WisDOT honors 34 award recipients for outstanding public service

2022 Wisconsin State Patrol Awards Ceremony recognizes staff accomplishments

Release date: May 3, 2023

The annual Wisconsin State Patrol awards ceremony was held Wednesday to recognize the exemplary public service of individuals who have gone above and beyond in their job duties. This year’s event in Wisconsin Dells honored 33 state employees and one civilian responder for their lifesaving efforts and exceptional public service.

Governor Tony Evers joined Wisconsin Department of Transportation leaders and spoke at the ceremony.

“Responding to life-or-death situations, enforcing traffic laws that make our highways safer, and building the foundations of our state’s traffic safety programs—the Wisconsin State Patrol plays a vital role in the safety and security of not only our transportation system but our state,” Gov. Evers said. “We are glad to recognize their service and sacrifices—and the service and sacrifices of their loved ones and families—with these awards today.”

Lifesaving and Meritorious Service awards recognize those who saved lives or put themselves in physical danger to keep someone else safe. The Commendable Service, Superintendent’s Commendation, and employee of the year categories acknowledge accomplishments that contributed to WisDOT’s key mission to build a safe and efficient transportation system.

“The outstanding actions we recognize today raise the bar and demonstrate exceptional commitment to WisDOT’s core values,” Secretary Craig Thompson said. “Protecting our communities is one of the toughest jobs in state government, but every award recipient we’re honoring has stepped up to the challenge and worked through the stresses of the job to continue to keep us safe.”

Employees were nominated by their peers and selected to receive recognition for their actions by the State Patrol Awards Committee.

“Our daily mission, to serve the people of Wisconsin, is a familiar and constant theme in each of the award recipient’s stories. They’re stories of survival, innovation, and excellence, and each one reveals the true character of our Wisconsin State Patrol family,” Superintendent Tim Carnahan said.

More information about the awards recipients and their work is in the ceremony program and below.

Photos of the recipients are available here.

Lifesaving Effort Award

Award recipient


Trooper Cody DigreTomah
Trooper Nicholas EricksonFond du Lac
Inspector Thomas FlemingSpooner
Trooper Jake Fricke (2)Spooner
Inspector Joshua LintulaSpooner
Trooper Ryan RothEau Claire
Trooper Jacob SampsonWausau
Trooper Caleb TruaxFond du Lac
Inspector Paul VoigtSpooner

Lifesaving Award

Award recipient Post
Trooper Gary Cowan Retired
Inspector Jonathan FenrickDeForest
Trooper Nathaniel HausmanTomah
Jacob Hiither (civilian)Freeway Service Team member
Trooper Brandon JensenEau Claire
Trooper Michael KnowltonWaukesha
Trooper Timothy KnutsonEau Claire
Trooper Michael LawsonWaukesha
Trooper Alexander LintnerWaukesha
Trooper Justin LuangaramDeForest
Trooper Chris SenkbeilWaukesha
Sergeant Joseph StephensWaukesha
Inspector Dylan StrasburgDeForest

Special Recognition

Award Award recipient Post
Commendable ServiceInspector Tye Howver Retired
Commendable ServiceSgt. Mathew StricklandWausau
Meritorious ServiceTrooper Jesus AguilarWaukesha
Meritorious ServiceTrooper Christopher BridgesDeForest
Meritorious ServiceTrooper Megan LaFaveWausau
Meritorious ServiceTrooper Alex MedinaWaukesha
Superintendent's CommendationTrooper Brett BoleyEau Claire
Superintendent's CommendationTrooper Christina Holtz (3)Tomah

Employees of the Year

Award Award recipient Post
Inspector of the YearInspector Richard KastnerSpooner
Trooper of the YearTrooper Nicholas LorenzenWaukesha
Civilian Employee of the YearDavid MalischHeadquarters
Dispatcher of the YearErin McKayTraffic Management Center

For more information, contact:

WisDOT Office of Public Affairs
(608) 266-3581, opa.exec@dot.wi.gov