Eight Wisconsin communities to receive $11 million in federal funding to create safer roads

Release date: December 13, 2023

The Wisconsin Department of Transportation (WisDOT) announced today that eight Wisconsin communities will receive a total of $11,320,258 in federal discretionary funds through the Safe Streets and Roads for All (SS4A) grant program to improve roadway safety.

This is the second round of the SS4A Grant Program through the U.S. Department of Transportation (U.S. DOT). Combined with the first round, Wisconsin has received $12,305,976 from the FY23 SS4A solicitation.

Funding will support communities to implement planning, infrastructure, behavioral, and operational initiatives to prevent death and serious injury on roads and streets. This is a key element of U.S. DOT’s National Roadway Safety Strategy to combat the crisis of deaths on our nation’s roads. The following Wisconsin applicants will receive funding directly for their community’s projects:

  • City of Madison -- $6,267,668
  • City of Milwaukee -- $4,000,000
  • Chippewa County -- $200,000
  • City of River Falls -- $200,000
  • City of Sheboygan -- $200,000
  • Portage County -- $200,000
  • City of West Bend -- $197,600
  • Menominee Indian Tribal Community -- $54,990

WisDOT provides resources to help Wisconsin communities tap into $1.1 billion in available new federal funding through the Bipartisan Infrastructure Law. WisDOT’s discretionary grant resources, at wisconsindot.gov/discretionarygrants, include a summary of open and future grants (Notice of Funding Opportunities – NOFOs), links for communities to request a Letter of Support, and others resources.

Read more about the Safe Streets and Roads for All Grant Program on the U.S. DOT website.

For more information, contact:

WisDOT Office of Public Affairs
(608) 266-3581, opa.exec@dot.wi.gov