WisDOT honors Wisconsin State Patrol staff for going above and beyond to keep communities safe

76 awards presented at the 2023 Wisconsin State Patrol Awards Ceremony

Release date: May 3, 2024

The annual Wisconsin State Patrol awards ceremony was held Friday, May 3, to recognize the outstanding public service of employees who exceed the expectations of their daily duties. This year, 76 awards were presented at the event in Wisconsin Dells highlighting lifesaving efforts and innovations that improve state patrol operations.

Governor Tony Evers joined Wisconsin Department of Transportation leaders and spoke at the ceremony.

“The sacrifices you and your family make are countless as you carry out your duty to public service with long hours and late nights, dangerous work conditions, missed family gatherings or kids’ events—you name it,” said Gov. Evers. “In recognition of the tremendous effort each of you brings to the job every day, today we celebrate those who go the extra mile to support our communities.”

Lifesaving and Meritorious Service awards recognize those who saved lives or put themselves in physical danger to keep someone else safe. The Commendable Service, Superintendent’s Commendation, Unit Citation and employee of the year categories acknowledge accomplishments that contribute to WisDOT’s key mission to build a safe and efficient transportation system.

“State Patrol employees lay the groundwork of a safe transportation system,” WisDOT Secretary Craig Thompson said. “Through enforcement, education and technological innovation, our colleagues lead the way with excellence. It takes extraordinary teamwork to accomplish these incredible achievements, and that service makes our state stronger.”

Employees were nominated by their peers and selected to receive recognition for their actions by the State Patrol Awards Committee.

“I’m proud to recognize staff across all three of our bureaus for their compassion and dedication,” Wisconsin State Patrol Superintendent Tim Carnahan said. “We have amazing staff, both in the field and working behind the scenes, who continually go above and beyond to save a life or improve our operations.”

More information about the awards recipients and their work is in the attached program.

Lifesaving Award

Award recipient Post
Sergeant Erica Ballweg-LarsenDeforest
Trooper Kyle CookFond du Lac
Trooper Scott DarinWaukesha
Inspector Thomas FlemingSpooner
Deputy Jordan JonesColumbia County Sheriff’s Office
Trooper Megan LaFaveWausau
Inspector Todd MonsonSpooner
Trooper Daniel RestrepoWausau
Trooper David SchwoererDeforest
Lieutenant Mark SmitColumbia County Sheriff’s Office
Trooper Christopher SplinterWausau
Trooper Christopher SukisTomah
Trooper Sean WiedersheimWaukesha
Trooper Dettrick ZimmermanDeforest

Special Recognition

Award Award recipient Post
Commendable ServiceLieutenant Andrew MartinHeadquarters
Commendable ServiceChristopher SmithDeforest
Meritorious ServiceTrooper Michael LawsonWaukesha
Superintendent’s CommendationTrooper David ArndtDeforest
Superintendent’s CommendationTrooper Brett BoleyEau Claire
Superintendent’s CommendationTrooper Christina HoltzTomah
Superintendent’s CommendationTrooper Timothy KnutsonEau Claire
Superintendent’s CommendationTrooper Steven KuhnkeFond du Lac
Superintendent’s CommendationTrooper Joshua SasseEau Claire
Superintendent’s CommendationTrooper Timothy KnutsonFond du Lac
Superintendent’s CommendationTrooper Caleb TruaxFond du Lac
Innovation and Excellence AwardJordan BergemanEau Claire

Unit Citation Award – SWAT Team

Award recipient Post
Inspector Kris AndersonTomah
Trooper Colton BahlingWausau
Sergeant Sean BerkowitchSpooner
Inspector Robert BorekWaukesha
Trooper Joseph DesprezEau Claire
Sergeant Kyle DudekWausau
Trooper Steven FrantalWausau
Trooper Caleb Grabow-HohenseeWausau
Lieutenant Dean HaighEau Claire
Sergeant Michael HeffernanEau Claire
Trooper Joshua HelmerFond du Lac
Inspector Jeffrey HillDeforest
Sergeant Jeffry HudacekEau Claire
Inspector Lewis JudgeFond du Lac
Trooper Carson KonkolTomah
Trooper Mitchell KraetkeSpooner
Inspector Michael LarsenTomah
Captain Craig LarsonEau Claire
Inspector Joshua LintulaSpooner
Sergeant Nicholas LorenzenWaukesha
Trooper Adam LukaszewskiDeforest
Sergeant Bret MankeDeforest
Trooper Jeremy McNultyEau Claire
Inspector Martin MessaSpooner
Inspector Daniel O'ConnorWausau
Trooper Anthony OlsonSpooner
Sergeant Jon PedersenWausau
Trooper Kristian PeralesWaukesha
Trooper Aaron PoehlmanWausau
Trooper Kevin PowellFond du Lac
Inspector Scott ReignierFond du Lac
Sergeant Nathan WrightWaukesha

Unit Citation Award – Fleet Installation Center

Award recipient Facility
Trooper Brandon FerrellFleet Installation Center
Benjamin HoffmanFleet Installation Center
Shelly HughesFleet Installation Center
Shawn MurphyFleet Installation Center
Cole PulverFleet Installation Center
Brandyn ReinFleet Installation Center
Jacob ReinFleet Installation Center
John ScherbertFleet Installation Center

Employees of the Year

Award Award recipient Post
Inspector of the YearInspector Cory ShiltsSpooner
Trooper of the YearTrooper James Fetherston Jr.Eau Claire
Civilian Employee of the YearSteven DollHeadquarters
Dispatcher of the YearGrant MoxonDeforest