please do not upload images of your vehicle as these may not be an official part of your crash report. For examples of appropriate diagrams, use the help menu on the diagram upload page.
This service may not be available on Sundays from 6 a.m.–9 a.m. due to regular system maintenance.
To start filling out a crash report, click the “Start Now” button below.
If you need assistance, please use this
FAQ and definition document. Please note, the crash form application will time out after 30 minutes of inactivity and you will lose your information. On average, a crash report will take no longer than 40 minutes to complete.
**For a crash that occurred in 2016, please use the paper form
Crash entries on driver records
- Crashes appear on the driver record of all drivers involved in a reportable crash regardless of fault.
- Driver records only show involvement in a crash on a specific date, the severity and county of occurrence.
- You can obtain an official copy of your
driver record online for a
- If the information on your driver record does not agree with the information your insurance company has, you will need to contact your insurance company for clarification.
Obtaining a crash report
purchase and print crash reports that have occurred in the last 90 days online.
Information you need to request a crash report:
- Date of the crash
- Name of one of the drivers involved and/or drivers license number
- DOT crash report document/form number
- DOT accident number (optional)