Wisconsin Pedestrian Policy Plan 2020

The Wisconsin Department of Transportation (WisDOT) developed the Wisconsin Pedestrian Policy Plan 2020 to provide a long-range vision addressing Wisconsin pedestrian needs. The Pedestrian Plan provides a basic description of existing and emerging pedestrian needs through 2020, with a set of recommendations to meet those needs. WisDOT’s efforts ensure that this plan complements both existing and future long-range transportation plans.

​WisDOT is updating the Wisconsin Bicycle Transportation Plan and Wisconsin Pedestrian Policy Plan, which were adopted in 1998 and 2002, and combining them into the Wisconsin Active Transportation Plan 2050. The Active Transportation Plan will be a statewide long-range plan focused on human-powered modes of transportation, such as bicycling and walking.


Statewide contact

Chris Squires
Wisconsin Department of Transportation
4822 Madison Yards Way, 6th Floor South
P.O. Box 7913
Madison, WI 53705
Phone: (608) 267-9860

Southwest Region

For counties of: Columbia, Dane, Dodge, Green, Iowa, Jefferson, Lafayette and Rock

Michelle Brokaw
2101 Wright Street
Madison, WI 53704-2583
Phone: (608) 242-8023

For counties of: Crawford, Grant, Juneau, La Crosse, Monroe, Richland, Sauk and Vernon

Francis Schelfhout
3550 Mormon Coulee Rd
La Crosse, WI 54601​
Phone: (608) 785-9947

Southeast Region

For counties of: Ozaukee, Washington, Waukesha and Milwaukee County north of IH 94

Alena DeGrado
141 NW Barstow Street
Waukesha, WI 53188
Phone: (262) 548-6724

​For counties of: Kenosha, Racine, Walworth and Milwaukee County south of IH 94​

Amber Yan
141 NW Barstow Street
Waukesha, WI 53188
Phone: (262) 521-4411

Northeast Region

For counties of: Brown, Calumet, Door, Fond du Lac, Kewaunee, Manitowoc, Marinette, Oconto, Outagamie, Sheboygan and Winnebago

Nick Weber​
944 Vanderperren Way​
Green Bay, WI 54304
Phone: (920) 492-7712

North Central Region

For counties of: Adams, Florence, Forest, Green Lake, Iron, Langlade, Lincoln, Marathon, Marquette, Menominee, Oneida, Portage, Price, Shawano, Vilas, Waupaca, Waushara and Wood

Dave Meurett
1681 Second Avenue South
Wisconsin Rapids, WI 54495
Phone: (715) 421-8348

Northwest Region

For counties of: Ashland, Barron, Bayfield, Buffalo, Burnett, Chippewa, Clark, Douglas, Dunn, Eau Claire, Jackson, Pepin, Pierce, Polk, Rusk, Sawyer, St. Croix, Taylor, Trempealeau and Washburn counties.

Jeffry Abboud
718 W Clairemont Ave
Eau Claire, WI 54701
Phone: (715) 392-7936