Purchase your own driving record

​​
  • Use this online application to conveniently purchase your own driving record, not the driving record of anyone else.
    • ​To purchase the driving record of someone else, you must complete the form Vehicle/Driver Record Information Request MV2896
  • Your driving record will be emailed to you. You will not be mailed a paper copy.
  • You will be charged $5, plus convenience fee, for each record.
  • Change your addressprior to using this online service.

Select a box below for additional information.

​​
  • Contains your current driver license information (e.g. name, address, height, weight, etc.)
  • Driving record for the past five years (i.e. crashes, speeding tickets, etc.)
    • Most entries remain on your record for five years, except for serious offenses or alcohol related convictions which may remain permanently on your record.
  • View a sample driving record

This online application does not include the following:

  • Full driver history (e.g. date issued, changes in restrictions, endorsements added, renewal dates, suspensions, ​etc.)
  • Certified records for use in court proceedings
  • ID card information because it is confidential
  • Certain information on juveniles (such as convictions or withdrawals for juvenile alcohol and truancy) because it is confidential and will otherwise only be released to courts, law enforcement and, in some cases, parents or guardians

If you need a certified copy of your record, or you want any of the above information to appear on your record, you must submit your request by mail using the Vehicle/Driver Record Information Request form MV2896 and provide a statement requesting the confidential information be included.

​The online application will ask you for the following information:

  • ​Valid debit or credit card
  • Your Wisconsin Driver License or ID Card number
  • The last 4 digits of your Social Security number
  • Your date of birth
  • Your gender
​OR
  • Your first name, middle initial, and last name
  • Your complete Social Security number
  • Your date of birth
  • Your gender

Once the online transaction is completed, you cannot cancel it or receive a refund. Verify that you have entered the information correctly before completing payment information.

start now

This service may not be available on​ Sundays from 6 a.m.–9 a.m. due to regular system maintenance.

​To purchase your driving record by mail

  • ​Download and complete the Vehicle/Driver Record Information Request form MV2896
  • Include $7 for non-certified record or $12 for certified record. Do not send cash.
  • Make check or money order payable to: Registration Fee Trust
  • Send to: WI Dept. of Transportation
                   ​​​P.O. Box 7949
                   Madison, WI 53707-7949​

Note: The Driver Privacy Protection Act (DPPA) is enforced by the U.S. Department of Justice, which may seek civil and criminal penalties for improperly obtaining, disclosing or using personal information from a motor vehicle record for a purpose not permitted by the DPPA. In addition, private citizens may also seek civil damages in Federal Court. You must complete the Vehicle/Driver Record Information Request form MV2896 to purchase the driver record of someone other than you.

​​​For more information:

​​​​Questions?
EmailWisconsin DMV email service​​​