Wisconsin Bicycle Transportation Plan 2020

The Wisconsin Department of Transportation (WisDOT) encourages planning for bicyclists at the local level and is responsible for developing long-range, statewide bicycle plans. Guidelines for accommodating travel by bicycles when roadways are reconstructed, or new roads are built, are available and their use is encouraged.

The development of WisDOT's statewide long-range bicycle plan, Wisconsin Bicycle Transportation Plan 2020, involved many people, including an advisory committee. This bicycle planning document is intended to help both communities and individuals in developing bicycle-friendly facilities throughout Wisconsin.


Statewide contacts

Jill Mrotek Glenzinski, Statewide Bicycle/Pedestrian Coordinator
Wisconsin Department of Transportation
4822 Madison Yards Way, 6th Floor South
P.O. Box 7913
Madison, WI 53705
Phone: (608) 267-7757
Fax: (608) 267-0294

Tanya Iverson
Wisconsin Department of Transportation
4822 Madison Yards Way, 9th Floor
P.O. Box 7936
Madison, WI 53705
Phone: (608) 709-0099
Fax: (608) 267-0441

Southwest Region

For counties of: Columbia, Dane, Dodge, Green, Iowa, Jefferson, Lafayette and Rock

Michelle Brokaw
2101 Wright Street
Madison, WI 53704-2583
Phone: (608) 242-8023

For counties of: Crawford, Grant, Juneau, La Crosse, Monroe, Richland, Sauk and Vernon

Francis Schelfhout
3550 Mormon Coulee Rd
La Crosse, WI 54601
Phone: (608) 785-9947

Southeast Region

For counties of: Kenosha, Milwaukee, Ozaukee, Racine, Walworth, Washington and Waukesha

Chris Squires
141 NW Barstow Street
Waukesha, WI 53188-0798
Phone: (262) 521-4417

Northeast Region

For counties of: Brown, Calumet, Door, Fond du Lac, Kewaunee, Manitowoc, Marinette, Oconto, Outagamie, Sheboygan and Winnebago

Bryan Lipke, P.E. (Interim contact)
944 Vanderperren Way
Green Bay, WI 54304
Phone: (920) 492-5703

North Central Region

For counties of: Adams, Florence, Forest, Green Lake, Iron, Langlade, Lincoln, Marathon, Marquette, Menominee, Oneida, Portage, Price, Shawano, Vilas, Waupaca, Waushara and Wood

Dave Meurett
1681 Second Avenue South
Wisconsin Rapids, WI 54495
Phone: (715) 421-8348
Fax: (715) 423-0334

Northwest Region

For counties of: Ashland, Barron, Bayfield, Buffalo, Burnett, Chippewa, Clark, Douglas, Dunn, Eau Claire, Jackson, Pepin, Pierce, Polk, Rusk, Sawyer, St. Croix, Taylor, Trempealeau and Washburn counties.

Dena Ryan
1701 N. 4th Street
Superior, WI 54880-1068
Phone: (715) 395-3030
Fax: (715) 392-7863