NEW: Drivers under the age of 18 who have completed driver education, behind the wheel training, and 30 hours of supervised driving may qualify for a road test waiver. See if you qualify FAQ
The interactive driver licensing guide is a tool for information on driver licensing requirements. The guide provides a checklist of requirements and allow you to pre-fill any required application(s). Depending on your eligibility you may also be able to use the guide to electronically submit your application and schedule an appointment with the DMV for expedited service.
To get a Wisconsin driver license, you must meet
Complete Wisconsin Driver License application MV3001 including:
- Your Social security number (SSN) - if you have one.
- If you are under age 18, complete the section of the application for applicants under age 18 (applicant, school and
- Answer the medical questions. For some medical conditions, you will be asked to have your doctor provide medical information.
- If you are applying for a commercial driver license, complete the section of the application for commercial driver applicants.
Note: Carefully read the instructions at the top of the application for information about which sections you need to complete for the type of license for which you are applying.
Note: Hospital birth certificates or baptismal certificates are not acceptable. Get a copy of your birth certificate at your Register of Deeds or city health office.
See more information on
acceptable identification documents.
vision, and driving skills tests:
New Wisconsin residents with an out-of-state driver license (which is valid or expired less than 8 years) may be able to get a Wisconsin license without taking the knowledge or driving skills tests.
- CDL license holders with a hazardous materials (H) endorsement must pass the hazardous materials knowledge test and may require
- CDL license holders with a school bus (S) endorsement must pass the school bus knowledge test, the pre-trip and a driving skills test.
If you apply for a Wisconsin driver license and have an OWI-type conviction in another state, you will need to provide proof that you have undergone an assessment and completed an alcohol program. This law applies even if you have met all the requirements in the state where you were convicted of OWI.
For further information about license examinations, identification documents and current
fees, ask at your local
DMV customer service center. DMV customer service centers accept cash, checks, debit cards and the following credit cards: Visa, MasterCard, American Express and Discover. Online transactions use most credit and debit cards and ACH (Automated Clearing House) from your checking or savings account.
Driver licenses and IDs are mailed to your home. See Mailing Wisconsin driver licenses and ID cards ("central issuance") for more information.
For more information