Law Enforcement Memorial license plates

law enforcement memorial license plate

Law Enforcement Memorial license plates recognize Wisconsin law enforcement officers killed in the line of duty.  The registration fees include an annual $25 tax-deductible donation. WisDOT distributes the donation equally between the Wisconsin Law Enforcement Memorial and the National Law Enforcement Officers Memorial Fund.

Vehicles that​​ qualify

  • automobiles
  • motor homes (annual registration only)
  • motor trucks
    • 4,500, 6,000 or 8,000 pounds gross weight including dual purpose farm and dual purpose motor home
    • 12,000 pounds gross weight farm truck

Things you should know:​​​

When you request Law Enforcement Memorial license plates, you pay:

  • $25 annual tax-deductible donation is required for original issuance of the Law Enforcement Memorial license plate and each year at renewal.
  • A $15 issuance fee or an annual when non-personalized plates are issued or reissued. This is a standard fee for all special license plate types. If you would like personalized plates, the $15 fee is required each year.
  • The regular registration fee for your vehicle, if your current plates expire within three months.
At each plate renewal, you will pay the $25 donation and the regular registration fee for non-personalized Law Enforcement Memorial plates.
 

For more information, visit personalized and special plates FAQs​.​

How to apply​

Local DMV customer service centers do not have Law Enforcement Memorial license plates for immediate issue, but can process applications and the plates will be mailed. Temporary plates will be issued, if needed.

To apply by mail, please send the following items:
  1. If the vehicle you want to register with Law Enforcement Memorial license plates is already titled/registered in your name, send:
    • a copy of your Certificate of Vehicle Registration or show the complete vehicle description on application form Law Enforcement Memorial License Plate Information and ApplicationMV2590
    • $25 Law Enforcement Memorial donation
    • $15 issuance fee or $15 personalized plate fee 
    • annual registration fee if your current plates expire within the next three months or you have no plates
  2. If the vehicle is not titled/registered in your name, send:
    • a completed Wisconsin Title & License Plates Application form MV1, or MV11 for dealer sales, including all other fees due
    • the Certificate of Title assigned to you
    • $25 Law Enforcement Memorial donation
    • $15 issuance fee or personalized plate fee
    • the annual registration fee if your current plates expire within the next three months or you have no plates
  3. Make the check or money order payable to Registration Fee Trust
  4. Mail with payment to:
  5. Wisconsin Department of Transportation
    Special Plates Unit
    P.O. Box 7911
    Madison WI 53707-7911

Personalized license plates

Personalizing your Law Enforcement Memorial license plates is optional. A $15 personalized plate fee is required each year in addition to the regular annual registration fee. Please allow an additional 4-6 weeks for delivery.

Visit personalized plate search​ to find out if your choice for a personalized license plate is available. WisDOT may refuse to issue, or may recall after issuance, a request that may be offensive to good taste or decency, misleading or conflicts with any other license plate. For more information, visit personalized and special plates FAQs.

​For more information:

​​​Special Plates Unit 
Email Wisconsin DMV email service
Phone (608) 266-3041
Fax (608) 267-5106