Workshops and awards

WisDOT's DBE Program Video

Annual DBE Workshop and Secretary's Awards

 2021 Award Nomination Form and Instructions

Golden Shovel Website​​

The Annual DBE Workshop and Secretary’s Golden Shovel Award is sponsored by the National Association of Minority Contractors in coordination with the Wisconsin DBE Unified Certification Program (UCP) Partners: Wisconsin Department of Transportation, City of Madison, Dane County and Milwaukee County. 

The Annual DBE Event highlights resources and opportunities necessary for DBE firms to be competitive and profitable in Wisconsin’s construction industry. For more than 30 years, WisDOT has played an active role through the DBE Program to ensure inclusion among minorities, female and small businesses in its contracting process not only through the annual event but also through stakeholders groups such as the Transportation Advisory Committee (TRANS-AC) and the Transportation Consultant Advisory Committee (TRANS-CAC). 

The Annual DBE Event has evolved to be more inclusive and diverse in response to the transformation of the construction contracting market. The NAMC/WisDOT partnership has expanded its network to include major players in vertical contracting opportunities including general contractors and contracting officials from the City of Milwaukee and City of Madison. To learn more go to the annual DBE event website. 

34th DBE Workshop & Secretary's Golden Shovel awards - February 19 & 20, 2020

Day 1: Event Presentations

Day 2: Event Presentations

Awards Luncheon Presentations

2020 National Association of Minority Contractors Golden Champion Award for Leadership

  • WALBEC Group
  • Eric Johnson - President, South Star Trucking
  • PRISM Technical Management & Marketing Services
  • Jerry Fulmer - Vice President, Supplier Diversity/WEC Energy Group (Retired)

2020 Golden Shovel Award Recipients

  • CBS Squared Inc
  • DK Contractors
  • Hard Rock Sawing & Drilling Specialist Co
  • Northeast Asphalt Inc
  • Godwin Amegashie

   WisDOT Change Agents