Regional planning commissions

Wisconsin has nine Regional Planning Commissions (RPCs). All but five counties in the state (Columbia, Dodge, Jefferson, Rock, Sauk) are served by an RPC. WisDOT works closely with RPCs to ensure a comprehensive, coordinated approach to local, regional and state issues affecting transportation planning.

In Wisconsin, RPCs are formed by executive order of the governor and provide intergovernmental planning and coordination for the physical, social and economic development of a region. A board, typically appointed by county boards and the governor, directs commission activities.

RPC responsibilities

Regional Planning Commissions (RPCs) provide planning assistance on regional issues, assist local interests in responding to state and federal programs, act as a coordinating agency for programs and activities, and provide planning and development assistance to local governments.

Specific examples of RPC services include: comprehensive community plans, zoning and subdivision ordinances, grant writing, geographic information system map production, revolving loan fund administration, economic development planning, socio-economic data collection and dissemination, and public policy advocacy on issues affecting a region.

Wisconsin's RPCs are designated by state and federal government as clearinghouses for reviewing federal grant applications for conformance with adopted regional and local plans and development priorities. Four RPCs (Bay-Lake, East Central, Southeast and ​West Central) also serve as Metropolitan Planning Organizations (MPOs).

Vendor Procurement Guidance for MPOs & RPCs

The Vendor Procurement Guidance is for MPOs and RPCs that receive Planning (PL) and State Planning and Research (SPR) funds. Subrecip​ients of other funding sources [i.e. Transportation Alternatives Program (TAP), Other Non-Traditional Transportation Projects] need to follow the procurement guidance and policies of those programs.

RPC map and contacts​​

Related information: