Highway Safety Improvement Program (HSIP)

The Highway Safety Improvement Program (HSIP) funds highway safety projects at sites that have experienced a high crash history. Emphasis is on low-cost options that can be implemented quickly.

The overall objective of HSIP is to develop and implement, on a continuing basis, stand-alone safety projects designed to reduce the number and severity of crashes on all streets and highways (state and local). The federal funding ratio for HSIP funds is usually 90%, requiring a 10% match of state and/or local funds.

The Wisconsin Department of Transportation (WisDOT) is currently accepting completed HSIP applications. The application review process will begin after the August 15, 2018, deadline. Applications should be submitted to the appropriate WisDOT Regional HSIP Coordinator. HSIP Coordinators are also available to help answer any questions local public agencies have about the HSIP or the application process. The HSIP project application form is available for download below.

Application materials

Other resources

HSIP coordinators

North Central Region
Tom Krizenesky
Thomas.Krizenesky@dot.wi.gov
(715) 365-5779

Northeast Region
Sandy Carpenter (Local system)
Sandra.Carpenter@dot.wi.gov
(920) 492-5681

Anne Ebent (State system)
anne.ebent@dot.wi.gov
(920) 492-5694

Northwest Region
Tim Smrstick
timothy.smrstick@dot.wi.gov
(715) 836-2834

Southwest Region
Linda Richardson
linda.richardson@dot.wi.gov
(608) 789-7869

Southeast Region
Robert Schmidt
robert1.schmidt@dot.wi.gov
(262) 548-8789

Central Office
Justin Shell
justin.shell@dot.wi.gov
(608) 267-9617